adrian_john

Our 2nd Home In Bishan

Aiya...the balcony grille...does spoil some of your mood ya?....I didn't want to install the grille...cause it make my wife and I sad; it look like jail! lols... but my contractor has already install it...hmm...since our unit is on the second floor...we thought also good lah... install it to prevent the other kinda of spiderman from climbing in when we are oversea. :P

Ya me too

Bo pian :(

Edited by coffee_o

Yah thats what I wanted to ask you too

I thought wah got kids still no grille at the balcony area, so daring hahahahaha

Aiya...the balcony grille...does spoil some of your mood ya?....I didn't want to install the grille...cause it make my wife and I sad; it look like jail! lols... but my contractor has already install it...hmm...since our unit is on the second floor...we thought also good lah... install it to prevent the other kinda of spiderman from climbing in when we are oversea. :P

Yup. If I could have it my way, I'd do without the grille anyday lah. But since we're above 20 storeys. Better not take any chance lah.

What we did was to settle for a grille which somehow looks minimal and tidier so as to minimise the 'eyesore'.

We initially wanted just a s/steel frame with thin steel cables across (Like what you see between some stairs), but somehow this would've cost us quite abit. So in the end, settled for wrought iron with flat horizontal 3mm bars staggered at 4 intervals to minimise view disruption.

Yup. If I could have it my way, I'd do without the grille anyday lah. But since we're above 20 storeys. Better not take any chance lah.

What we did was to settle for a grille which somehow looks minimal and tidier so as to minimise the 'eyesore'.

We initially wanted just a s/steel frame with thin steel cables across (Like what you see between some stairs), but somehow this would've cost us quite abit. So in the end, settled for wrought iron with flat horizontal 3mm bars staggered at 4 intervals to minimise view disruption.

Anyway bro have you heard of invisible grille ?

http://www.invisiblegrille.com/

Not sure abt the cost though, just thought that you might wants to check it out :)

Oh btw I like James Dean better he looks cool in that pose hahahaha

Edited by coffee_o

Not sure abt the cost though, just thought that you might wants to check it out :)

looks good, but do they install in Singapore? I only see outlets in Malaysia

Err...if its invincible, how do you know its there? :D

Are the grills strong enough to prevent a break-in? I mean...thats one of the main purpose of having grilles in the first place.

Wah me not sure wor

I guess it's still quite new so not much review abt it yet

Below is the local distributor for SG

Campany Name : LEGATE or LE-GRILLE

63 Jalan Pemimpin,#01-05,Singapore 577219

Tel :0065-6242 1911

Fax :0065-6846 1922

E-mail :sales@legate.com.sg

Website:www.legate.com.sg or www.legate.sg or www.le-grille.com

Edited by coffee_o

Wah me not sure wor

I guess it's still quite new so not much review abt it yet

Below is the local distributor for SG

Campany Name : LEGATE or LE-GRILLE

63 Jalan Pemimpin,#01-05,Singapore 577219

Tel :0065-6242 1911

Fax :0065-6846 1922

E-mail :sales@legate.com.sg

Website:www.legate.com.sg or www.legate.sg or www.le-grille.com

have to say its very interesting.....that will be one of my option should i decide to change grilles....

Kopi, thanks for the tips on invisible grille.

I think I'll try contacting them to see how it works and also get the cost.

From the web it sure looks quite good in minimising the blockage from grilles.

Hi Adrian, long time no "see". :)

Your house is near completion and it sure looks great!! :good: :good:

Thanks Skyblue. Hoping for it to be completed soon. Then it'll be the next stage of rushing with cleaning, packing and moving.

Wow!!!Nice choice of this light,Adrain!!!

it really created a nice homely mood in your place.

:bow: + :good:

Thanks Rondy! Like I mentioned lah, although we chose all simple downlights, we thought maybe having one of those effect lights will help break the monotony and make it more lively and not so boring. My little son likes the light - Very thrilled at the patterns. :)

Ya, I also call Coffee_o Kopi .. easier lah!

Edited by adrian_john

CARPENTRY INSTALLATION - 15 SEPT

Here's some pics of the carpentry work in progress. Whole house now is full of the loose bits of our carpentry. I must say, so far the installation's been quite fast - The kitchen cabinet and tall cabinet's shell's in place, so is the shell of the Living storage, Main Wardrobe and both bathrooms' vanities. I think they'll be doing the other 2 rooms' wardrobes today.

Carpentry bits all over the Living Area

carpentry003.jpg

The shell of the main Kitchen Cabinet and Tall Unit

carpentry004.jpg

carpentry006.jpg

hey AJ, just make sure they r licensed to install HDB grilles - we enquired from one coy previously when we were sourcing for grilles, but they weren't licensed to install grilles and windows for HDB flats.

seems like HDB grilles are rather limited, tt why all we see r those aluminium ones

but if the invisible grilles can be done on HDB, seems like a good deal

Edited by beany0811

Carpentry bits all over the Living Area

carpentry003.jpg

yo adrian,

Just looking at this pic brings back memories of my reno - the joy, the anxieties. I am sure you and your family are excited.

Things are looking great, adrian.

Ya call them see how much they charge and let us know ya ? :)

Since your is so high up, your grilles is to prevent your kids from the balcony so should not be a problem