adrian_john

Our 2nd Home In Bishan

talking about slim mounting, I think i've seen pictures of TV mounted on stainless steel pole, probably the wires are ran in the pole. looks sleek.

Ivy, thanks so much for providing the pictures! Very inspiring and sleek designs indeed. At least now I have an idea on how the console works with the pole. Although I'm still curious where all the power and AV cables go to... :)

adrian glad to see you are back to the drawing board...when i saw the tv console in the middle, i quite like the idea as it creates a tv area...probably just a few things which i had in mind. would it be too cramp as space is taken up by the console? esp if you gonna get a big sofa....and the passageway might seem very tight coz i like big big space...the thing about putting console there is if you need bigger space for party or gathering, can't move it away but if you put the sofa there, its movable...and for my children,i prefer big space for them to run around...

another thing i thought of was when watching tv, will it be distracting that you can see people walking in the passageway?

from your drawing,it would make your place looks small..

especially u have a block of "wall" in the middle of nowhere.

Can re-consider reposition the TV again.

Just my thoughts. :)

Heya PJ and Rondy,

Thanks for your feedback. The concerns you had are exactly the same ones I have about putting the suspended console in the middle of the hall.

Firstly its the 2 naughty boys running around and secondly space-wise also. According to Yeak, he said there's space - Just that can't have a 2 seater sofa and coffee table. So its probably just 3 seater sofa flushed to the wall and a single seat at either side. My drawing proportion and scale a little koyak lah, so it looks close, but actually about almost 3 tiles distance between the console and the 3 seater flushed to the wall. Yeak lagi funny, he said, good for you mah, can save money on TV, no need to buy big one! :P

Will probably discuss this further with him again, if not feasible or too much trouble, what I'll do is probably reposition the TV to the wall and do a simple suspended console there instead. :) I guess that'll give more flexibility in terms of moving furniture around. Only negative thing will be glare on that wall from the balcony.

Ivy, thanks so much for providing the pictures! Very inspiring and sleek designs indeed. At least now I have an idea on how the console works with the pole. Although I'm still curious where all the power and AV cables go to... :)

Heya PJ and Rondy,

Thanks for your feedback. The concerns you had are exactly the same ones I have about putting the suspended console in the middle of the hall.

Firstly its the 2 naughty boys running around and secondly space-wise also. According to Yeak, he said there's space - Just that can't have a 2 seater sofa and coffee table. So its probably just 3 seater sofa flushed to the wall and a single seat at either side. My drawing proportion and scale a little koyak lah, so it looks close, but actually about almost 3 tiles distance between the console and the 3 seater flushed to the wall. Yeak lagi funny, he said, good for you mah, can save money on TV, no need to buy big one! :P

Will probably discuss this further with him again, if not feasible or too much trouble, what I'll do is probably reposition the TV to the wall and do a simple suspended console there instead. :) I guess that'll give more flexibility in terms of moving furniture around. Only negative thing will be glare on that wall from the balcony.

Question, why don't you put your tv against the far wall (from the corridoor) and place your seating in the middle of the hall? Not as damaging for your kids to run smack into a sofa right? =p

cable and power socket can be hidden within the console. There must be a way. Show Mr Yeak the pics and ask him how these people hide the cables. He may have his own way.

Question, why don't you put your tv against the far wall (from the corridoor) and place your seating in the middle of the hall? Not as damaging for your kids to run smack into a sofa right? =p

Storm: That's definitely an alternative we're considering as well. We were just thinking that having the top-hung console would give abit of a design element and dimension to the place. But then again, agreed with you, and like what my wife likes to nag me at, sometimes practicality overrules aesthetics. :P Anyways, with the sorta kids I have, they'll run smack into anything and everything. As long as they don't go over the balcony, I think I can breathe easy already. :P

cable and power socket can be hidden within the console. There must be a way. Show Mr Yeak the pics and ask him how these people hide the cables. He may have his own way.

Thanks for the tips Ivy, hidden sockets and good wire management's always good to keep the home neat! :)

Edited by adrian_john

The set-up in the last picture looks really stylish, I like it but I think it looks more applicable for a really big space. Practically-speaking, you know, with my kinda kids around, I can just imagine them spinning each shelf level round and round like those traditional Tibetan monastery bells! :)

I like the 2nd one. Guess its practical, compact and sleek and fulfils the purpose of holding the TV and the consoles very neatly. :)

Just abit of an update on the ongoing headache of tile selection... since we had some time before the reno, we've been popping by the various tile shops to view and shortlist. Went to the usual places - LSH, Gallery T (Subsidary of LSH), Hafary, Soon Bee Huat, Sin Lek, and others such as Rice Fields and Earth Stone. Just like it was 5 years ago for our first home, tile hunting is both a time of laughing, arguing, fighting and compromise. :)

Not sure if all's still final but here's more or less down to the last few on the shortlist.

Proposed Tiles for Kitchen and Balcony (All in 60cm X 30cm size). Tried to keep it simple by using the same colour scheme and tiles.

For the walls, have 2 shortlisted - Either the classic plain matt, or a semi-shiny, patterned one which we nicknamed 'LV Epi Leather'.

kitchentiles.jpg

For the Living/Dining and Rooms, we decided to go the matt/semi-gloss route and took a white patterned one, which has abit of a marble effect.

Rooms-wise, the black will most likely be for the MBR and Study, while the Cream one will be for the other 2 rooms. This is part of the 'compromise' whereby I get my small bit of 'orh-lu-lu' preference, while catering to the preference of the older folks with the lighter tone. But right now, we're also considering laminate / parquet so still in decision process...

livingandroomtiles.jpg

toilet tiles leh?

Ivy: Toilet tiles already chosen much earlier. Pictures posted here.

Blue_Diamond: Yup, we're almost there. At least the major more important ones are settled. I'll also need to finalise the choice of tile for a wall at the Living Area and maybe MBR, depending on the final layout. I'm just glad this time round there's not much arguing as there was 5 years ago. That time really clash until somebody give in - i.e. me! Aahahahha! :)

Ivy: Toilet tiles already chosen much earlier. Pictures posted here.

Blue_Diamond: Yup, we're almost there. At least the major more important ones are settled. I'll also need to finalise the choice of tile for a wall at the Living Area and maybe MBR, depending on the final layout. I'm just glad this time round there's not much arguing as there was 5 years ago. That time really clash until somebody give in - i.e. me! Aahahahha! :)

i guess it quite common when 2 parties have different concepts and ideas about what they want. I guess end day everyone is just trying the best to make the place nicely done up. For me n wifey, we used the presentation method...that is we choose what we like, present the idea to the other party...n c who can convince better ...of cos...also need lot of compromising. :P

ohh yah. thanks for refreshing my memory. brain ain't working right recently. keeps forgetting things :x

now that tiles selection is out, have you decided how u wanna do ur tv feature?

ohh yah. thanks for refreshing my memory. brain ain't working right recently. keeps forgetting things :x

now that tiles selection is out, have you decided how u wanna do ur tv feature?

Ahahaha .. must be your medication. Take care! :)

Well, for TV feature, I'll be meeting Yeak tomorrow evening so will show him the pics you sent me and discuss. I was also thinking actually, apart from the fact that some of the laminate is peeling and parts of my current TV console's worn by the kids doodling on it, I won't mind to re-laminate it. But I hear some people say to re-laminate will cost almost the same as a new one so will probably shove it if its not value-for-money.