adrian_john

Our 2nd Home In Bishan

BD,

Yeah, the small walking area will be something to get used to. I think the side of the bed closest to the wall will not have any walking space since our bed is a king sized one. Haiz, so I think to go onto the bed must be from the front or other side.

Closet size will be 6ft + 2ft in total due to the L-shape.

u are not the only one...dun worry. Pd wanted a mini wiw...king size bed...in the end....my walkway maybe same size as u....so i can imagine how u feeling la....:P

adrian>> one tile space very small lei...

Yes, PJ it is. But I think probably we'll be OK cos' got enough 'training'.

Every morning also we have less than a 45cm tile space to get our clothes due to the placement of our kid's bed between ours and our wardrobe. :)

Nice drawings and layout. Hehe, my hb's side of the bed also only abt 50+ to max 60cm. It is abit cramp, and not possible for 2 pax. :P

White glossy tiles are good for kitchen. The whole kitchen will look very spacious and bright, and it's really easy to clean too. :)

Nice drawings and layout. Hehe, my hb's side of the bed also only abt 50+ to max 60cm. It is abit cramp, and not possible for 2 pax. :P

White glossy tiles are good for kitchen. The whole kitchen will look very spacious and bright, and it's really easy to clean too. :)

Good to hear about the easy cleaning part Angel! :)

Adrian, i got show few pics of the parquet.

come come see. hehe.

page 41 post #1637

Thanks New, saw it. I think once its varnished, it'll look really chio. :)

How long does it take from laying to finish ar?

Edited by adrian_john

The settee-dresser design is definitely a thumbs up! Previously you mentioned you had 34cm between the bed & wall?Was wondering if you would like the idea of built-in storage in the dead space between the bed & wall. Then you can reuse your existing bedframe but also have more storage space. You can push the bed all the way against it and access it with top opening doors that flip up. It'll be useful to store extra pillows or bedding etc. and you can also display photos on top.

u are not the only one...dun worry. Pd wanted a mini wiw...king size bed...in the end....my walkway maybe same size as u....so i can imagine how u feeling la....:P

Nottimonster, don't think the gap between bed and wall will be so wide, probably only 15 to 25cm (estimate) at most. Yeah, probably will see how to work that dead space. Put false wall or put niches or display shelves.

BD, I just realised I forgot another important detail. At night we open a foldable mini sofa bed/mattress for one of the boys to sleep. So that's gonna eat the space between bed and dresser...Alamak! Guess when wifey wakes up in the morning, she'll need to shift the little fella up so she'll have space to doll up. :P

r u overlaying the parquet or hack and cement screed first?

if hack n cement screed, u have to let the cement dry for one week.

then they can lay the parquet which takes few hours only.

then wait another 10 days for glue to dry

then can polish.

of cos if overlaying, then u can save one week liao.

eh sai bo?

Wah, that's good news. I won't be hacking the floor lah. Will just overlay to save time. Just hack off the skirting at most.

Hey, how do you confirm HauHau ar? Have to go to their office with signed quote? Do they need like a specific time allowance?

New, looks like Rondy's on your back to chase you for red wine.... :P

Aiyah, Rondy, next time I go your place I bring you one bottle lah - which grape you like?

Met up with Mr Yeak yesterday to discuss further from where we left off during our last site visit.

He shared with us some design proposals from his designer. These are some her perspective drawings for the MBR.

View Proposed MBR Layout with Dresser.

perspectivembr2.jpg

View of Proposed Walk-in Closet Area.

perspectivembrwardrobe.jpg

Guess after thinking it through, this layout would best utilise the space.

The only thing we'll have to get used to is that walking space will be a little cramped: Example - The size of bed used by the designer in the layout plan is Queen, whereas mine is King. So, according to Yeak, the space to walk inside the Walk-in Closet and between the TV to the Bed will be only about 1 tile space (60cm).

Tiles-wise, is more or less selected also. Yeak was kind enough to help us liaise with the supplier for the white Living/Dining/Corridor to Room tiles. From the looks of it, we'll most definitely go for parquet for all 4 bedrooms. For the kitchen tiles, Yeak's advise to us for the 'LV Epi Leather' tiles was that the tiles would stain easily and be very hard to maintain. He also suggested that matt tiles might not end up with a nice effect and hence recommended us to go for 60cm X 30cm glossy white wall tiles instead. So we decided to follow that.

Also discussed other things like MBR toilet and TV console. Will update further shortly. Got to rush for a short briefing. :)

Hi Adrain,

Nice drawing. You really draw well.

I think your layout is good, except that its going to be very cramp, esp. after you mention about the foldable bed. You might want to consider doing the wardrobe along the wall (meaning L towards the bed), taking out the wiw concept. Just my thoughts as I think the room too crampy with too much 'idea' / 'features' in a single room.

Hi Adrain,

Nice drawing. You really draw well.

I think your layout is good, except that its going to be very cramp, esp. after you mention about the foldable bed. You might want to consider doing the wardrobe along the wall (meaning L towards the bed), taking out the wiw concept. Just my thoughts as I think the room too crampy with too much 'idea' / 'features' in a single room.

Hi Rasp,

Thanks for the feedback. The 2 drawings are not done by me, its by Yeak's designer. I only did those before these 2 perspective drawings - Not so pro lah.

Yes, the cramp issue is something that'll stick with us perpetually until perhaps my younger son grows older and I can convince the 2 of them to sleep separately from us.

Thanks alot for your insight on the wardrobe along the wall. :)

I'll speak to Yeak and work it out on the floor plan to see how I can work that out. Previously, I did think of doing a long 10ft wardrobe across the wall, but same issue, there'll be a cramped space on one side.