Metalsubzero

Looking Forward To Our First Home...

Metal , did you manage to see the display set of Samsung RT72KASE ?

I want to get this model but currently it's out of stock from everjoint and goh ar bee.

Wonder you know which shop still have ?

Regards

Simon

Supersimon27 - I've seen the display of the fridge at Best Denki Century Square at Tampines.. Most shops are out of stock for this model already.. I can't remember exactly which shop I went to that still has stock.. It should be Best Denki Parkway Parade if I'm not wrong..

Anyways, I'm giving up the fridge already cuz it's way too big for me.. If it were a bit taller and shorter on the width still ok, this model is almost as big (probably 1 or 2 cms shorter) then side by side doors refrigerators.. And as you can see, my kitchen is too small to accomodate it.. Summore alot of ppl commented white very difficult to maintain, but if I'm gonna maintain my future cabinets which are gonna be white, I'm sure I can maintain the white on the fridge.. Hahaha.. And yeah, the display outside the freezer is very nice, one of the nicest temperature control display I've seen on a fridge..

Hi Mrs Piglet,

The 2 layer dish-drainer, how much did u get it? Are u doing a pull-down cabinet to hide the dish-drainer? What is the dimensions of the cabinet needed huh? Does this type of dish-drainers come in standard length?

Hi enivi! The dish drainer was FOC from contractor leh, i dunno how much it cost and whats the length wor. This pic was taken b4 the carpentry was completed, so the finish product has a glass panel over the dish drainer.

Ok, we met up with uncle today at our new place at 8pm and he brought along someone called Joseph.. He told me and wifey that Joseph will be the one who will be handling our project (means pass over to him).. I'm actually not very keen on the idea (dat is after I came home).. Thinking why we decided to choose him in the first place.. I think it's becuz we trusted him.. Now he's subb-ing it out sum1 else, I'm afraid there might be problems and Uncle will not be in the loop most of the time as Joseph will be the one handling the bulk of our reno.. So do u guys think I should just tell Uncle straight dat I want him to b the one supervising our works? He says he don't have the time to handle so many projects, but a few weeks before, he said he should be ok for the month of May.. I wonder how many jobs he had since taken up since our 2nd visit.. He seemed confident dat time he should not be very bz around this period, but turns out he's freakin bz now...

I don't wanna risk having to spend more time on the reno den needed, I don't wanna risk dealing with another person whom I've never heard of and never had any testimonials of.. Not dat I'm doubting his credentials, I'm sure Ah Soon has trust in him to put his reputation in his hands, but I believe a bulk of you guys who picked Ah Soon would actually want him to be the person coordinating and not another person.. I just don't feel right.. Somemore I think Ah Soon can "keng" better with him..

What do u guys think? Am I being picky over this.? He did say Joseph will be handling the works but if there are any rectifications look for him straight.. So is that an assurance or wat?

Sigh, pondering now.. I think I wanna tell him to really be the one who take care of reno..

Anyways, we discussed some issues, realised still have some works to do.. But gonna add around $1.5k for the works.. Which is a lot, considering our bank loan was not approved (both wifey and me in sales.. -_- they say variable income portion too high, tried so many banks..) $1.5k is for a partition infront of the main door blocking view of kitchen door, shoe cabinet 7 feet plus around 2 feet of the cushion seat with storage and also changing of all switches and minor electrical works.. Hmm, I thought alot of you guys got the switches free? He did give me a few free, but den dunno why he's still charging me $400 for it.. It's $400 for switches and electrical works, $800 for the partition wall and $700 for the cabinet with glass top.. $1900, he discounted to $1500 to entice me take the deal.. Still pondering though.. THe partition seems expensive, but it's deemed necessary as our FSM says better to get something between the kitchen door and main door.. Maybe money no enough will put string curtains liao la.. -___-"

Anyways, we discussed some parts, he say both toilets free accessories, but I dunno whether I want all the accessories leh.. Those 7-in-1 ones seems very "cheap" looking.. We discussed about solar films, which is dropping off for our MBR windows and another bedroom's windows.. He said will intro a contact to liaise straight with.. He said will help us do up the shelving in the storeroom (which we know he will, seems standard), he says will help us smoothen the ceiling (I suppose minor plastering?) for those area where we are doing cove lightings as the T5 lights shining on uneven surface will be fugly.. He confirmed helping us change locks and knob for the main door and door viewer.. He will also provide a Unit No. tag, those hanging type for us FOC.. I'm hoping to get granite top changed FOC, lol.. Wah, I almost forgot he said he will take out $200 from the quote cuz we only doing Cold water piping.. LOL..

I now have another worrying problem, the area where the laundry is hung on the ceiling has to accomodate a new cabinet and thus the area for hanging laundry will shorten.. Take a look at my floorplan, my laundry will be hung outside someone opp where the air con vent is, which is outside the small window(which looks like a door on the floor plan) in my MBR.. If I shorten the distance, means my bamboo also have to shorten, Joseph measured the distance, and it's only just nice.. Im worried it wouldn't be long enough or only just nice, sekali wind blow the bamboo drop down.. LOL.. I tink have to confirm, if not have to get those laundry system like what MrsPiglet is having..

And I'm contemplating moving the fridge from our originally planned position to another place so that we can have more cabinet space.. BUt dunno how it'll look.. Sianz.. Fan ah fan ah..

Anyways, I think reno earliest can only start next MOnday.. My FSM only free on Saturday to see me sia.. Very sianz.. This last minute FSM consultation is dragging our reno back.. Ugh..

Wish me luck! And good luck to everyone reading too.. :)

i believe you can discuss with ah soon over your concerns and see if you guys can work out something....

try not to shorten bamboo...i just had one bamboo came crashing down from upstairs when i was putting out the laundry...scary lei....the bamboo dropped all the way to 1st floor....

your FSM very busy hor, must be good biz...I hope that everything for you goes smoothly and monday on can start see reno photos...

Edited by preciousjam

i believe you can discuss with ah soon over your concerns and see if you guys can work out something....

try not to shorten bamboo...i just had one bamboo came crashing down from upstairs when i was putting out the laundry...scary lei....the bamboo dropped all the way to 1st floor....

your FSM very busy hor, must be good biz...I hope that everything for you goes smoothly and monday on can start see reno photos...

Yah, I will discuss with Ah Soon my concerns lor..

Dat's my worry, I scared the bamboo drop, if really can't then have to get the laundry system liao, but at least set me back by a few hundred.. -__- If drop all the way down nvm, what if drop halfway onto someone's level? Hahaha, so paiseh have to go knock on door and tell them my bamboo dropped to the ledge outside your window.. LOL..

Yah lo, my FSM say full until Saturday sia.. Crossing my fingers that my tiles colors can be used.. Anyways thanks.. And I'm sure hoping it'll be a smooth ride..

How do you feel about this new guy?

Pet, dunno leh.. Actually nuthin much to comment since it was just a brieft 1 hr session we had.. He seemed more like an assistant to Ah Soon or sort.. Something like a right hand man or sumthin, I've never heard about him before actually.. Anyone had any dealings with him before? If he's as good/responsible as Ah Soon den I'm ok, but I dun wanna find out myself dat he's not up to par or sorts.. Would appreciate any feedback anyone has about him.. Ah Soon says he's handing or have handed some projects in the north east (SK and Punggol area) to him.. Was hoping I can get some feedback about him so dat I can better decide if he's the man I can trust..

Anyways, I've promised my friend I would help him do some publicity about his new shop at Novena, might be useful to some of you whom are looking towards buying decals.. I believe customisation should be available.. His number is on this webby, can call and ask.. I'm thinking of getting some from him too for my glass door for the kitchen and also see where else I can place any other decals.. Anyways, here's the webby..

EZ-Decor

Good luck.. :)

Metal, initially uncle wanted to hand my project to another guy (not sure if it's to Joseph). I told him that I would still very much prefer he jaga my project and told him I choose him because I trust him to overlook the reno. He assures me that the guy is also good, and someone he can trust, but my point is, I do not trust the new guy. I know uncle is super busy...I also do not mind juggling part of the reno like coordinating etc...but i feel more comfy with him :)

Just tell uncle regarding your reno budget and see if he can help you trim down a little more? He is very nice...when i add this, add that, in the end burst budget he'll throw in freebies just to help me achieve my dream house :)

Good Luck to u!

Metalsubzero

Hmm, how's ur dealing with Joseph so far? I think Uncle sub out the project once he finishes negotiating the deal, which is why most of us work with Jason instead. But now that even Jason is overloaded, probably explains why new names start appearing.

Since this Joseph is new, hopefully he'll be very 'on the ball'? I believe Uncle will still be aware of what's going on, and if there's any major issues, i think u can still go straight to Uncle for rectifications. Since afterall, it is still his reputation at stake?

For ur shoe cabinet, i think its ok leh. I did 4ft (half height) for $400, although in the end Jason did the cushion seat extension for me FOC. So 7ft @$700 sounds reasonable to me. As for ur electrical works, did u do re-wiring, or just chge the socket cover? If ur reno loan is a problem, can always discuss with uncle n work out something. i heard from Uncle that he allows some of the customers to delay last payment if they have a problem with loan, so that may help u a little.

FYI to help u in planning, solar film will be done by Robin, the wallpaper guy. He quoted me $700 for my 4A, just privacy film, not the blue solar film. Do rembr to check if he is able to provide the US film, that will not shrink according to my curtains maker. The Taiwan ones will shrink.. so its a little too late for me. If u wan alternative quote, can PM me for the contacts.

i'm always an advocate for laundry systems. 怕死 :P haha! actually the most frightening part is not dropping the bamboo, but hanging there halfway, cannot put out cannot pull in.. if u know wat i mean.

Hope everything goes smoothly for u! And get some sleep... dun post so late!

Metal, initially uncle wanted to hand my project to another guy (not sure if it's to Joseph). I told him that I would still very much prefer he jaga my project and told him I choose him because I trust him to overlook the reno. He assures me that the guy is also good, and someone he can trust, but my point is, I do not trust the new guy. I know uncle is super busy...I also do not mind juggling part of the reno like coordinating etc...but i feel more comfy with him :)

Just tell uncle regarding your reno budget and see if he can help you trim down a little more? He is very nice...when i add this, add that, in the end burst budget he'll throw in freebies just to help me achieve my dream house :)

Good Luck to u!

Yah lo, exactly my sentiments.. So in the end, Ah Soon oversaw your reno?

I think have to tell him lor, right now even before adding the top up for the granite it's already $23800.. Sianz.. I hope he can either help me trim the sum or maybe throw in some freebies to entice me to take up without consideration.. Hahaha..

Edited by Metalsubzero

Metalsubzero

Hmm, how's ur dealing with Joseph so far? I think Uncle sub out the project once he finishes negotiating the deal, which is why most of us work with Jason instead. But now that even Jason is overloaded, probably explains why new names start appearing.

Since this Joseph is new, hopefully he'll be very 'on the ball'? I believe Uncle will still be aware of what's going on, and if there's any major issues, i think u can still go straight to Uncle for rectifications. Since afterall, it is still his reputation at stake?

Actually, havent had much dealings yet leh.. Just that brief encounter yesterday to discuss and reconfirm what I want.. I certainly hope he'd be on the ball if I do let him oversee oour reno in the end.. Yah, the good thing is Ah Soon will still be in the loop, albeit not as active..

For ur shoe cabinet, i think its ok leh. I did 4ft (half height) for $400, although in the end Jason did the cushion seat extension for me FOC. So 7ft @$700 sounds reasonable to me. As for ur electrical works, did u do re-wiring, or just chge the socket cover? If ur reno loan is a problem, can always discuss with uncle n work out something. i heard from Uncle that he allows some of the customers to delay last payment if they have a problem with loan, so that may help u a little.

Mine is not even half height leh.. LOL.. Actually about the same as urs la, below the windows.. so it actually stretches from somewhere near the door to the centre beam in my living/dining.. Re-wiring is minimal, probably just shifting some points here and there and change all the socket covers lor.. Maybe add a few points here and there, and he said he charge me $400 lump sum.. Actually I've given up on the reno loan, so now definitely paying by cash.. Will work out with Ah Soon cuz I mentioned to him yesterday and he's quite flexi with payment..

FYI to help u in planning, solar film will be done by Robin, the wallpaper guy. He quoted me $700 for my 4A, just privacy film, not the blue solar film. Do rembr to check if he is able to provide the US film, that will not shrink according to my curtains maker. The Taiwan ones will shrink.. so its a little too late for me. If u wan alternative quote, can PM me for the contacts.

Wah, $700 lidat liao ah.. Taiwan one summore? Den US one will be above $1k or close to it? I dun need blue films cuz my windows are all aluminium and bronze, those dark glass color.. Actually dun need solar film for the corridor sides also ok one, since it's north south facing..

i'm always an advocate for laundry systems. 怕死 :P haha! actually the most frightening part is not dropping the bamboo, but hanging there halfway, cannot put out cannot pull in.. if u know wat i mean.

Yes, I know what u meant.. Hahaha..

Hope everything goes smoothly for u! And get some sleep... dun post so late!

Thanks! Hahaha.. I'm used to sleeping late.. Hahaha.. Had wanted to sleep early yesterday but ended up also slept around the same time I always do.. Hahahah..

One thing to add. Jason told me not to coontact Robin as he didn't do a good job esp for smallboy/Wendy's place. If you confirm doing with Uncle, maybe you want to get the other contact from Jason?

Supersimon27 - I've seen the display of the fridge at Best Denki Century Square at Tampines.. Most shops are out of stock for this model already.. I can't remember exactly which shop I went to that still has stock.. It should be Best Denki Parkway Parade if I'm not wrong..

Anyways, I'm giving up the fridge already cuz it's way too big for me.. If it were a bit taller and shorter on the width still ok, this model is almost as big (probably 1 or 2 cms shorter) then side by side doors refrigerators.. And as you can see, my kitchen is too small to accomodate it.. Summore alot of ppl commented white very difficult to maintain, but if I'm gonna maintain my future cabinets which are gonna be white, I'm sure I can maintain the white on the fridge.. Hahaha.. And yeah, the display outside the freezer is very nice, one of the nicest temperature control display I've seen on a fridge..

True. But the fridge really look great and I'm also looking for a white fridge . Btw, try goh ah bee if u really interested again. Ha. Cos i call them up , they only selling 1180 with DVD player FOC .

But now no stock, no shipment date, Sad :(

Seems like Uncle is 'sub-bing' out some projects to Alan or Joseph liao. When I spoke to him about my sis's project, he assured me these 2 guys he trust. And anything wrong, Uncle is still around and in charge.

He said that if what these 2 guys quoted is too high or not up to your budget, call Uncle to 'tan-tan' (talk-talk).

So I hope his Ah Soon 'badge of commitment and quality' is still there. Heard that his projects are all booked till Dec liao. Super star becomes super busy!