Metalsubzero

Looking Forward To Our First Home...

Agreed.. Right, proactive is the word as well.. Wow, dunno what uncle is so bz with that even projects he had started on are passed on to Joseph.. Now I'm worried Joseph will be overloaded.. First sign is he missed one meeting we're supposed to have on Monday.. But he did call to inform that he was bz though..

I'm sure whoever Uncle leaves your reno to will be up to it.. Don't worry.. Good luck aite?

Thnaks for yr well wishes....i am sure yrs will turn out well too...in fact looking forward for more pict...heheheh:P

at least he called u :) Uncle is managing as a whole i guess, for my unit, uncle says he will oversee, but bo geh is the other person i can contact with regards to the works. with ah wei doing carpentry, i am more at ease to be frank. at least he does update me on the things that I want to do, and the schedule that he has planned for me :) I will pop up tmr to see the 1st pieces of carpentry that are going up.

Hopefully everything soon soon also!

Here are some almost finalised drawings from Ah Wei to share.. :)

img0005ejy.jpg

(Left) MBR Built In Wardrobe - He forgotten to draw the mirror on the side and he enlarged the drawer size which we first agreed upon.. :dunno:

(Right) Vanity Cabinet - I guess very normal, most of you should be gettin this if u're doing vanity.. Mirror with lights behind it.. Light will shine from the top and bottom of the mirror..

img0004aej.jpg

(Left) Partition at Front of Door - This will be the partition that greets any visitors at the door..

(Right) TV Feature Wall & Console - This is actually my 2nd choice for tv feature wall.. Simple and clean look..

I actually wanted something like this (I drew it myself in 2-3 minutes, paiseh ah if it's tough on ur eyes.. Hwahahaha..)

tvconsole.jpg

My original idea was for the whole thing to be in wood + laminate.. Total length will be probably 8-9 ft.. But den Joseph and Ah Wei told me for this, I will have to top up aroudn $800 for it, because my quote only covers parition wall with wallpaper for feature wall and suspended console.. :bangwall: I saw this feature wall picture actually from a book I got from Chew Interior.. I vaguely remember someone else has a feature wall like this.. Is it Ocheeeng? Anyways, I modified the idea abit, so now I will only shorten the console and partition wall for the wallpaper by 1 to 1.5 feet, and will add in this tall shelving unit on the left of it.. I'm still waiting for Joseph to advise me how much it'll cost.. Hopefully not anything more den $200 more den what I was originally quoted.. I guess the pic is self explanatory.. I called Goodrich to check, they have black single toned wallpaper, I guess I can use that rather than laminates.. :) Crossing my fingers that it'll not cross my targetted amount.. VO already $2k + liao.. :bangwall:

img0003%7a%7ao.jpg

My kitchen layout.. We brainstormed for a while with Ah Wei before deciding finally on this.. I had actually thought of this, but wasnt sure if we can pull it off, Ah Wei assured me that it will be ok.. With his assurances, we are good to go! My original unit on the right of my kitchen doesn't have alot of space, so the only thing I can do is to put up another suspended bottom cabinet and top cabinet set (4 + 4 ft only) on the opposite of the main unit..

img0002t.jpg

Shoe Cabinet - Here's the simple shoe cabinet which will be below the window at my dining area.. Uncle threw in the glass for the top and the cushion with a storage drawer beneath it FOC.. :D The small shelving unit near the cushion seat was proposed by Ah Wei and we were both impressed.. :good:

Here's the layout with the proposed carpentry.. Not alot la, no money liao.. Hahahaha..

Layout for carpentry

Any feedback or comments will be appreciated be it negative or positive.. :) Thanks!

Hi Metalsubzero,

I prefer the tv console that you drew. The first one seems quite plain and common. I am also thinking of my tv console recently and I think its a headache as I am not familar with those gadgets stuff. For the 1st one, do you have enough space for all your electronic gadgets?

I actually wanted something like this (I drew it myself in 2-3 minutes, paiseh ah if it's tough on ur eyes.. Hwahahaha..)

tvconsole.jpg

My original idea was for the whole thing to be in wood + laminate.. Total length will be probably 8-9 ft.. But den Joseph and Ah Wei told me for this, I will have to top up aroudn $800 for it, because my quote only covers parition wall with wallpaper for feature wall and suspended console.. :bangwall: I saw this feature wall picture actually from a book I got from Chew Interior.. I vaguely remember someone else has a feature wall like this.. Is it Ocheeeng? Anyways, I modified the idea abit, so now I will only shorten the console and partition wall for the wallpaper by 1 to 1.5 feet, and will add in this tall shelving unit on the left of it.. I'm still waiting for Joseph to advise me how much it'll cost.. Hopefully not anything more den $200 more den what I was originally quoted.. I guess the pic is self explanatory.. I called Goodrich to check, they have black single toned wallpaper, I guess I can use that rather than laminates.. :) Crossing my fingers that it'll not cross my targetted amount.. VO already $2k + liao.. :bangwall:

Square Rooms magazine (a few issue ago) has something like that. All black. I got the idea from there but I don't like all black. My sofa is black too. So I added a bit of white.

Hi Metalsubzero,

I prefer the tv console that you drew. The first one seems quite plain and common. I am also thinking of my tv console recently and I think its a headache as I am not familar with those gadgets stuff. For the 1st one, do you have enough space for all your electronic gadgets?

Urm, actually for the console I drew, the storage space on the left of it are not for the gadgets, more for newspapers, cds, blah blah and display in the middle.. I will actually place more stuffs on the console part.. The first drawing has a console of 8 ft, whereas in my drawing, it is around 7ft..(Not to proportions.. Abit disproportionate, but can get the idea ok liao.. Hahaha..) So, I think there's more than enough space.. I only have a HTS and Starhub box, no amplifiers or funny stuffs, so should be ok.. Actually I remember Ah wei says the console can fit an amp bah..

Square Rooms magazine (a few issue ago) has something like that. All black. I got the idea from there but I don't like all black. My sofa is black too. So I added a bit of white.

Oh, ok, it's square rooms which I saw the picture from.. All black.. Hehehe.. I have that issue too.. I tore all the pictures I fancy out, and I cant recall which magazine or book I tore it from.. Hahaha.. Ur console is not bad too mah.. But I prefer all black la, exactly like the one in the picture.. Too bad I can only use wallpaper for the tv backing side.. So no silver lines on it.. :/

Urm, actually for the console I drew, the storage space on the left of it are not for the gadgets, more for newspapers, cds, blah blah and display in the middle.. I will actually place more stuffs on the console part.. The first drawing has a console of 8 ft, whereas in my drawing, it is around 7ft..(Not to proportions.. Abit disproportionate, but can get the idea ok liao.. Hahaha..) So, I think there's more than enough space.. I only have a HTS and Starhub box, no amplifiers or funny stuffs, so should be ok.. Actually I remember Ah wei says the console can fit an amp bah..

On Ah Wei's drawing of console, the console height is 250mm or 25cm. If minus off the thickness of the console body, you probably have 17-18cm left. U sure can fit an amp?

metal, the part on the left where there's a space, what are u going to do with it? maybe can place some lights under it for a small feature decor? :) ah wei is **** good at drawing..

*still jealous*

On Ah Wei's drawing of console, the console height is 250mm or 25cm. If minus off the thickness of the console body, you probably have 17-18cm left. U sure can fit an amp?

Urm, maybe it can't.. Hahaha.. I dunno for sure.. Hmm, maybe I recalled wrongly.. I didnt really pay attention since I'm not gonna get an amp.. He did ask me if I'd be getting an amp though..

metal, the part on the left where there's a space, what are u going to do with it? maybe can place some lights under it for a small feature decor? :) ah wei is **** good at drawing..

*still jealous*

Dun jealous la.. :) I want to see ur house, when u open house again? Hahaha.. I actually saw ur feature wall in Joseph's Hp.. Looks good mah.. :D

I know for sure I'd be placing feature decor there, just dunno wat kind.. Hahaha.. And yeah, I did thought about lights, but additional things means additonal money.. :( Hahaha

Anyways, ocheeeng, does the empty part between the top and bottom storage have any lights?

Urm, maybe it can't.. Hahaha.. I dunno for sure.. Hmm, maybe I recalled wrongly.. I didnt really pay attention since I'm not gonna get an amp.. He did ask me if I'd be getting an amp though..

Dun jealous la.. :) I want to see ur house, when u open house again? Hahaha.. I actually saw ur feature wall in Joseph's Hp.. Looks good mah.. :D

I know for sure I'd be placing feature decor there, just dunno wat kind.. Hahaha.. And yeah, I did thought about lights, but additional things means additonal money.. :( Hahaha

Anyways, ocheeeng, does the empty part between the top and bottom storage have any lights?

Can put light if you want. Need to tell carpenter and electrician in advance.

I didn't do the light because I probably will on it a few times to admire and then forget about it later :P

I just put a mirror backing.

when did joseph come to my house?how come i didnt see him!!! who is this joseph? is he like a bit short and stout? almost botak kind? shorter than uncle and jason? i didnt see anyone with no teeth..

Can put light if you want. Need to tell carpenter and electrician in advance.

I didn't do the light because I probably will on it a few times to admire and then forget about it later :P

I just put a mirror backing.

Exact sentiments.. That's what I wanted to ask you.. The practicality of putting a light there.. I had wanted to propose putting a light there but after much thinking, I realised that I won't be turning the light on most of the time.. Maybe I will in the first few days after moving in, maybe I will when I do house warming, maybe I will when it's chinese new year or some big occasions where there are guests.. But in fact, most of the time I wont be.. Hahaha.. Unless I have the pockets deep enough to leave the lights on 24/7 (electricity, parts costs).. Moreover I still have to invest on the lights, an additonal switch point and installation for the light.. Hahaha.. That's at least $50.. :P

So well, aubrey, I think if I should use this design, I wont be needing any lights..

when did joseph come to my house?how come i didnt see him!!! who is this joseph? is he like a bit short and stout? almost botak kind? shorter than uncle and jason? i didnt see anyone with no teeth..

Hahaha, he actually showed me and my wife a picture of a console, then says this one very special.. Hacked the wall down and the tv console is part of the wall or something lidat.. Immediately I told my wife, that's the gurl I MSNed la.. I asked Joseph whether it's a lady's house, 3 room flat in Bugis area and he said yes.. So I knew the pic was ur console.. Hahaha.. Maybe he was there when you weren't around? I suppose you don't stay around for the whole day ritey?

Anyways, uh, he's taller den Uncle I think.. I've never seen Jason in person before.. saw the pics though.. Hahaha.. Urm, to think of it.. I really never notice whether he has any missing teeth.. Hahaha.. Maybe I should go check it out when I see him the next time.. Hahaha.. :P

metal: the grey tiles are very nice and i think it will turn out very good.

joseph is good. but in terms of pricing, i still prefer to deal with uncle. he has the final say i think.