preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 preciousjam: Thanks! I also think so, Hmm, somemore there's a touch of fengshui involved.. Really appreciative man.. usually when they quote the false ceilings, its to cover all regardless of design change.... soi think should be no problem to do that design...i've changed my design a few times,all accepted...now doing up liao....the whole false ceiling at the dining has many DL...maybe if for passageway,no need to do so many.....and get some 2x18 and2x13 to play around...there are some DL which can accomodate both 2x13 and 2x18 without compromising on the size...so your false ceiling will look uniform... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 (edited) newnyew: Wow, thanks for the reply.. And thanks for taking the time to draw out ur suggestion.. Very nice!!! I'm gonna ask my wife and if she likes it too den we'd ask Joseph need to add money or not, cuz it's such a big piece of false ceiling.. Hahaha.. Metalsubzero I will pick newnyew's design as well. Ur living/dining layout is similar to mine, and i dun think u'll need double tube. I had 12 2x13W evenly spread across my 7mx5m living room (with the stupid beam in the middle as well! ) and most of the time we only turn on 2 downlights n its bright enough for watching TV. Rest of my 10 downlights are sitting there doing nothing. So i would rather distribute the lighting a little, with 1 switch to more single tube downlights. Ur front door directly faces the kitchen so must block out right? Edited May 20, 2009 by mrspiglet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 preciousjam: I hope so too.. I done up so many alternatives and shown it to Joseph liao.. I want to get Uncle Soon's opinions though.. But den like very hard to see him leh.. Wanted to get opinions from him about the feature tiles in my MBR toilet too.. Dunno when can see him sia... MrsPiglet: Seems like everyone supports newnyew's design.. LOL.. My designs so bad ah.. LOL.. Hmm, there are downlights with single tubes ah?? Den I think I'd mix and match once I've confirmed my false ceiling.. Just spoke to wifey about newnyew's idea.. She says won't the ceiling be too low? Yah lor, front door directly faces the kitchen, from some angles can see the kitchen sink even.. So FSM say best is to block the view of the kitchen.. Uncle gave me package deal of 7ft shoe cabinet + 2 ft cushion with storage below, changing of all switches to designer switches for whole house + the Wood and glass partition in front of the door for $1500... Originally was quoted at $700 + $400 + $800 = $1900.. I was hesistant but was ready to accept, den he dropped the price to $1500 even without me asking, really very nice.. Even Joseph agrees it's a very good price... But hor, your switches all changed for free rite? Dunno why he quote me $400.. You did rewiring for your whole house? I think maybe becuz I didnt do, so he charged me lor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 newnyew: Wow, thanks for the reply.. And thanks for taking the time to draw out ur suggestion.. Very nice!!! I'm gonna ask my wife and if she likes it too den we'd ask Joseph need to add money or not, cuz it's such a big piece of false ceiling.. Hahaha.. haha no prob la, i cannot sleep ma. i also think if such a big piece its gonna be v ex but, if it looks nice, why not? i supposed, they prefer my design because it looks neater, not because u cannot design la. In short, less clutter, less complicated designs = good fengshui Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 usually when they quote the false ceilings, its to cover all regardless of design change.... soi think should be no problem to do that design...i've changed my design a few times,all accepted...now doing up liao....the whole false ceiling at the dining has many DL...maybe if for passageway,no need to do so many.....and get some 2x18 and2x13 to play around...there are some DL which can accomodate both 2x13 and 2x18 without compromising on the size...so your false ceiling will look uniform... If buying DL that can accomdate both 2x13 and 2x18, make sure that the ballasts are 18W ones. If you get 13W ones to support 18W, they won't light or won't last. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 preciousjam: I hope so too.. I done up so many alternatives and shown it to Joseph liao.. I want to get Uncle Soon's opinions though.. But den like very hard to see him leh.. Wanted to get opinions from him about the feature tiles in my MBR toilet too.. Dunno when can see him sia... MrsPiglet: Seems like everyone supports newnyew's design.. LOL.. My designs so bad ah.. LOL.. Hmm, there are downlights with single tubes ah?? Den I think I'd mix and match once I've confirmed my false ceiling.. Just spoke to wifey about newnyew's idea.. She says won't the ceiling be too low? Yah lor, front door directly faces the kitchen, from some angles can see the kitchen sink even.. So FSM say best is to block the view of the kitchen.. Uncle gave me package deal of 7ft shoe cabinet + 2 ft cushion with storage below, changing of all switches to designer switches for whole house + the Wood and glass partition in front of the door for $1500... Originally was quoted at $700 + $400 + $800 = $1900.. I was hesistant but was ready to accept, den he dropped the price to $1500 even without me asking, really very nice.. Even Joseph agrees it's a very good price... But hor, your switches all changed for free rite? Dunno why he quote me $400.. You did rewiring for your whole house? I think maybe becuz I didnt do, so he charged me lor.. Smallest ones are single tube 10W. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 (edited) Metalsubzero haha! not that ur design is bad lah, just that i prefer more evenly spread lights, personal preference only. I was thinking, with more switches to control single tube DLs, even if u on 4 10W at one time its still lower than turning on 2 of 2x13W. And more corners of the room will be lighted up. U can just do a flat false ceiling without L-box, I think the ceiling height shd still be ok. Actually i also quite like ur Design 3, but just worried that the centre portion not bright enough, otherwise its 7ft shoe cabinet is VERY long!! *envy* My 4ft already filled up liao, some still needs to go to the storeroom. i'm not sure how the electrical works is counted now, cos Pinkpetter was charged for it too but mine was thrown in FOC. Both of us didnt do re-wiring, uncle said my house still new, no need to do major overhaul. Oh ya, my false ceiling lightings were included in the false ceiling costing thou. Edited May 20, 2009 by mrspiglet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 Metalsubzero haha! not that ur design is bad lah, just that i prefer more evenly spread lights, personal preference only. I was thinking, with more switches to control single tube DLs, even if u on 4 10W at one time its still lower than turning on 2 of 2x13W. And more corners of the room will be lighted up. U can just do a flat false ceiling without L-box, I think the ceiling height shd still be ok. Actually i also quite like ur Design 3, but just worried that the centre portion not bright enough, otherwise its 7ft shoe cabinet is VERY long!! *envy* My 4ft already filled up liao, some still needs to go to the storeroom. i'm not sure how the electrical works is counted now, cos Pinkpetter was charged for it too but mine was thrown in FOC. Both of us didnt do re-wiring, uncle said my house still new, no need to do major overhaul. Oh ya, my false ceiling lightings were included in the false ceiling costing thou. Oh.. ooh.. Ok, so problems with my design is centre portion not bright enough la.. But I feel with the amount of lights and the T5 lightings should be bright enough leh.. 7 Ft low low one only la.. Dun need envy la... Hahaha, my shoes not a lot, wifey got more.. Hahaha.. U know, women.. Hahahaha.. Ur false ceiling lightings were included?? Wah.. Dat's why I say my quotation seems like lightings are included.. Think gonna ask properly again.. LOL.. U mind taking another look at my quotation? It really sounds like lightings are included.. I really must ask Uncle again.. I hope they are.. Here are the 4 lines in my quotation for the false ceilings.. Point 25 and 27 makes it sound like lightings are included.. 24 Supply & install 2 set of false ceiling c/w lighting point **** room area 25 Supply & install 22 lighting c/w light holder a& wiring **** room area 26 Supply & install 1 set of TV cabinet c/w partition wall with wall feature 27 Supply & install 1 set of down light at master bedroom What do u guys think? Supply and install 22 lightings c/w light holder (down lights and T5?), Supply and install 1 set of downlight at MBR (1 set of downlights means the lights rite?) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 haha no prob la, i cannot sleep ma. i also think if such a big piece its gonna be v ex but, if it looks nice, why not? i supposed, they prefer my design because it looks neater, not because u cannot design la. In short, less clutter, less complicated designs = good fengshui LOL.. Thanks again.. Yeah, looks nice, price can be negotiated, esp with uncle.. Hahaha.. Yeah, neater.. And more evenly spread lights.. My design 4 actually I wanted to put more downlights to make it look more even one, but wifey say 2 enough.. Dat's why I say lights are just guesstimation.. I agree, less clutter, less complicated designs = good fengshui + less headache!! Hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 If buying DL that can accomdate both 2x13 and 2x18, make sure that the ballasts are 18W ones. If you get 13W ones to support 18W, they won't light or won't last. Smallest ones are single tube 10W. Thanks ocheeeng.. I hope my lights are included in my reno though.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 looking at your quotation, lights should be inclusive but its best you confirm one more time.... your design also ok la...i guess it just so happens the people who reply you prefer newnyew design...me i'm doing false ceiling throughout the living, dining, cosy area, dry area of kitchen and passageway..with l box in living and dining...went up to see today...not too low lei...still quite a comfy height...maybe you can let ah soon know the height you prefer so they can adjust for you.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 Metalsubzero My shoe cabinet only 4ft and half height too! I've filled up my 2ft and hub generously willing to spare me his last row, but still not enough! So a lot of shoes still hiding in storeroom. I think urs comes with lighting for false ceiling liao. I tot u only doing L-box? So its L-box with cove lighting ah? Anyway could it be possible that uncle is charging $400 for the additional powerpoints and changing of other power/light sockets? Think better to double check again... i know mine was all bundled in cos i didnt negotiate much on the final price, was like everything thrown in liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 mrspiglet: After reading and reading, I really think that lightings are included in the quote.. Urm, L-Box doesn't come with cove lights rite? And L boxes are quite low (as in thick).. What I want in the living room is something as thin as possible to accomodate the cove lightings... Dunno dat is called L box with cove lights or false ceiling with cove lights.. I think anyway goes la.. Hahaha.. But I always call that false ceiling.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 ya, i think it really covers lighting. Ask uncle to clarify wat the additional charges are for? If i'm not wrong abt the terminology, L-box is those thick thick ones u referring to. Typically to hide water/gas pipes that runs across the living room. I had that on wall where my sofa is placed, but the rest of the living room is pure flat false ceiling. I think u'll have to tell uncle u wan cove lighting where the downlights are leh. Anyway, with ur cove lightings, confirm single tube is sufficient liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2009 mrspiglet Oh, uncle knows I want cove lightings.. Actually, he was the one whom suggested it.. The living side as per my drawings are confirmed.. The white lines on the false ceiling actually represents the cove lights lor.. Hahaha.. But single or double tube must tell Uncle right (if he's covering the lightings)?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites