adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 AJ, talked to yeak just now. he said can do glass backing for the kitchen provided its not at the sink area. cos thats where the dampness that caused the black patches. he never specify the last time round so i tot cannot at all. n so i can finally have my glass backing!!! yeah Hehe, Yeak also suggested to us not to use glass backing but we'll probably go for it and then worry about cleaning up much later:) Adrian, some tips Yeak shared, some of the power pts can be hidden under the cabinet, like your mirror cabinet, it may be possible to have the points facing downwards towards the table. Check with him if you like, can hide the power points. Will using both dark brown for your MBR toilet make it look dark? Newnyew and kthc, Thanks for the feedback. I did ask Yeak yesterday also and he said its fine and will look nice. I did speak to him about the power points and the cabinet too and he'll have a think through and advise further on some suggestions. As for the MBR toilet, although it'll look a little dark, with warm white lights, it'll be quite cosy. My current MBR toilet is also dark-tiled so I think we'll be quite used to it. I like dark actually and I wouldn't mind my whole house looking more orh lu lu. But my wife and parents are the white and bright kinda people so I bo pian, have to compromise. I may also do a darker flooring for the bedrooms. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 (edited) Hehe, if given a choice, I would hide the power points as such: This compartment is where I will hide away the hairdryers etc. Just to make sure that the compartment is wide enough [though, too wide can be an eyesore]. Also, need to work with the electrician. Can't have glass with this design. It will also make the pull-out drawer smaller. Perhaps, to do away with the dresser leg will make it less cluttered. But, you need to check whether the dresser [with all the weight] can be suspended 'legless'. Just my 2 cents. reiki!! hehe *steal your ideas*... I was thinking more along the lines of something like this in your blog... http://reikisanctuary.vox.com/library/phot...143878860b.html Can build a cabinet from the table top to the ceiling... then the sockets at the side, trunking hidden inside the cabinet. Anyway I reckon most of the things plugged there are not permanent fixtures? Probably hairdryer / handphone charger... so after using they can be kept.. hehe Reiki and Pet, Thanks so much for your suggestions to improve the design of my wife's vanity cabinet. I like suspended, but I was afraid that it may not be able to take the weight of all the items. Will check with Yeak to see if I can do it suspended. I think it'll look nicer, especially if I can do it with rounded edges. The hidden power points are really great. I really got alot to learn about wiring management from you guys! Reiki's blog is a really refreshing read with alot of heart - Really enjoy reading through. Edited June 26, 2009 by adrian_john Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 hello i also confirmed Mr yeak.. my 1st appt was last week 18-06-2009 and expected completion is 30-07-2009 our reno dates like clash lae... Hi ling3bzr. Yeah, looks like we're sharing the same reno dates. But seeing the dedicated, organised and meticulous person Yeak is, I'm sure he's got it all worked out. Do you have any fixed handover dates? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 if it helps, my shoe cabinet is suspended...usually will not put heavy stuff on dressing table unlike book shelves....i think reiki's wire management is great...wish i've thought of it...now trying to hide the power point for my tv console... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kthc 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 Hi ling3bzr. Yeah, looks like we're sharing the same reno dates. But seeing the dedicated, organised and meticulous person Yeak is, I'm sure he's got it all worked out. Do you have any fixed handover dates? Don't worry about the clash of dates. Like now, mine, sixer and tulips are more or less happening concurrently and on my side, everything seems smooth enough. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 Reiki and Pet, Thanks so much for your suggestions to improve the design of my wife's vanity cabinet. I like suspended, but I was afraid that it may not be able to take the weight of all the items. Will check with Yeak to see if I can do it suspended. I think it'll look nicer, especially if I can do it with rounded edges. The hidden power points are really great. I really got alot to learn about wiring management from you guys! Reiki's blog is a really refreshing read with alot of heart - Really enjoy reading through. I think as long as you have kids, rounded edges are always a good thing to have. wheee I love Reiki's wire management. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ling3bzr 0 Report post Posted June 27, 2009 Don't worry about the clash of dates. Like now, mine, sixer and tulips are more or less happening concurrently and on my side, everything seems smooth enough. my handover is 30th july.. so yeak will need to go down take some measurements first? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 Met Mr Yeak last Thursday to go down to the new place for on-site view and measurement-taking. Took some time to talk to him While it was a good meeting, after the measurements, it seems now we'll have to have some re-think over a couple of things. - The biggest headache now's the Master Bedroom. Although the space looks ok on the floor plan. After taking measurements on-site, the space is very tight. So walk-in wardrobe may have to be shelved, and even so, placement of wardrobe is now quite tricky, especially since there's also a need for a TV wall or console. Mr Yeak says he'll ask his designer (I didn't know he had one) to work out some ideas for us. I'm very tempted to eat space in the next room, but Wifey is against it. - Mr Yeak's survey also found out that due to the overhanging pipes, doing a rainshower for the MBR would not be possible as one of the pipes overlaps the ideal position of a rain shower and because the pipes will be boxed up, there's no way to mount it. But since by default, there's already a bath tub there. Mr Yeak said putting a new bath tub there would also work well with the hotel theme. - Kitchen-wise is so far OK. Although to accomodate the newer styles of cooking hobs, we may have to shift the location of the hob. So we'll have to revisit the kitchen cabinet layout in further detail in our next meeting. - We found that the new place actually has concealed wiring. So this saves us abit of money as we won't need to spend on rewiring. However, to minimise trunking, we'll really have to plan the moving (if any) and placement of additional points properly. - For the Living area, we were thinking of putting some storage cabinets that will flush seamlessly and look like a wall. So, the initial area where we planned to place the TV console will now have to make way for this. Now the next thought will be the placement of the TV console. Off-hand I was thinking of perhaps doing a suspended one from the ceiling either parallel to (i) the balcony or (ii) the new flushed storage position. Issue with (i) is that it'll block out the natural light and have a block-like object between Living and Dining area. Issue with (ii) is that there might be problems in terms of sofa size and placement of secondary seats and coffee tables. So this is up for another re-think. Mr Yeak will also think it through and give his feedback. Guess now its back to the drawing board .... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 my handover is 30th july.. so yeak will need to go down take some measurements first? Yes, taking measurements and having an on-site visit is definitely important. As illustrated in my previous post, when you're on-site with Yeak, he can point out the feasibility of doing what you had planned or also advice you on certain items that will or may have issues. It'll also help in providing a more accurate quote. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 u sound so detailed and i cant wait to see the transform of ur house under Yeak! So will just settled for a normal wardrobe if worse case happens? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 u sound so detailed and i cant wait to see the transform of ur house under Yeak! So will just settled for a normal wardrobe if worse case happens? Hi Mrspiglet, if we have a normal wardrobe flushed agains the wall, it'll mean no place for a TV console - mobile or fixed. So hence, the headache in figuring out how to work things out. I guess, at best if space allows maybe we'll try to do what I had illustrated in my 2nd MBR layout, where there's a passageway between the bathroom and wardrobe, and a TV console behind the wardrobe. Somehow, the actual space on-site is really very tight, leaving very squeezy walking space. It also doesn't help that my bed is king size, which takes up an extra 1ft of space allowance. Haiz ... hope Yeak's designer can come up with some bright ideas. from his drawing sketches u already know he is a very detail man liao lor,haha Aiyo, detailed meh? I think most of this I picked up from Mr Yeak one cos' he's even more detailed than me. I see him do his measurements really meticulously and his judgement of space is really good too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 woohooo back to drawing board means we'll have chance to see more of your drawings. happy drawing!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 Met Mr Yeak last Thursday to go down to the new place for on-site view and measurement-taking. Took some time to talk to him While it was a good meeting, after the measurements, it seems now we'll have to have some re-think over a couple of things. Guess now its back to the drawing board .... Wah, looks like u guys have lots of amendments to do. But can see that it'll be a well-thought out place in future! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 Back to posting after almost a week. Still recovering from a sinus problem. Its been quite busy for me and wifey pertaining to reno stuff. Been trying to finalise some of the more immediate stuff like tiles and air-con. So I think we've basically covered most of the local tile stores. We're also considering laminate flooring for the rooms. Saw Tarkett's flooring and was quite impressed, bar the pushy sales people. Didn't have time to see the rest like Supreme and Pergo, but we'll try to do so this week. Back to the drawing board, here's a little idea we thought of for the Living Room. In view of using the previously planned TV console space for a storage wall. We thought of a suspended TV console board from the ceiling as follows: Some thoughts: - Aesthetics: Not sure if having a suspended console would kinda create a 'block' in the middle of the Living Room. Another angle we explored was parallel to the balcony, but by doing so, it'd kinda block out all the natural light from the Living/Dining area and make the whole house dark, also, there's the chunky block, which may not be nice. Suspended console will be good to hide wiring. - Practicality: A concern we have is whether it hinder movement, particularly of bigger objects from the living area to the bedrooms. People-wise its not a problem, just stuff like furniture and beds we're worried about. Also, hopefully, with kids - no crashing into the console. False ceiling and placement of ceiling fan will also need to be carefully planned out. - Space: With the ceiling hung suspended TV console, there'll be less space for Living furniture - This means re-locating coffee table, no 2 seat sofas, and the viewing distance will be slightly closer. Well, the good thing is, I won't need to buy a big LCD. Guess if this doesn't work out, perhaps I'll work on a simple console along the wall instead (Where the sofa is positioned now). Do feel free to share any thoughts/feedback/suggestions. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 Back to posting after almost a week. Still recovering from a sinus problem. Its been quite busy for me and wifey pertaining to reno stuff. Been trying to finalise some of the more immediate stuff like tiles and air-con. So I think we've basically covered most of the local tile stores. We're also considering laminate flooring for the rooms. Saw Tarkett's flooring and was quite impressed, bar the pushy sales people. Didn't have time to see the rest like Supreme and Pergo, but we'll try to do so this week. Back to the drawing board, here's a little idea we thought of for the Living Room. In view of using the previously planned TV console space for a storage wall. We thought of a suspended TV console board from the ceiling as follows: Some thoughts: - Aesthetics: Not sure if having a suspended console would kinda create a 'block' in the middle of the Living Room. Another angle we explored was parallel to the balcony, but by doing so, it'd kinda block out all the natural light from the Living/Dining area and make the whole house dark, also, there's the chunky block, which may not be nice. Suspended console will be good to hide wiring. - Practicality: A concern we have is whether it hinder movement, particularly of bigger objects from the living area to the bedrooms. People-wise its not a problem, just stuff like furniture and beds we're worried about. Also, hopefully, with kids - no crashing into the console. False ceiling and placement of ceiling fan will also need to be carefully planned out. - Space: With the ceiling hung suspended TV console, there'll be less space for Living furniture - This means re-locating coffee table, no 2 seat sofas, and the viewing distance will be slightly closer. Well, the good thing is, I won't need to buy a big LCD. Guess if this doesn't work out, perhaps I'll work on a simple console along the wall instead (Where the sofa is positioned now). Do feel free to share any thoughts/feedback/suggestions. Boss , someone have bad experiance with Tarkett's flooring before. Can read up more . Have consider them before . But after reading from the forum , decided to go for the safer brand . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites