adrian_john

Our 2nd Home In Bishan

I agree with Pet, can get quote from Yeak too. In the meantime, u need to keep calling uncle to remind him. That's what I did...

@Adrian

i'm inviting 4 different contractors/ID to my place for quotation and additional 2 contacts (ponder) from PtyAgent. It's more than enough but at least you have a few more options and perhaps more ideas!

Yeak will be one of them too.

To wait 2 weeks for a quotation....quite agonizing though. Usually about a wk i thought? Hmm

Pet, Familyof4 and XiaoBB,

Thanks for the feedback and advice.

I gave uncle a call just now but he also can't remember who I am. I think the latest bunch of jobs have overwhelmed him as he himself mentioned. He was driving so I told him, never mind, go check and call me later. I hope he does.

In another sense, I guess I still have sufficient lead time, so I can afford abit of delays. Moreover I'm hoping that since my reno will take place very close before the Chinese 7th month, perhaps he'll be less occupied with other projects.

Quotes-wise, I've already seen about 10 IDs. But the thing me and my wife like about Uncle is his integrity and sincerity. He's someone that you can just warm up to, and he still believes in the old-school work ethic and takes pride in his work. So I guess, although we're anxious, we'll give him abit of time and remind him the next few days and really hope he gets back to us soon.

:) I glad you feel the same. When we were deciding, I was worried as at that time there were fewer forummers taking him up... in fact only Native at that time so I wasn't sure if I would go without all the black and white. Uncle was the sort who worked on the basis of trust and integrity...

But now I'm so glad we took the "risk" then cos he is true to his word and my parents really like him a lot. :) I do hope he gets back to you soon.

actually i was deciding between my friend (ID) & Uncle. But uncle is the one we task the job to because he is very sincere...

remind Uncle again if he doesn't call you. Base on experience, he'll soon forget as he receives too many calls everyday :P

Pet, Familyof4 and XiaoBB,

Thanks for the feedback and advice.

I gave uncle a call just now but he also can't remember who I am. I think the latest bunch of jobs have overwhelmed him as he himself mentioned. He was driving so I told him, never mind, go check and call me later. I hope he does.

In another sense, I guess I still have sufficient lead time, so I can afford abit of delays. Moreover I'm hoping that since my reno will take place very close before the Chinese 7th month, perhaps he'll be less occupied with other projects.

Quotes-wise, I've already seen about 10 IDs. But the thing me and my wife like about Uncle is his integrity and sincerity. He's someone that you can just warm up to, and he still believes in the old-school work ethic and takes pride in his work. So I guess, although we're anxious, we'll give him abit of time and remind him the next few days and really hope he gets back to us soon.

His partner Alan will be at our place on Sat 3pm. I'm not sure if Ah Soon is passing ur prj to him or not.

The way he talk to me, I can tell u Ah Soon is very very very very busy. He said even Jason also bue tahan already.

Adrian John, I hope things work out for you and Ah Soon. He is really honest. That's the part we are very at peace with. :)

Just got to chase him and tell him your street name and block no. He cannot remember my name but he knows me by Clementi 342. hahaha... so now, start seeding your block no and street to him. He will rememeber.

His partner Alan will be at our place on Sat 3pm. I'm not sure if Ah Soon is passing ur prj to him or not.

The way he talk to me, I can tell u Ah Soon is very very very very busy. He said even Jason also bue tahan already.

U are right...Jason buay tahan already. When I called him 2 nights back to meet him for the carpentry drawings, I told him it's PH on saturday, he sure he wana meet me, dun wana rest?

He said he dun dare to rest...so many projects, if he snake a bit all others delay. Poor him, only requested to let him sleep in later. Hehe...actually i also wanan sleep leh...PH leh...rushing from west to east also sian.

Heya Guys,

Thanks for all the feedback. We'll try calling him again this week and hopefully can get to meet him and get the quote sorted.

I'll also let him know that its not a problem for me to go to him wherever his location if he's too busy and if that makes it more convenient for him.

I just hope he manged to fish out my floor plan and all the notes of what we discussed. :)

Abit stressed this week so decided to take a breather and do up a simple sketch of a layout option of the Kitchen.

Wifey and I have had abit of headache on sorting out which Kitchen layout would be best and have a couple of options on our head.

We're trying as far as possible to have something different that the usual, but yet balance and serve the needs and functions of a heavy-usage kitchen, service balcony and a neat and clean way.

This layout was actually suggested by one of the nicer IDs we met. We like the idea that the service area is distinctly separated via the partition, but yet can be semi-visible to show extent of space via the glass window and door. In this way, the main kitchen area, while compact, still has a clear focus and fits an open concept by using glass door and a full-height glass panel for a full see-through effect. The more utility-heavy service balcony and its wash areas and clothes drying are concealed from the dining/hallway as it is blocked by the hollow block partition wall.

I will try to sketch some of the other layout options to give some comparison. Do share your feedback and comments. :)

Anyways, still no word from Uncle ... The wait goes on ...

draftsketchkitchenandse.jpg

Update of another option for the kitchen layout here:

draftsketchkitchenandse.jpg

Edited by adrian_john

Adrian... according to Familyof4 his line got suspended.. and he can't call using his usual number.. you might want to get the other number from her first? :) BUGGG HIM!

Thanks Pet,

Yup. Got his number from her and got him.

He's really ultra busy. He said he'll return call but forgot, so I called him again.

He was mentioning that he didn't really have time to do up my quote yet because of all the jobs he's got now, plus he's got 5 jobs starting this week, but he will meet me next week. Somehow I think he won't be able too but I told him, just let me know lah and if need be, I'll go to him.

But good thing is at least he now remembers who I am - 'The house with the little dog'. Ahahahaha!

Great! Last week when I met him I told him got a Bishan owner waiting for his quote and never hear from him. He ask me for block number which I didn't have :P I was actually referring to you. At least now he has responded to you.

Hi Ivy,

Thanks for reminding him on my behalf.

I guess it has also helped him jog his memory in a small way. :)

I can understand he'll also get confused if not for block numbers, cos' he's got a couple of Bishan jobs ongoing and upcoming, such as Smartie's.

One of his other jobs in Bishan also has almost the same block number as mine - That one's 167, whereas mine's 197.

I wonder how he can remember so many things sometimes ... maybe we should teach him how to use PDA! :)