adrian_john 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 Err...if its invincible, how do you know its there? Are the grills strong enough to prevent a break-in? I mean...thats one of the main purpose of having grilles in the first place. Ya call them see how much they charge and let us know ya ? Since your is so high up, your grilles is to prevent your kids from the balcony so should not be a problem Lord Vader and Kopi: Just to give you some feedback. I met the 'Invisible (Grille) Man' this afternoon and saw the sample of the gilles. Essentially, its framed in powder-coated aluminum, while the internal grilles are made up of a single tensioned stainless steel cable that will run through the entire grille. There's the option of putting stiffeners in between to make it extra taught if you require. Just to give an estimate, an entire set of 'Invisible' Grilles for the a unit like mine - i.e. 4 bedroom and a balcony will cost about $1.2K. Security-wise, its not exactly ideal - The salesperson said so himself. I saw the sample and thought I could probably snip it off with some heavy duty wire cutters. I'm not so worried about this aspect cos' my unit's and balcony's on the 21st floor and the thief would need to repel into the unit to get through. Anyhow, just for everybody's info, even the standard normal aluminium grilles are easily broken into as demonstrated by a window grille salesman I met a few months back, unless some additional safety locks and catches are installed. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 Can lah call me kopi siew tai also can hahahaha Eh, if call you kopi siew tai, then your name totally change liao leh. Kopi siew tai means coffee with less sugar right, whereas kopi o is kopi without sugar hor? Wah, wait your wifey complain you're not 'sweet' anymore! Ahahahaha! wa, someone spent alot on Blum sia! haha... bought almost the whole shop not? yesterday i tried spraying my legrand switch covers Fire red! whole house looks so different now. maybe u should try with other colours as well Wah lau, where got buy whole shop? A couple of drawers only mah! Er, actually hor, my lady boss today went to the store and got another 3 more leh ... Kekekekekeke! She ar ..... Hey, nice work with all the switches! Really makes alot of difference and 'spice' up the colours in your house! No worries about taking up my blog space. I think you should create a link to those demo posts so that other people can benefit from your DIY 'tutorial' also! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 Lord Vader and Kopi: Just to give you some feedback. I met the 'Invisible (Grille) Man' this afternoon and saw the sample of the gilles. Essentially, its framed in powder-coated aluminum, while the internal grilles are made up of a single tensioned stainless steel cable that will run through the entire grille. There's the option of putting stiffeners in between to make it extra taught if you require. Just to give an estimate, an entire set of 'Invisible' Grilles for the a unit like mine - i.e. 4 bedroom and a balcony will cost about $1.2K. Security-wise, its not exactly ideal - The salesperson said so himself. I saw the sample and thought I could probably snip it off with some heavy duty wire cutters. I'm not so worried about this aspect cos' my unit's and balcony's on the 21st floor and the thief would need to repel into the unit to get through. Anyhow, just for everybody's info, even the standard normal aluminium grilles are easily broken into as demonstrated by a window grille salesman I met a few months back, unless some additional safety locks and catches are installed. Yes bro thats why I mentioned that since your main purpose is for the safety of your kids, invisible grille is fine but not for me since my unit is only on the 2nd floor only Ya I understand that no matter how many alarms you had in your house, it will still not be 100% foolproof to theft so bo pian hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 (edited) kopi & dyleen, can take out but must be very careful. use a screwdriver to pry open slowly from the hole at the bottom. but if u r a 'chor lor' person, i will urge u not to do so as u might break the plastic inside. hehe... good luck! show me when its done! tips: i placed the covers on a plastic grille to prevent them from sticking to the newspaper. Wah you really smart leh so li hai *taoyan* hahahaha Anyway thanks for the DIY steps and the tips, I shall try when my reno comes hehehe Edited September 15, 2009 by coffee_o Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 Eh, if call you kopi siew tai, then your name totally change liao leh. Kopi siew tai means coffee with less sugar right, whereas kopi o is kopi without sugar hor? Wah, wait your wifey complain you're not 'sweet' anymore! Ahahahaha! Coffee siew tai is coffee with less condensed milk i think and kopi_o is the black black kopi but still with sugar Kopi without sugar is kopi koso hahahaha But funny thing is that though my nick is coffee_o, I've nvr like kopi o leh i prefer coffee hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2009 wa, someone spent alot on Blum sia! haha... bought almost the whole shop not? yesterday i tried spraying my legrand switch covers Fire red! whole house looks so different now. maybe u should try with other colours as well Wah new~ Nice leh! I like it very much! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 hehe i tried fluorescent pink as well! but my man cannot take it. see awhile le, i also cannot take it. too bright! Actually its quite nice leh the flourescent pink! Then again, maybe I never look at it for too long. But I guess red is nice and more subtle lah. Would blend well with your Barca chairs and the red/green theme for your main door. Have you made a decision on your door design yet or not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dyleen 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 at one glance, the pink looks good. gold, so so lah, mayb cny time can use. haha...can we keep on spraying different colours to change with the season? e.g CNY - gold, red, XMAS - green- red Valentines - pink? my furnishing are mostly white, only the built in are of purple, white. will make a trip to homefix and see what colours i can get, And i did look below for that hole...really small leh....so worried wait i break it and my man will Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 at one glance, the pink looks good. gold, so so lah, mayb cny time can use. haha...can we keep on spraying different colours to change with the season? e.g CNY - gold, red, XMAS - green- red Valentines - pink? my furnishing are mostly white, only the built in are of purple, white. will make a trip to homefix and see what colours i can get, And i did look below for that hole...really small leh....so worried wait i break it and my man will Dyleen, good idea with the change of colours for all seasons. Gives some live and more refreshing changes to ordinary switches. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 so u means one year spray 4 times? wah!!no bad ley...can always change theme colour...but too bad mine not conceal..so the big box aldy fix...cant spray colour liao..sian Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 wah!!no bad ley...can always change theme colour...but too bad mine not conceal..so the big box aldy fix...cant spray colour liao..sian Can lah bro just paste newspaper on the wall and spray lah hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 so u means one year spray 4 times? Maybe not one yr spray 4 times lar. Just buy 4 sets of switches and change with the season. hahaha, then can reuse year after year. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dyleen 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 Maybe not one yr spray 4 times lar. Just buy 4 sets of switches and change with the season. hahaha, then can reuse year after year. that's what i have in mind. we spray 4 different sets, then every festive season we just change. like that sure one day 'chor lor' 'chor lor' and break the plastic inside..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rapister 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 i didnt know pink is in fashion r u going for hello kitty or going for disneyland look?????? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted September 16, 2009 yo adrian, Just looking at this pic brings back memories of my reno - the joy, the anxieties. I am sure you and your family are excited. Things are looking great, adrian. Thanks Reiki! Yup, we're pretty excited, but at the same time stressed. Haven't exactly started packing but I think once most of the carpentry's up this week, we'll swoop in and do some fast cleaning of the wardrobe interiors, so in the evenings after work I can start bringing over some stuff bit by bit to fill the wardrobe and some miscellaneous items into the store. We still need to get a lock, lever and dead-bolt set for the main door ASAP by today. Not to mention, bathroom accessories as well. Looks like this evening will be a major rush-around. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites