Metalsubzero

Looking Forward To Our First Home...

hmm....isit necessary to do hot piping if using storage heater?must speak to wifey see which she will prefer...

Edited by blue_diamond

hmm....isit necessary to do hot piping if using storage heater?must sepak to wifey see which she will prefer...

For my mbr, storage heater only got one hot pipe to the rainshower. Will not be used for washing other things.

I also agree it cost more to use gas heater/storage tank.

Mine was $439 (MBR rainshower set)+$111 (Common toilet shower mixer set), gas heater $190+$60.. adds up already $800.

But no choice cos i tempted my hubby with the rainshower so decided to go w it in the end. I only did toilets+kitchen reno, so must do something nice to let us enjoy a gd shower after a long day at work. :)

However, i realised one point after we completed reno. If the gas heater spoil, no hot water at both toilets. Whereas 2 instant heater means there's still a spare one to fall back shd one goes down. Then again, i'm not sure abt the recurring bills, since Citygas claims that gas is much cheaper than instant heater electrical bills.

I also agree it cost more to use gas heater/storage tank.

Mine was $439 (MBR rainshower set)+$111 (Common toilet shower mixer set), gas heater $190+$60.. adds up already $800.

But no choice cos i tempted my hubby with the rainshower so decided to go w it in the end. I only did toilets+kitchen reno, so must do something nice to let us enjoy a gd shower after a long day at work. :)

However, i realised one point after we completed reno. If the gas heater spoil, no hot water at both toilets. Whereas 2 instant heater means there's still a spare one to fall back shd one goes down. Then again, i'm not sure abt the recurring bills, since Citygas claims that gas is much cheaper than instant heater electrical bills.

That my preception of citygas as well...so not really sure if it really cheaper as they claim to be... :unsure:

I'll check out the gas bills this mth and let u know? :)

Thanks so much... :bow:

Checked my SP bill for last mth liao. shifted in on 27th Apr and reading was taken on 9th May (2 full wks) and we cooked twice during this period, bill was $1.06. Considering that i stay over only on wkends, so only hubby showering once or twice a day. So i think for full mth w occassional cooking and showering (for 2 person) shd be <$10?

Edited by mrspiglet

Checked my SP bill for last mth liao. shifted in on 27th Apr and reading was taken on 9th May (2 full wks) and we cooked twice during this period, bill was $1.06. Considering that i stay over only on wkends, so only hubby showering once or twice a day. So i think for full mth w occassional cooking and showering (for 2 person) shd be <$10?

hmm....seem cheap...:)

Wah, got bill $1.06 one ah.. Hahaha.. I think Gas will be cheaper, but by how much I dunno.. Depends on hw many baths u take per day, if storage heater and u only turn on the heater for awhile, (meaning everyone in the family showers together) would definitely cost lesser den if everyone showers at different times.. And as I'm using storage heater now, it's not exactly convenient.. I'm staying at my friend's EM, the storage heater is in his level 2 common bathroom, so the switch is outside the bathroom, whenever I wanna take a bath, I have to go out and turn on the switch.. Imagine for a 4 or 5 room HDB, to turn on the switch I must walk from my MBR out to the kitchen where my common bathroom is to turn on the switch.. And wait for 10 mins.. LOL.. I think gas should be better bah, cheaper I dunno.. That's what Citygas webby claims..

Anyways, been so long since I've updated my blog.. Have been so bz this week, everyday after work run here run there.. Sometimes when I get back to my place it's already 10pm+ at night.. And when I reach home it's already near midnight.. So, really very shagged out cuz next day still have to wake up at 7am, usually I sleep at 2-3am now, cuz I'm having a headache with my feature wall design.. But den again, I'd just update with some pictures of what went on this week later at night as I dun have them with me now..

Anyways, now I'm choosing colors for the painting also, having a headache with that too.. And yeah, finally decided to change my sys 3 aircon and install new ones, Toshiba sys 3 non inverter.. Going with Gain City although they are not exactly the cheapest around.. Painting's gonna be after the installation of air con though..

So, some updates of my renovation... My tiles are 95% up.. My tiler is the group with Ah Di in it.. One fat fat guy and 2 others which I dunno the names.. Went up once while they were at work and bought some cakes and drinks.. That's the only time I saw them.. Hahaha.. But I must say they did quite a good job with my tiles.. Will post up pictures of the tiled up place soon..

Anyways, waiting for the glass door for the kitchen to be up so that they can build the partition wall over it and lay the tiles.. I'd be boxing up my pipes at the balcony with tiles.. Joseph says its common nowadays ppl do that.. Anyways, I was skeptical cuz I dunno whether next time if there's any problem with the pipes, it would be troublesome, but he says he'll leave access areas on the box up part to access the pipes from outside.. So should be ok bah..

I'd be meeting with Joseph tomorrow morning at 10am to talk about the electrical points, I believe lighting points for false ceiling as well.. Also will be meeting up with my carpenter Ah Wei to talk about my carpentry.. Joseph is really a nice person as well.. I spoke to him about wanting my reno to be completed as fast as possible.. So he thought about it and decided to bypass getting Jason here to draw for me the sketches.. Ah Wei will provide me the sketches instead with measurements on site.. I think I saw Ah Wei's drawing here before (was it on familyof4's T-Blog?), so I'm not too worried about that as I think he can draw quite well.. Anyways, I think Joseph got 6 sense.. Hahaha.. I was just talking with Aubrey 2 nites ago about wanting to get Ah Wei as my carpenter.. And Joseph called me up this morning to tell me he will be getting Ah Wei to do up for my unit.. Hahahaha..

Things are falling into place nicely.. I was initially worried about my current tiles' grouting getting black as some parts of my house was not laid with the corrugated paper, the 2 bedrooms were not covered, but I can see they go to the room alot as the floors are quite dirty.. MBR only partly covered to form a walking path to the toilet, the rest of the floor are all quite dirty.. I told Joseph about it, he says nvm, if it cannot be cleaned, he will get them to dig out the grout and fill up with new grouting even though I did not do up my living/bedroom floors.. I hope though that non of the tiles are scratched.. Currently my living is covered with a mixture of corrugated and cardboxes of the tiles.. Can actually see some gaps on the floor.. I really cross my fingers that it won't be scratched..

Pardon me for my long winded post.. Hahaha.. :D

Edited by Metalsubzero

Wah, got bill $1.06 one ah.. Hahaha.. I think Gas will be cheaper, but by how much I dunno.. Depends on hw many baths u take per day, if storage heater and u only turn on the heater for awhile, (meaning everyone in the family showers together) would definitely cost lesser den if everyone showers at different times.. And as I'm using storage heater now, it's not exactly convenient.. I'm staying at my friend's EM, the storage heater is in his level 2 common bathroom, so the switch is outside the bathroom, whenever I wanna take a bath, I have to go out and turn on the switch.. Imagine for a 4 or 5 room HDB, to turn on the switch I must walk from my MBR out to the kitchen where my common bathroom is to turn on the switch.. And wait for 10 mins.. LOL.. I think gas should be better bah, cheaper I dunno.. That's what Citygas webby claims..

Can ask question? Regarding installing citygas gas heater, those new hdb flats already have hot and cold piping already right? So no need to spend extra $ to install hot piping right?

Citygas heater is a central heater for the whole house right? So I only need one switch to on it right? Cz I'm thinking of using the two heater points in both my bathrooms to hook up to the bathroom ventilation fans if i use citygas heater.

Aubrey: Dun need jealous la.. Uncle is doing good the carpentry for u what.. Hahaha.. Uncle very "teng" u lor.. Hahaha..

stormcontrol: Wah, new flats.. Dunno cuz we all buy resale one.. Citygas heater is a gas operated central heater.. Plus point is it is instant hot water unlike storage heaters.. But it cannot be installed in the bathroom.. Must be installed either in the service balcony or kitchen.. Cannot be covered up under the cabinet..

I dun think Citygas heater needs any electricity to run.. I read something about when the tap is turned on, water flows through, it will ignite the flame and heat up the water as it passes.. I dun think there's any heater points though.. Btw, ventilation fans nt allowed in HDB rite? I wanted to install but den hor, was told it's not allowed in HDB, of course ppl still secretly do la..

Anyways, been so long since I've updated my blog.. Have been so bz this week, everyday after work run here run there.. Sometimes when I get back to my place it's already 10pm+ at night.. And when I reach home it's already near midnight.. So, really very shagged out cuz next day still have to wake up at 7am, usually I sleep at 2-3am now, cuz I'm having a headache with my feature wall design.. But den again, I'd just update with some pictures of what went on this week later at night as I dun have them with me now..

Anyways, now I'm choosing colors for the painting also, having a headache with that too.. And yeah, finally decided to change my sys 3 aircon and install new ones, Toshiba sys 3 non inverter.. Going with Gain City although they are not exactly the cheapest around.. Painting's gonna be after the installation of air con though..

So, some updates of my renovation... My tiles are 95% up.. My tiler is the group with Ah Di in it.. One fat fat guy and 2 others which I dunno the names.. Went up once while they were at work and bought some cakes and drinks.. That's the only time I saw them.. Hahaha.. But I must say they did quite a good job with my tiles.. Will post up pictures of the tiled up place soon..

Anyways, waiting for the glass door for the kitchen to be up so that they can build the partition wall over it and lay the tiles.. I'd be boxing up my pipes at the balcony with tiles.. Joseph says its common nowadays ppl do that.. Anyways, I was skeptical cuz I dunno whether next time if there's any problem with the pipes, it would be troublesome, but he says he'll leave access areas on the box up part to access the pipes from outside.. So should be ok bah..

I'd be meeting with Joseph tomorrow morning at 10am to talk about the electrical points, I believe lighting points for false ceiling as well.. Also will be meeting up with my carpenter Ah Wei to talk about my carpentry.. Joseph is really a nice person as well.. I spoke to him about wanting my reno to be completed as fast as possible.. So he thought about it and decided to bypass getting Jason here to draw for me the sketches.. Ah Wei will provide me the sketches instead with measurements on site.. I think I saw Ah Wei's drawing here before (was it on familyof4's T-Blog?), so I'm not too worried about that as I think he can draw quite well.. Anyways, I think Joseph got 6 sense.. Hahaha.. I was just talking with Aubrey 2 nites ago about wanting to get Ah Wei as my carpenter.. And Joseph called me up this morning to tell me he will be getting Ah Wei to do up for my unit.. Hahahaha..

Things are falling into place nicely.. I was initially worried about my current tiles' grouting getting black as some parts of my house was not laid with the corrugated paper, the 2 bedrooms were not covered, but I can see they go to the room alot as the floors are quite dirty.. MBR only partly covered to form a walking path to the toilet, the rest of the floor are all quite dirty.. I told Joseph about it, he says nvm, if it cannot be cleaned, he will get them to dig out the grout and fill up with new grouting even though I did not do up my living/bedroom floors.. I hope though that non of the tiles are scratched.. Currently my living is covered with a mixture of corrugated and cardboxes of the tiles.. Can actually see some gaps on the floor.. I really cross my fingers that it won't be scratched..

Pardon me for my long winded post.. Hahaha.. :D

Yes!! It's me who uploaded Ah Wei's drawings :)

It's good that Ah Wei's doing for u...He has good knowleged and advices on things that can or cannot be done :) keep us updated on your carpentry work!

Gas will be cheaper lah, but it depends on how long it takes for the ROI for all the mixers and hot water piping. Indeed, i think if all the members in the family can shower ard the same time, the storage tank may be a better option. Like u said, the gas heater no need to turn on switch, its auto. Once the heater detects the flow of water, the 'fire' will ignite by itself. My only complain is the hot water is too hot despite turning down to the lowest temp! :(

Btw, I think u shd be quite relief now that Joseph seems to be a very gd project manager right? :)

Can ask question? Regarding installing citygas gas heater, those new hdb flats already have hot and cold piping already right? So no need to spend extra $ to install hot piping right?

Citygas heater is a central heater for the whole house right? So I only need one switch to on it right? Cz I'm thinking of using the two heater points in both my bathrooms to hook up to the bathroom ventilation fans if i use citygas heater.

New flats mostly comes with the piping already, hence the red n blue stickers u see all ard the toilets n kitchen. Citygas heater is central, but recommendation is to connect to only the shower points, n not all the taps in the house. Ventilation fan u'll have to ask HDB already, i have a coll whose new flat not allowed to instal ventilation fan, but still went ahead with it hush-hush. :)

Edited by mrspiglet