Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 Thanks my dear! i think im making my life difficult by using mosaics.. n most shops have limited patterns. haiz. haha.. i think yeak also think im giving him a hard time! Confirm! Yeak will either or ... I did think of using mosaics for kitchen and toilets, similar to my sister's house. But the thought of me in rubber gloves, carrying a bottle of Mr Muscle with cloth and wiping those in-between grouts for hours every sunday is just too much ..ahahahahhaa! Hee.. If u do mosaics for kitchen (not at stove/hob area), then it should be fine. Don't need to clean every weekend, cuz there's no moist to make the mould grow mah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 (edited) I like the marble tiles! I think it'll really add to your hotel look. As for the dresser.. looks good.. but your mirror can touch the table top.. and then you have the sockets at the side of the cabinet, one on top of the other. hehe stole idea from Reiki's blog. That way you can have one more shelf below!! Hmmm.. ok, thats a good idea. Less wall exposed is always good and I like it that the sockets are at the cabinet's side. Must go check out Reiki's blog to see how it works. Actually, if I could have it my way, I'd rather just stick to the current full height version, cos' since we've lived with it for 5 years and it's really neat cos' nothing sticks out and all my wifey's make-up and vanity stuff (yes, there's alot and alot more) can be stored there. Haiz, but she want table then bo pian oredi. Hee.. If u do mosaics for kitchen (not at stove/hob area), then it should be fine. Don't need to clean every weekend, cuz there's no moist to make the mould grow mah. Angel, that's comforting to know. My current thought it to do glass backing and stainless steel for the stove/hob area (cos' heavy cooking). Still scared of cleaning grout lines...ahahahahahah! Edited June 23, 2009 by adrian_john Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 Wah.. Mosaics! It'll look very nice, bright and colourful, although I have to agree that you're happily making your life 'difficult' in terms of having to think of the choice of colour combos and maintanence. I did think of using mosaics for kitchen and toilets, similar to my sister's house. But the thought of me in rubber gloves, carrying a bottle of Mr Muscle with cloth and wiping those in-between grouts for hours every sunday is just too much ..ahahahahhaa! haiz cant find any nice mosaics still bo bian, went hafary at 9am just now to chose animal print haha... Confirm! Yeak will either or ... Yeak already said doing my reno he can do 2 others at the same time! he nag nag me but like father nag daughter like that haha! going to meet him later again to propose my tiling sequence. i warned him his tiler gonna have headache for my reno My current thought it to do glass backing and stainless steel for the stove/hob area (cos' heavy cooking). Still scared of cleaning grout lines...ahahahahahah! me wan do glass backing but yeak kept discouraging me to do it. cos his own house also do glass backing but got black patches due to moisture. so u might consider stainless steel or talk to him when u meet him again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 Angel, that's comforting to know. My current thought it to do glass backing and stainless steel for the stove/hob area (cos' heavy cooking). Still scared of cleaning grout lines...ahahahahahah! haiz cant find any nice mosaics still bo bian, went hafary at 9am just now to chose animal print haha... Yeak already said doing my reno he can do 2 others at the same time! he nag nag me but like father nag daughter like that haha! going to meet him later again to propose my tiling sequence. i warned him his tiler gonna have headache for my reno me wan do glass backing but yeak kept discouraging me to do it. cos his own house also do glass backing but got black patches due to moisture. so u might consider stainless steel or talk to him when u meet him again. adrian_john, like wat new said, Yeak will discourage his clients to do glass backing, esp at the hob area. Moisture or grease will seep in, and u won't be able to clean it. Not very good for long run. I wanted to do ss backing, but after doing up my tiles, Yeak suggested that I should just leave it and dun need to do any ss backing. Reason being that the tiles nowadays are of better quality and it's very easy to clean up after cooking. I decided to heed his advice and save $ on the ss backing. Till date, I have no regrets. The tiles are really very easy to clean. Abit of soap on my cloth and then use a wet cloth to clean the soap, and my cleaning is done. Have never used mr muscle at my kitchen wall tiles so far. I've fried stuff and cooked like 2-3 times a wk, and so far, the tiles at my hob area are still sparkling new. What I can suggest is that u get those glossy tiles in larger size to reduce the grout lines. Mine is 30x60cm wall tiles. New, have u tried LSH at Jurong? The one behind IMM? Think they have some nice mosaics too. Haha, I can imagine ah hui (the nice tiler) crying when he listens to wat u wan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 haiz cant find any nice mosaics still bo bian, went hafary at 9am just now to chose animal print haha... Yeak already said doing my reno he can do 2 others at the same time! he nag nag me but like father nag daughter like that haha! going to meet him later again to propose my tiling sequence. i warned him his tiler gonna have headache for my reno me wan do glass backing but yeak kept discouraging me to do it. cos his own house also do glass backing but got black patches due to moisture. so u might consider stainless steel or talk to him when u meet him again. adrian_john, like wat new said, Yeak will discourage his clients to do glass backing, esp at the hob area. Moisture or grease will seep in, and u won't be able to clean it. Not very good for long run. I wanted to do ss backing, but after doing up my tiles, Yeak suggested that I should just leave it and dun need to do any ss backing. Reason being that the tiles nowadays are of better quality and it's very easy to clean up after cooking. I decided to heed his advice and save $ on the ss backing. Till date, I have no regrets. The tiles are really very easy to clean. Abit of soap on my cloth and then use a wet cloth to clean the soap, and my cleaning is done. Have never used mr muscle at my kitchen wall tiles so far. I've fried stuff and cooked like 2-3 times a wk, and so far, the tiles at my hob area are still sparkling new. What I can suggest is that u get those glossy tiles in larger size to reduce the grout lines. Mine is 30x60cm wall tiles. Newnyew - Wah, what bold animal print tiles you talking about? Sounds quite nice leh. I remember I saw some cow-print type at one ID's showroom and it looked pretty nice. Thanks both of you on your advice on the glass backing. I didn't realise there would be te moisture and oil issue as I thought it'd be easier to wipe glass than clean grout lines. Hahahah .. Lazy me! Will hear what he has to recommend lah. Angel, thanks for sharing your experience. Its quite reassuring. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 Newnyew - Wah, what bold animal print tiles you talking about? Sounds quite nice leh. I remember I saw some cow-print type at one ID's showroom and it looked pretty nice. Thanks both of you on your advice on the glass backing. I didn't realise there would be te moisture and oil issue as I thought it'd be easier to wipe glass than clean grout lines. Hahahah .. Lazy me! Will hear what he has to recommend lah. Angel, thanks for sharing your experience. Its quite reassuring. hehe, me choosing tiger print n zebra print from hafary for the 2 toilets. think i choose tiles until my head go wild! wanted cow/leopard print but theirs not so nice. not very ex la, $5.50 psf. size is 45x45cm will upload pics soon Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 wow!i think your place will soon be the next show flat liao! some kinda new challedge for yeak hor? Must invite us to your place for the animal party! I will be in a piggy suit! u kns la! hahaha... i imagine u in piggy wahahahah actually no challenge at all. its just that the tiles i chose looks different thats all. n u must really wear piggy suit for my housewarming!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 AJ, talked to yeak just now. he said can do glass backing for the kitchen provided its not at the sink area. cos thats where the dampness that caused the black patches. he never specify the last time round so i tot cannot at all. n so i can finally have my glass backing!!! yeah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kthc 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2009 Hehe, Yeak also suggested to us not to use glass backing but we'll probably go for it and then worry about cleaning up much later:) Adrian, some tips Yeak shared, some of the power pts can be hidden under the cabinet, like your mirror cabinet, it may be possible to have the points facing downwards towards the table. Check with him if you like, can hide the power points. Will using both dark brown for your MBR toilet make it look dark? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2009 Hehe, if given a choice, I would hide the power points as such: This compartment is where I will hide away the hairdryers etc. Just to make sure that the compartment is wide enough [though, too wide can be an eyesore]. Also, need to work with the electrician. Can't have glass with this design. It will also make the pull-out drawer smaller. Perhaps, to do away with the dresser leg will make it less cluttered. But, you need to check whether the dresser [with all the weight] can be suspended 'legless'. Just my 2 cents. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 24, 2009 Thanks both of you on your advice on the glass backing. I didn't realise there would be te moisture and oil issue as I thought it'd be easier to wipe glass than clean grout lines. Hahahah .. Lazy me! Will hear what he has to recommend lah. Angel, thanks for sharing your experience. Its quite reassuring. Hee, most welcome. But I must say, glass backing is chio de loh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ling3bzr 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 hello i also confirmed Mr yeak.. my 1st appt was last week 18-06-2009 and expected completion is 30-07-2009 our reno dates like clash lae... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 reiki!! hehe *steal your ideas*... I was thinking more along the lines of something like this in your blog... http://reikisanctuary.vox.com/library/phot...143878860b.html Can build a cabinet from the table top to the ceiling... then the sockets at the side, trunking hidden inside the cabinet. Anyway I reckon most of the things plugged there are not permanent fixtures? Probably hairdryer / handphone charger... so after using they can be kept.. hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 hola senor aj, hope to see some real action soon!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2009 hehe, me choosing tiger print n zebra print from hafary for the 2 toilets. think i choose tiles until my head go wild! wanted cow/leopard print but theirs not so nice. not very ex la, $5.50 psf. size is 45x45cm will upload pics soon wow!i think your place will soon be the next show flat liao! some kinda new challedge for yeak hor? Must invite us to your place for the animal party! I will be in a piggy suit! Newnyew, Good to hear you found the tiles. I'm waiting to see it up! I think Hafary at Defu has a pretty big selection of tiles. 45 X 45 is just nice for bathrooms. Rondy ... piggy suit ar? Why? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites