Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2009 blue_diamond: I think I did hear him say this to me before.. Okok, I will tell him later! Hahaha.. Yah lor, it's better I let him know den to bottle up any frustrations or unhappiness.. ocheeeng: $20 ah, hmm, I foresee anythin around $50.. Cuz I have much more.. familyof4: Hahaha, yah, workers scared of him.. He told me before.. I havent seen him ranting at the workers yet.. But I can tell he's firm on them.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 22, 2009 Metal i dunno what's my tiler's name, but its a m'sian with a group of younger m'sian workers doing the job with him. Looks a little like PRC thou. Rembr to tell them exactly what grouting colors u want, else by default they will do white! but when i ask them to dig out my wall's grouting and redo as grey, they did not give me any black face. As for bills, my hacking was ard $3. But the following mth where all the plumbing/tiling went on, plus a burst water pipe gushing whole night, my water only was $40+!!! Electrical wise was only ard $8+. Keep ur aircon and unplug the aircon socket ok? its not being stingy, i think they should be expecting to sweat it out in any reno works instead of enjoying the aircon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2009 with the dust and all, it;ll choke the aircon easier isn't it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2009 Anyways, anyone can share how much your electricity bills costs during the duration of your renovations? Metal: Just got my bill for this month yesterday and it was closed to $30. There were two occasions when I have to switch off the lights in the bathroom and one occasion was the water didnt turn off fully. I do not know if it's the worker or some visitor and so didn't mentioned to uncle. I was reading your blog and share your sentiments. I was having problems on the progress and spoken to uncle. Immediately today my place has many activities. I also mentioned about my problem of renting a place. May I suggest you talk to him to expedite. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2009 mm my bill was less than $50 also... but I don't rem how much. Towards the end... the electrician didn't wire my toilet light and my toilet light was on for 24 hours... 3 days consecutive. haha lalalallaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 23, 2009 I've only seen one project by Ah Soon before, which was the one at Eunos which finished sometime back.. Ooh, early june.. So I think u'd most probably have to decide soon.. Anyways, here's a update of my purchases.. Basically, almost everything except lights and curtains have been covered, and probably some smaller things like study table and drawers need to scout for it.. Bought all kitchen and toilet neccessities, fridge, washing machine, microwave, tv, home theatre, bed, sofa, dining, ceiling fans.. All done, so now only have to monitor the reno liao... Hehe, I'm also gan jiong like guy77, but den hor, he more power, cuz his curtains already decide liao.. Hahaha, think I will go MGL too, any1 has any idea what's included in the 4 room package? It seems quite cheap.. Hopefully I can save some $$ on curtains.. Anyways, after some "professional" advice from my brother in law, he suggested us to stick with our current Air Con.. Save some money, cuz $ no enough.. Haha... I know I can live with it, just dunno how long it will last, and it looks orbiang.. But even if I keep my current pipings I think also gonna set back another 1.3-1.5k just for the system 3 set... Metal , so did you bought samsung fridge in the end ? I bought mine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Hey supersimon27, I ended up buying the smaller Samsung RT58EAMT, my kitchen is simply too small to accomodate the RT72KASE, the model which I bought is already quite big.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Wah, very long nv update liao.. Cuz too tired.. Hahaha.. Day 4 (Saturday, 23 May) - Nothing much going on.. A tiler by the name of Ah Di is there to smoothen the walls (apply cement?) or stuffs, to prepare for the laying of tiles! Yipee.. Day 5 (Monday, 25 May) - Tiles are up, common bathroom wall tiles are half up, kitchen also half up, MBR toilet also half up! Hahahaha.. They laid the waterproofing membrane overnight.. I guess they will be tiling the floors soon.. Joseph told me there are 4 tilers working.. I didn't have the time to go up and check but I can see the tiling job was quite nicely done up.. I have some pics but I can't upload them now.. So I'd upload them tonight.. Hahaha.. Anyways, one question.. Anyone using Citygas Heater? I wanna try it, is it really energy efficient? And can it be placed in the bathroom? Or must it be at a dry area like the kitchen? Hopefully can change the water heaters I bought from Hoe Kee for Rainshowers and mixers instead.. I think they will be more den happy.. I'm just worried how the heater will look if it can't be placed in the bathroom, seems very messy, pipes everywhere and it can't be concealed in cabinets.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 seems like your progress is on track too Joseph is Boh Geh right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 I'm just worried how the heater will look if it can't be placed in the bathroom, seems very messy, pipes everywhere and it can't be concealed in cabinets.. If you are using rainshower, definitely there will be more pipes. Important thing is to plan where is the location of your heater as well. It is best to discuss with the plumber on the layout. My finalised discussion with the pm and the result after plumber installed is totally different. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 familyof4: Yup.. Seems like its getting back on track.. Joseph is boh geh lor.. I think he's a very nice person as well.. Maybe becuz he's influenced by Ah Soon? Hahaha.. gaku70: I think I'm skipping the idea and going with instant heater.. Hope I wont regret.. 2 instant heaters and 2 two-way taps sets me back by around $500.. A rainshower alone sets me back by around $400? Still have to get 2 mixers, and another shower set.. So It'll most probably set me back by $700 at least? Then there's either storage heater which will be around $200 or if I'm choosing Citygas heater, it's $190 + $60 installation.. Plus, Uncle says if I don't do the hot piping, it'll be $200 lesser.. So all in all if I choose storage/Citygas, I'd be blowing at least $600 more.. Hahaha.. Moreover, we are fine with instant heater.. So...... Think dat's decided as that.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 As my renovation is gonna go to the critical period soon, can I have the Ah Soon fan club members help me list down the rectifications you guys have faced so that I can keep a look out for it? Hahaha.. I tried scanning through all the T-Blogs, but it takes me alot of time, especially so for those T-blogs with more den 10 pages.. Hahahaha.. Moreover, sometimes when I read, I will read on and on and it'll take me hours! Hahaha.. So, will really appreciate if I can get some help? Really paiseh.. I hope I can contribute more in the future as well.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 familyof4: Yup.. Seems like its getting back on track.. Joseph is boh geh lor.. I think he's a very nice person as well.. Maybe becuz he's influenced by Ah Soon? Hahaha.. gaku70: I think I'm skipping the idea and going with instant heater.. Hope I wont regret.. 2 instant heaters and 2 two-way taps sets me back by around $500.. A rainshower alone sets me back by around $400? Still have to get 2 mixers, and another shower set.. So It'll most probably set me back by $700 at least? Then there's either storage heater which will be around $200 or if I'm choosing Citygas heater, it's $190 + $60 installation.. Plus, Uncle says if I don't do the hot piping, it'll be $200 lesser.. So all in all if I choose storage/Citygas, I'd be blowing at least $600 more.. Hahaha.. Moreover, we are fine with instant heater.. So...... Think dat's decided as that.. wah...Metal...how come use citygas so expensive huh?Need to do hot piping for it?what is hot piping ley? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 (edited) blue_diamond: Maybe I wasn't clear.. I'd do a breakdown of costs (Rough estimates) Instant Heater Water Heater x 2 = $400 2 Way Taps x 2 = $100 Total = $500 Citygas Heater Rinnai Citygas Heater x 1 = $190 Installation for Gas Pipings to heater = $60 Rainshower set for MBR = $400 Normal shower set for common BR = $100 Mixers x 2 = $150 Total = $900 If I don't do hot water piping I'd save $200 from what I was initially quoted by Uncle Soon.. So total costs for setting up the Citygas heater will be $900 + $200 = $1100 which is $600 more den the instant heater setup.. These are just brief estimates, but figures should not deviate much.. Setting up storage heaters will most definitely be around twice as expensive to setup instant heaters.. Maybe those who has storage or gas heaters *edit* "and rainshower" can confirm this? Hahaha.. Edited May 26, 2009 by Metalsubzero Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 ok just to share my cost: MBR: Rainshower set with mixer: $350 Storage heater: $200 Common bath: Instant heater: $160 Additional hot piping no charge since not very long. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites