Metalsubzero

Looking Forward To Our First Home...

Question Time..

Guys and gals.. Remember the false ceiling I drew in I think last or 2 pages back? I have a ceiling fan in my living room side.. And I planned to do false ceilings with cove lights.. Does anyone has that kindda config? My MBR also the same.. cove lights with ceiling fan.. Will it cause irritating shadows? -__-

Edited by Metalsubzero

Question Time..

Guys and gals.. Remember the false ceiling I drew in I think last or 2 pages back? I have a ceiling fan in my living room side.. And I planned to do false ceilings with cove lights.. Does anyone has that kindda config? My MBR also the same.. cove lights with ceiling fan.. Will it caused irritating shadows? -__-

I hv cove light in my false ceiling, but only in the living room. Have yet to try, but Uncle said it should be fine.

Oh, so u have cove lights with ceiling fan in the living room 2? Should be fine ah? But seriously, I dunno when I'd be using the cove lights and when I'd be using the downlights.. And cove lights very xiong! For my living/dining and MBR, add together a total of 20 T5 lighting points.. -___-

WAH!!! I only have a few T5, less than 10 in fact :P

Probably I will use cove lights when:

1. watching a late night movie with Hubby?

2. watching a late night movie alone?

3. out of vanity just switch it on so that I get to use the lights?

I need to use it. Hubby was against the idea of the cove lightings but i insisted. die-die also have to find a way to use it in front of him.

For my dining, i like cove lights, Jason and Hubby are against the idea, so in order to have a win-win situation, I used PLU and the lights shine the ceiling creating a similiar effect like the cove lightings. I go up tonight and take pictures to show u.

Wah, 20 is for my ceiling alone.. I forgotten to add 2 for my toilet as well.. -__- Piangz.. $396 just for T5 is crazy right? I think I go tell Joseph my living room do L Box can liao.. Hwhahahaha..

but u got your lights already? L box is practical, that is what my Hubby wanted, but I want it to look nice too, so I insisted to have cove lights in MBR and Hall :P i very ba dao ;)

I also added lights in my wardrobes. Like those in the hotels :rolleyes:

Oh, so u have cove lights with ceiling fan in the living room 2? Should be fine ah? But seriously, I dunno when I'd be using the cove lights and when I'd be using the downlights.. And cove lights very xiong! For my living/dining and MBR, add together a total of 20 T5 lighting points.. -___-

I'm doing cove lights with ceiling fan too and it's been giving me headache with my lighting plan.

I've been communicating with mister_molly who did a one sided cove lighting along the longer side of her living room and installed a ceiling fan in the middle. She got a shadow on the wall directly opposite the cove lighting but no whirring shadows on the floor. Just to share with you, i conducted my own little experiment with my parents' ceiling fan at home in the middle of the night using a torch light to simulate the t5s and a file to simulate the cove. I found that no matter what, you will get a shadow of the fan stem at the wall opposite of the cove lights. only way to cancel it is to have cove lighting there as well. As for whirring shadows, I found that the closer your light source is to the fan blade tips, the more pronounced the blade shadow on the ground is. The shadow becomes diffused the farther the light source is. For mister_molly, her cove lights is around 8" down from her ceiling while the lowest point on her fan is 15" from the ceiling. Distance from fan blade tip to cove light is around 1m. Hopefully, those numbers can help us in our lighting design!! =)

Oh, as to the lighting number, i think uncle quote a higher number just in case. Because the cove lights need to overlap mah, in order to minimize any dark spots in the lighting (flourescent light tubes are dimmer towards both ends). And the lighting design not confirmed yet right? So i think uncle quote a little higher so that when we finalize the lighting design, we won't suddenly be shocked by having more lighitng than previously agreed upon being added to our quote. If use less, he probably will minus it from his quote. But have to confirm with him lah.

I also added lights in my wardrobes. Like those in the hotels :rolleyes:

Me too! or else how to choose clothes and change at 6+am in the morning without on-ing the room lights and waking your partner! =)

How did you do your lighting in your wardrobe? Share share! I never see in your blog!

Me too! or else how to choose clothes and change at 6+am in the morning without on-ing the room lights and waking your partner! =)

How did you do your lighting in your wardrobe? Share share! I never see in your blog!

Eh, your experiement is good leh :good: but too bad, mine is a one-side cove at the opposite of the feature wall...well.

my wardrobes not up yet...I was contemplating the idea of having lights in the wardrobes, it only dawned on me when I thought my kids will have to wake up early and may have problems if they want to find something in the wardrobe.

I brought this idea across to Ah Wei, but he mentioned that SG dun sell such switches, and he went to JB to search for it. Hoping that it'll turn out well.

Eh, your experiement is good leh :good: but too bad, mine is a one-side cove at the opposite of the feature wall...well.

my wardrobes not up yet...I was contemplating the idea of having lights in the wardrobes, it only dawned on me when I thought my kids will have to wake up early and may have problems if they want to find something in the wardrobe.

I brought this idea across to Ah Wei, but he mentioned that SG dun sell such switches, and he went to JB to search for it. Hoping that it'll turn out well.

isit? So ma fan ah. i mentioned to uncle abt my lighting my wardrobe, he say will bao in my wardrobe quote so i thought it was a common request. I was thinking of doing motion sensing switch leh. Cz later one of us forget to off the light when we leave the house then jia lat le.

Anyways, now going off to check out the progress at my house and wait for the SP meter man. Check back in later. Cya guys! =)

btw, one sided cove also no problem. Do your feature wall in dark matt colours and the shadow won't show up! =)

Edited by stormcontrol

Sianz.. Made 2 wasted trips yesterday and today.. I thought works will be done for today, turned out that there were no works done today and yesterday.. Joseph says the electricians are at another unit.. 102, is dat guy77's house? Sianz.. He wanted to do mine first, but because I had some changes, he delayed and went to do up the other unit first.. End up that other unit also got some changes and delayed too.. -____-""

But den again, 2 days without work??!! I thought I've told him I'm in a hurry.. Sianz.. Joseph onfirmed though that tomorrow will be doing up the electricity wiring.. He convinced me that there will be no whirring shadows on the opposite wall... So I confirmed with the cove lightings.. :)

I spoke to Joseph 2day, he told me he has more den 10 projects on his hands now.. Mostly were Jason's projects he was asked to take over by Uncle.. Ask him if you wanna find out more.. Apparently, Jason won't be handling any more projects..

Pics pics pics.. I took a few, but havent had chance to load it up to imageshack.. And now it's late.. I just finished sending my laminate selections to Ah Wei for some of his advice.. Hard to meet him too..:(

Hope tomorrow will be a fast moving day!

wow you are gonna have more than 20 cove lightings??? have to tell you lor cove lightings give very nice effects and feel to the house...

i'm also thinking of putting light in the wardrobe...update any ideas k? saw somewhere seems like ikea has something like that battery operated....

22 T5s.. My living room uses up 10 already.. It's a U shaped false ceiling.. My dining has a row of T5s, 4 of em.. My MBR has 6, 3 for each side.. And the mirror at my vanity will have at least 2, one each for top and bottom.. :)

Hmm.. I think we've accustomed to seeing in the dark.. Hahaha, no lah.. cuz I start work earlier, and I only wake up around 7.. By that time it'll be already quite bright.. So, actually dun need the lights.. Even if I turn on the lights should be ok.. Can always on the cove lights, or just on the toilet lights since my wardrobe will be just beside the toilet.. :)

22 T5s.. My living room uses up 10 already.. It's a U shaped false ceiling.. My dining has a row of T5s, 4 of em.. My MBR has 6, 3 for each side.. And the mirror at my vanity will have at least 2, one each for top and bottom.. :)

Hmm.. I think we've accustomed to seeing in the dark.. Hahaha, no lah.. cuz I start work earlier, and I only wake up around 7.. By that time it'll be already quite bright.. So, actually dun need the lights.. Even if I turn on the lights should be ok.. Can always on the cove lights, or just on the toilet lights since my wardrobe will be just beside the toilet.. :)

must take photos when the lights are up...i think will be very romantic....