pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 @Pet Yes, I did take Chinese in school, but could never grasp it properly cos' I was always in the 'hopeless case' class where the teachers (and I guess also the students) don't care and don't bother cos' we all know we're gonna fail anyway. Furthermore everybody at home speaks English, Malay and Bahasa and nobody knows Mandarin so that didn't help either. I actually meant to take Malay, since my sisters took Malay for 2nd language but unfortunately at that time some MOE ruling stated that I couldn't cos' under race I'm classified as Chinese and only Malay, Indian, Eurasian or Ang Moh can take Malay. So too bad for me lor ... Hmmm ... you're right about the layout looking abit like CSO counter. Maybe I should not have the table but instead have one of those off-the-shelf glass working tables instead. huh you got caught inbetween then. I know of kids like you who really suffer. Sigh Language is best acquired through immersion and practical use... but nvm.. you're out of that already. haha it's just me and my silly concept (about the counter). I'm sure with the overall design and laminates you choose it wouldn't look like one. think u're not the only one. My chinese also CMI and my P3 teacher told me that I'll definitely fail my Chinese that year and forget about completing my primary sch education at our convent school. Surprisely, I passed and she became my P6 teacher again. Same thing from her, sure fail PSLE yet I still passed. Surprisely, I'm able to pass all the major Chinese examination. I can still read Chinese papers as I buy it for my dad every night but of course, I read one word, skip the next few words. Most impt, I still able to understand the articles though 85% of the time only the Chinese characters know me and not vice versa. Maybe it's because she keeps saying you will fail... then it motivated you to SHOW HER YOUR POWER! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 hahaha. but at least u all can understand and speak a bit. ok la. a lot of my friends also forgot how to write the words liao. only know how to speak and read. i am good in chinese but bad in english. kekeke, always get C one... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 think u're not the only one. My chinese also CMI and my P3 teacher told me that I'll definitely fail my Chinese that year and forget about completing my primary sch education at our convent school. Surprisely, I passed and she became my P6 teacher again. Same thing from her, sure fail PSLE yet I still passed. Surprisely, I'm able to pass all the major Chinese examination. I can still read Chinese papers as I buy it for my dad every night but of course, I read one word, skip the next few words. Most impt, I still able to understand the articles though 85% of the time only the Chinese characters know me and not vice versa. huh you got caught inbetween then. I know of kids like you who really suffer. Sigh Language is best acquired through immersion and practical use... but nvm.. you're out of that already. haha it's just me and my silly concept (about the counter). I'm sure with the overall design and laminates you choose it wouldn't look like one. hahaha. but at least u all can understand and speak a bit. ok la. a lot of my friends also forgot how to write the words liao. only know how to speak and read. i am good in chinese but bad in english. kekeke, always get C one... Born_Again - Ah, you convent Girl ar... Cool! I'm also from infamous Catholic Boys' Schools since Primary School. I think its a perennial problem that quite a number of mission school kids have problems with CL2 cos' English is usually the strong point. I remember in my Chinese 'failures' class, it was mostly Eurasians, Babas and Indon-Chinese kids, so you can imagine lah. But good thing for you that you pass your Chinese and prove your teacher wrong. Actually, when I had a good Chinese teacher, I did pass my Chinese - That was in P6 (Thank God, so I got no F) and in Sec 2. But after that, we had teachers who really didn't bother or care so everything slid downhill. I'll never forget my Sec 2 teacher, Mrs 'Tiger' Tang - She was **** fierce and strict, beat hands with ruler, and shout/scream at you till you cry type, but she was also caring and encouraging - which explains the rare pass. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 (edited) Some update from a Tile-recce trip to Sin Lek and was served by a nice lady called May. I think we've found a suitable tile to fit in a more hotel and luxe feel for the MBR and perhaps also the Common bathroom. We quite like this tile cos' it really gives that very marble wall and floor look. Planning to use the brown one for both floor and wall of MBR bathroom, while I'll use the beige one with a strip of the brown for the Common bathroom walls, and brown for the floor. The tiles come in 60 X 30cm size. The good thing is, the tiless for wall will be glossy, while those for floor, has a rougher non-slip surface while retaining the same look. Was advised by May that it'd look good if the wall and floor tiles were placed vertically at staggered intervals. Edited June 22, 2009 by adrian_john Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 (edited) tiles really look like marble....so you'll have to let yeak know how to lay the tiles? *edited* saw that you using for walls...will it be complicated? when design on walls and floor same....never see the whole piece abit hard to visualize... Edited June 22, 2009 by preciousjam Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 (edited) was catching up on your blog. Interesting turn of event... I thought you were going for the Soon-ers club......... hee..hee.. in the end it was Yeakers. Good for you. I just seen PreciousJam house. Very nicely done! You will have Ah Yeak full attention and detailed eye. He is really good, after I see for myself the meticulous effort he poured into his work. Edited June 22, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 (edited) tiles really look like marble....so you'll have to let yeak know how to lay the tiles? *edited* saw that you using for walls...will it be complicated? when design on walls and floor same....never see the whole piece abit hard to visualize... Heya PJ, I'm meeting him this Thursday and we'll be going to the new house so he can have a look-see and take some measurements. I'll then seek his recommendation and advice on the tile laying. Actually, since its only for the 2 bathrooms, even though the tiles are laid horizontally and in line, the look is still not too bad. At the showroom, they had a few of the tiles laid on one display slab so it looked ok. Design-wise I guess, its pretty much like marble flooring - varying tone and pattern but somehow it still gels. was catching up on your blog. Interesting turn of event... I thought you were going for the Soon-ers club......... hee..hee.. in the end it was Yeakers. Good for you. I just seen PreciousJam house. Very nicely done! You will have Ah Yeak full attention and detailed eye. He is really good, after I see for myself the meticulous effort he poured into his work. Heya Wendy! Choosing the contractor was one of the toughest calls I had to make indeed. Mr Yeak was also nice enough to accomodate us despite his very busy schedule. I guess his being able to help us oversee the reno in detail would be very much appreciated as there may be times that I'll be away during the 2-month reno period. Edited June 22, 2009 by adrian_john Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 hihi AJ can i know where is Sin Lek? do they have colourful mosaic tiles? been looking for tiles till i so tired! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 hihi AJ can i know where is Sin Lek? do they have colourful mosaic tiles? been looking for tiles till i so tired! Hi Newnyew, Yes, tile searching can be really tiring. We just go for a browse at some of the more popular shops and it takes some time already. Sin Lek's located at: 70 Eunos Ave 7. Tel: 6842-1622. They're open from 10am to 7pm Mon to Sat ( I didnt' check abt Sunday tho'). They have some colourful mosaic tiles too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 Hi Newnyew, Yes, tile searching can be really tiring. We just go for a browse at some of the more popular shops and it takes some time already. Sin Lek's located at: 70 Eunos Ave 7. Tel: 6842-1622. They're open from 10am to 7pm Mon to Sat ( I didnt' check abt Sunday tho'). They have some colourful mosaic tiles too. Thanks my dear! i think im making my life difficult by using mosaics.. n most shops have limited patterns. haiz. haha.. i think yeak also think im giving him a hard time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nottimonster 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 Some update from a Tile-recce trip to Sin Lek and was served by a nice lady called May. I think we've found a suitable tile to fit in a more hotel and luxe feel for the MBR and perhaps also the Common bathroom. We quite like this tile cos' it really gives that very marble wall and floor look. Planning to use the brown one for both floor and wall of MBR bathroom, while I'll use the beige one with a strip of the brown for the Common bathroom walls, and brown for the floor. The tiles come in 60 X 30cm size. The good thing is, the tiless for wall will be glossy, while those for floor, has a rougher non-slip surface while retaining the same look. Was advised by May that it'd look good if the wall and floor tiles were placed vertically at staggered intervals. Hi AJ! 1st time posting in your thread. I didn't use Mr Yeak or Uncle Ah Soon in the end. Mr Yeak rejected me immediately & I don't have the time to oversee the reno. So used my friend's ID instead. Prices quite high....sigh... Yup I think it'll look nice if you place the tiles vertically at staggered intervals. My bathroom tiles are 30x60cm sandstone pattern and my ID suggested tiling that way. Unfortunately the tiles could not be staggered in the end as they were ?wavy (not sure what he meant) but they are still vertically placed. Quite nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 Thanks my dear! i think im making my life difficult by using mosaics.. n most shops have limited patterns. haiz. haha.. i think yeak also think im giving him a hard time! Wah.. Mosaics! It'll look very nice, bright and colourful, although I have to agree that you're happily making your life 'difficult' in terms of having to think of the choice of colour combos and maintanence. I did think of using mosaics for kitchen and toilets, similar to my sister's house. But the thought of me in rubber gloves, carrying a bottle of Mr Muscle with cloth and wiping those in-between grouts for hours every sunday is just too much ..ahahahahhaa! Hi AJ! 1st time posting in your thread. I didn't use Mr Yeak or Uncle Ah Soon in the end. Mr Yeak rejected me immediately & I don't have the time to oversee the reno. So used my friend's ID instead. Prices quite high....sigh... Yup I think it'll look nice if you place the tiles vertically at staggered intervals. My bathroom tiles are 30x60cm sandstone pattern and my ID suggested tiling that way. Unfortunately the tiles could not be staggered in the end as they were ?wavy (not sure what he meant) but they are still vertically placed. Quite nice. Hi Nottimonster, glad you settled on your ID. How's the space planning and designs coming along? Thanks for your feedback on the tiling. Do you have any pics to show of the tiles to show? I'm also trying to visualise it in entirety. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 As usual, me and wifey usually spend some time to talk about the reno over the weekend. Initially, to accomodate all her make-up essentials, I was proposing to basically replicate the same make-up cabinet we have at our current place; or make it similar but full-height as per the picture below. But she was saying that she wanted a place to sit and an actual table top where she could sometimes also read and maybe write something. My concerns were that with a dresser table, it may reduce the storage space and hiding of all the stuff which we currently enjoy with the full height. So, in trying to maximise the space and fit into her request, I sketched a thought for the dresser as follows: The mirror cabinet can hide some of the stuff and can possible extended higher for more space (as seen in the dotted lines) and have lights below the cabinet. The pull out drawer also gives space for all the make-up essentials. To hide items such as hairdryers, was thinking that the ottoman can contain storage as well. I prefer a clean look, so hoping its possible to make the ottoman in a way that it will fit in seamlessly to the slot below the drawer. Power points are placed on the wall for the hairdryers, curlers, iPod dock etc. Was thinking maybe if there's space in the sides can put those movie star-style lightbulbs too ... but then again, better save electricity! Any other thoughts / ideas / suggestions are most welcome. Some female viewpoints would help! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 I like the marble tiles! I think it'll really add to your hotel look. As for the dresser.. looks good.. but your mirror can touch the table top.. and then you have the sockets at the side of the cabinet, one on top of the other. hehe stole idea from Reiki's blog. That way you can have one more shelf below!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nottimonster 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 (edited) My reno started 3wks ago. The bathroom tiling has already been completed but I don't have photos as I've not been able to go down to check much. I'll try to take some photos soon. But I'm sure if you can stagger the tiles the effect will be nicer. Kind of disappointed mine wasn't staggered. Edited June 22, 2009 by nottimonster Share this post Link to post Share on other sites