Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Yes!! It's me who uploaded Ah Wei's drawings It's good that Ah Wei's doing for u...He has good knowleged and advices on things that can or cannot be done keep us updated on your carpentry work! Hehehe.. See.. I remember.. Hahaha.. Will keep u guys updated of the carpentry work.. Gas will be cheaper lah, but it depends on how long it takes for the ROI for all the mixers and hot water piping. Indeed, i think if all the members in the family can shower ard the same time, the storage tank may be a better option. Like u said, the gas heater no need to turn on switch, its auto. Once the heater detects the flow of water, the 'fire' will ignite by itself. My only complain is the hot water is too hot despite turning down to the lowest temp! Btw, I think u shd be quite relief now that Joseph seems to be a very gd project manager right? Yeah, am relieved that Joseph is quite good at what's he's doing.. Anyways, he's **** experienced in this line if u ask me, since he's the only person running around in Sengkang area for HDB.. New flats mostly comes with the piping already, hence the red n blue stickers u see all ard the toilets n kitchen. Citygas heater is central, but recommendation is to connect to only the shower points, n not all the taps in the house. Ventilation fan u'll have to ask HDB already, i have a coll whose new flat not allowed to instal ventilation fan, but still went ahead with it hush-hush. The hot water sure very hot one mah.. Dat's why need the mixer.. I remember for storage heater it's even hotter.. Some 20-30 degrees hotter.. It's so hot, when you turn it to full left, u can see steam! Hahaha.. I think the Rinnai Gas Heater is capped at 40 degree celsius.. Which should be sufficient for a nice warm bath.. Citygas recommended to only connect to shower points? Den basin mixers how? Hmm.. Will it be not "hot" enough to support the whole house if 4 taps are running together? Anyways, I've already decided to go with Instant heaters.. One reason being with kids around, I'm afraid sometimes I'd accidentally turn it to hot water when I'm giving my kids a bath.. Hahaha.. I think instant heaters not dat scary, since the temperature is already pre-set.. I bought the Tecno water heater, which looks quite sleek.. Wanted the Amasco one, but is's quite expensive if I didnt recall wrongly! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Just a point to note if you maid at home. Please train them how to use the hot water. Due to health issue, my granny need to shower with hotter water, so storage heater was installed. The new maid did not know how to control the mixer and just turn on hot water to bath her. There is no one in the house and later when my uncle came back, immediately sent granny to hospital due to severe burn to the skin. So do be careful for kids and old folks and train the maid well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Just a point to note if you maid at home. Please train them how to use the hot water. Due to health issue, my granny need to shower with hotter water, so storage heater was installed. The new maid did not know how to control the mixer and just turn on hot water to bath her. There is no one in the house and later when my uncle came back, immediately sent granny to hospital due to severe burn to the skin. So do be careful for kids and old folks and train the maid well. oh dear....even if teach the maid,still must constantly remind them....they tend to be forgetful Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 New flats mostly comes with the piping already, hence the red n blue stickers u see all ard the toilets n kitchen. Citygas heater is central, but recommendation is to connect to only the shower points, n not all the taps in the house. Ventilation fan u'll have to ask HDB already, i have a coll whose new flat not allowed to instal ventilation fan, but still went ahead with it hush-hush. heh. thanks for the information mrspiglet. =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 As my renovation is gonna go to the critical period soon, can I have the Ah Soon fan club members help me list down the rectifications you guys have faced so that I can keep a look out for it? Hahaha.. I tried scanning through all the T-Blogs, but it takes me alot of time, especially so for those T-blogs with more den 10 pages.. Hahahaha.. Moreover, sometimes when I read, I will read on and on and it'll take me hours! Hahaha.. So, will really appreciate if I can get some help? Really paiseh.. I hope I can contribute more in the future as well.. Sorry guys, no updates today.. Got home pretty late.. Had to go settle some payments and stuffs.. Anyways, with regards to the post quoted, any of the Ah Soon fan club members can help me? Probably list down a few rectifications you guys encountered and what are the things I really must look out for.. Just a brief list will do liao.. Cuz sumtimes I get to the house quite late with my wife, only have like 30 mins or lesser to see what they have done.. I'm also not so eagle eyed, so need help from u guys.. :/ TIA!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 the usuals for me now check tiling for any chipping or major unleveled tiles esp for floor plaster work and painting work done satisfactorily check carpentry work to ensure no funny laminate peeling or wooden block chipped or worse, like mine, cracked. any stains u cant remove (more for when u moved it) any weird placements of your stuff tt's all. u coming tmr? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 remember to knock on the tiles and listen to see whether they are hollow. I am quite particular when it comes to hollow tiles. If u dun have the proper tool, just your key. Lightly knock around the tiles. They will sound a bit echoy if they are hollow. Good tiling work will have a solid sound and dun sound as echoy. For me, I'll accept a bit of hollow sounds here and there cos cannot expect a 100% perfect job but if majority are hollow I won't take it. Hollow tiles will have problem in the long run. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 Hehehe.. See.. I remember.. Hahaha.. Will keep u guys updated of the carpentry work.. The hot water sure very hot one mah.. Dat's why need the mixer.. I remember for storage heater it's even hotter.. Some 20-30 degrees hotter.. It's so hot, when you turn it to full left, u can see steam! Hahaha.. I think the Rinnai Gas Heater is capped at 40 degree celsius.. Which should be sufficient for a nice warm bath.. Citygas recommended to only connect to shower points? Den basin mixers how? Hmm.. Will it be not "hot" enough to support the whole house if 4 taps are running together? Anyways, I've already decided to go with Instant heaters.. One reason being with kids around, I'm afraid sometimes I'd accidentally turn it to hot water when I'm giving my kids a bath.. Hahaha.. I think instant heaters not dat scary, since the temperature is already pre-set.. I bought the Tecno water heater, which looks quite sleek.. Wanted the Amasco one, but is's quite expensive if I didnt recall wrongly! i think its not the problem with mixer leh. I dunno how to explain, but like there's this 'point' where the water will be too cold, then move a bit the water will be too hot. So the adjustment gotta be really really small. Instant heaters are definitely safer for young kids. U wun know when they like to play with the tap and accidentally burn themselves with the hot water! remember to knock on the tiles and listen to see whether they are hollow. I am quite particular when it comes to hollow tiles. If u dun have the proper tool, just your key. Lightly knock around the tiles. They will sound a bit echoy if they are hollow. Good tiling work will have a solid sound and dun sound as echoy. For me, I'll accept a bit of hollow sounds here and there cos cannot expect a 100% perfect job but if majority are hollow I won't take it. Hollow tiles will have problem in the long run. Is it becos the trapped air below the tiles will be more prone to popping when it contracts or expands too much from temp chges? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 ur reno shd be going on well right? not much pics from u though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Yoyo, urm, my tiles are fully up and they have ran most of the pipes in the house already.. My instant heaters and toilet bowls are up when I dropped by the day before yesterday.. Yesterday I think they didn't do much.. I suppose they'd be doing the running of the electrical wires for today.. Will be doing plastering on Friday.. Next week den can paint, cuz aircon guys will only be coming on 9 June to install the aircon.. Currently, confirming the laminates for my carpentry with Ah Wei.. Will post his drawings soon.. Had really been too busy with everything, not just reno, work etc.. -__- Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 only one of my toilet bowl is up. your progress roughly the same as mine though my plastering has been done. my electrical works are starting today too (hopefully). and my parquet wood strips arrived. can't wait to see my parquet flooring. work and overseeing reno are really very tiring. but the end product will be very satisfying in a sense. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Yo guy77.. I think yours will be faster den mine.. I havent confirmed my carpentry yet.. I'm crossing my fingers that it will finish within 3 weeks from now.. _________________________________________________________________________ Anyways, remember the grey feature tiles I chose for the MBR toilet which was the same as what you'd chosen? I went for it and laid my whole shower area with that rough feature tiles - $5.50 psf, not cheap, it costs me an additional $300.. Joseph says can't help me to reduce, cuz this is what was charged by Sin Lek.. I'm adding quite a bit of works not initiall discussed, hope I can negotiate a better price.. The only bad thing about working with Joseph is that he can only give you rough estimates for any additional costs.. He said he will speak to Uncle Soon, but then, like for eg., changing of solid surface to granite, Ah Soon told me add in $20 pfr.. I asked Joseph, he says he dunno still this rate or not, gotta ask Uncle, havent get back to me yet.. I asked for quite some time already.. So, when it comes to costs and pricing, I hope I can ask Uncle instead.. But what baffles me is, I tried meeting uncle last Monday at 2000hrs to discuss about the total variation order to date.. He agreed to meet me, I called him as usual at about 1800hrs to remind him, he then told me he was busy and can't make it and asked me to deal with Joseph instead and Joseph will revert back to him.. I know Uncle is busy, but I really don't like this passing around message thing going on.. Why don't we settle it face to face rather then let Joseph be some sort of the middle man? And yeah, I've not seen Ah Soon at my place yet.. He has never arranged to meet me either.. One of the reasons I chose Ah Soon even after he told me he will sub out the works to Joseph is that he will still keep himself in the loop and will still visit the site regularly.. But turns out he's too busy now to even come down to see.. Luckily, Joseph is a very responsible, uncalculating and friendly person like Uncle.. In fact, the more I deal with Joseph, the more comfortable I feel around him.. In fact, I'm in much better terms with him now den I was with Uncle.. Uncle in my picture now, seems to be only the broker for the deal, or he's the highest management and I can't see him as and when I want.. LOL.. But well, thumbs up for Joseph.. He has my vote, in fact 2 votes from me and my wife.. If anyone is dealing with Uncle Soon and he's telling you he will sub your project out to a certain Joseph (or better known as "Boh-Geh"(Toothless) to Uncle Soon), don't worry... Your reno is in safe hands... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 mine boh geh will sorta oversee for the last stage. He is pro-active. He quickly found out the defects that needs to be rectified and says he will look into it. even my window frames the borders not done nicely, bad patching etc, he quickly called Ah Hock before uncle told him to! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 mine boh geh will sorta oversee for the last stage. He is pro-active. He quickly found out the defects that needs to be rectified and says he will look into it. even my window frames the borders not done nicely, bad patching etc, he quickly called Ah Hock before uncle told him to! good that Uncle finally got some quality worker liao....but hor....mine also dunno who taking care...cos Uncle say he will do it persoanlly de...but i kinda doubt so now ba... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 mine boh geh will sorta oversee for the last stage. He is pro-active. He quickly found out the defects that needs to be rectified and says he will look into it. even my window frames the borders not done nicely, bad patching etc, he quickly called Ah Hock before uncle told him to! Agreed.. Right, proactive is the word as well.. Wow, dunno what uncle is so bz with that even projects he had started on are passed on to Joseph.. Now I'm worried Joseph will be overloaded.. First sign is he missed one meeting we're supposed to have on Monday.. But he did call to inform that he was bz though.. good that Uncle finally got some quality worker liao....but hor....mine also dunno who taking care...cos Uncle say he will do it persoanlly de...but i kinda doubt so now ba... I'm sure whoever Uncle leaves your reno to will be up to it.. Don't worry.. Good luck aite? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites