Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 haha! which is y i rather stay near than to stay together. i know my own limits then to take up the challenge. Gd that ur friend is renting it so cheaply to u!! Tampines somemore leh, can go Tampines One n join in the crowd. hahah! Uncle also quoted me corian, but in the end i was given Bellus. To him i think its like 'pampers' = diapers. So corian = solid surface top. But since u taking granite, its not an issue to u. I think someone (was it Aubrey?) also ask for upgrade to granite and its not too ex too! Yah lor.. I actually thought can move out later one.. But den hor, really can't liao man.. Yah lor, my friend is my colleague actually.. Hahaha.. Sometimes he drives me to work even.. Hahaha.. Tampines One is boring leh! Oh.. But I remember speaking to him he did mention something about Corian better or wat la, den he say will quote me for Corian or something.. Alamak.. Have to check with him.. But den yah, since changing to granite also doesnt matter la.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 Uncle quoted states Corian but it is acutally means solid surfacing.. the brand is Bellus...... my wife had a moment of happiness when she reads Corian. I like what Mrspiglet said Pampers=diapers example. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 Alamak~!! I forgot sia.. This Saturday gotta work.. -____-"" What time will they be at ur house until ah Smallboy? I only finish work at 12pm.. Sianz.. Oh, so it's definitely not Corian but Bellus la.. But nvm la, I almost definitely want granite.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 Shopping time again.. Went to Hoe Kee at Tanjong Katong Complex as wifey's sister knows someone there.. Ended up blowing $2300 on a Fujioh Hob and Hood, 2 American Standard WCs, 1 American Standard square countertop basin for the MBR bathroom with KrizRoz waterfall mixer, 1 glass basin with steel support and a $50 mixer for the common bathroom & 1 Roz Kitchen sink with some ulu brand mixer(but nice) Hahaha.. Anyone has any feedbacks on the inhouse brand Roz and KrisRoz from Hoe Kee? We're actually quite impulsive in our buys.. Tried to dissuade my wife from gettin it so soon, but becuz we know the SA (Btw, it was not the friend who served us, dunno got kena chopped carrot head or not.. Hahaha) so we went ahead lor.. I think it's quite expensive though, the fujioh hob and hood is already around $800 odd before discount, the 2 AMS WCs are $320 each before discount.. Anyways, we went from 7pm until 9pm and they were already closing.. We still havent decided on storage or instant heater leh.. Really duno want which one.. If I get an instant, I would only need 2 2-way taps and 2 instant heaters, whereas if i buy a Storage, I will need 1 storage heater, 2 shower sets and 2 mixers which is almost twice the price of going with instant.. Not to forget, the pipings would be more expensive.. I was quoted by Ah Soon for hot and cold piping, do u guys think the price can be reduced if I were to do only cold piping?? Now the only major purchases I'm left with are the electrical appliances.. And I havent had the time to see the tiles yet.. My 2nd appointment is next friday, wifey says go see next thursday as this weekend will be at M'sia.. -___-" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 Shopping time again.. Went to Hoe Kee at Tanjong Katong Complex as wifey's sister knows someone there.. Ended up blowing $2300 on a Fujioh Hob and Hood, 2 American Standard WCs, 1 American Standard square countertop basin for the MBR bathroom with KrizRoz waterfall mixer, 1 glass basin with steel support and a $50 mixer for the common bathroom & 1 Roz Kitchen sink with some ulu brand mixer(but nice) Hahaha.. Anyone has any feedbacks on the inhouse brand Roz and KrisRoz from Hoe Kee? We're actually quite impulsive in our buys.. Tried to dissuade my wife from gettin it so soon, but becuz we know the SA (Btw, it was not the friend who served us, dunno got kena chopped carrot head or not.. Hahaha) so we went ahead lor.. I think it's quite expensive though, the fujioh hob and hood is already around $800 odd before discount, the 2 AMS WCs are $320 each before discount.. Anyways, we went from 7pm until 9pm and they were already closing.. We still havent decided on storage or instant heater leh.. Really duno want which one.. If I get an instant, I would only need 2 2-way taps and 2 instant heaters, whereas if i buy a Storage, I will need 1 storage heater, 2 shower sets and 2 mixers which is almost twice the price of going with instant.. Not to forget, the pipings would be more expensive.. I was quoted by Ah Soon for hot and cold piping, do u guys think the price can be reduced if I were to do only cold piping?? Now the only major purchases I'm left with are the electrical appliances.. And I havent had the time to see the tiles yet.. My 2nd appointment is next friday, wifey says go see next thursday as this weekend will be at M'sia.. -___-" if just doing cold piping, it should be cheaper...based on the quotations I've been given...I wanted to have instant storage heater initially (coz left behind by previous owner-pretty new) but in the end we figure it's probably gonna cost us more in electrical bills...my dad always complain to me about storage heater waste money...so now we are getting instant heater and it seems that this Alpha brand is quite good... So excited right when 2nd apt approaching...me too... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 (edited) if just doing cold piping, it should be cheaper...based on the quotations I've been given...I wanted to have instant storage heater initially (coz left behind by previous owner-pretty new) but in the end we figure it's probably gonna cost us more in electrical bills...my dad always complain to me about storage heater waste money...so now we are getting instant heater and it seems that this Alpha brand is quite good... So excited right when 2nd apt approaching...me too... Actually the SA told me that there is not too substantial a difference for electrical bills between storage and instant.. He told me people have the misconception that Storage uses more than Instant as they appear bulky.. He says the power consumption for storage is lower den instant (I'm not sure if he's rite) and there's a thermostat installed in most storage heaters so they dun overheat, and that thermostat controls the consumption of electricity.. I gong gong listen to him lor.. Dunno how true it is.. But he seems to be trying to sell the storage heater to me so that he can earn more from me.. Hahaha.. Anyways, wifey wants instant, but I want my rain shower.. Hahahaha.. *Edit: Yah lor, excited, but headache coming.. Hahaha.. Edited April 28, 2009 by Metalsubzero Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 Actually the SA told me that there is not too substantial a difference for electrical bills between storage and instant.. He told me people have the misconception that Storage uses more than Instant as they appear bulky.. He says the power consumption for storage is lower den instant (I'm not sure if he's rite) and there's a thermostat installed in most storage heaters so they dun overheat, and that thermostat controls the consumption of electricity.. I gong gong listen to him lor.. Dunno how true it is.. But he seems to be trying to sell the storage heater to me so that he can earn more from me.. Hahaha.. Anyways, wifey wants instant, but I want my rain shower.. Hahahaha.. *Edit: Yah lor, excited, but headache coming.. Hahaha.. that's what I've heard so far from all those sales staff...one of them even told me if you leave the heater on whole day, you actually save money... really don't know how true...now i'm in dilemma again.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 metal, im like u now, rushing here and there when works is to be started on 4th may. best part is sometimes uncle verbally tells me dont worry included in quote but now tells me have to add on for it. -_- it doesnt help me cos i have a super tight budget to fulfill. hope to get 25k to cover reno and buying at least essential kitchen stuff (hob/hood/oven) so i cannot afford to have his quote fluctuate. and yea, i asked about granite when we were on the topic of worktops, he FOC the difference from solid surface to granite for me. lets jiayou tgt! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2009 metal, im like u now, rushing here and there when works is to be started on 4th may. best part is sometimes uncle verbally tells me dont worry included in quote but now tells me have to add on for it. -_- it doesnt help me cos i have a super tight budget to fulfill. hope to get 25k to cover reno and buying at least essential kitchen stuff (hob/hood/oven) so i cannot afford to have his quote fluctuate. and yea, i asked about granite when we were on the topic of worktops, he FOC the difference from solid surface to granite for me. lets jiayou tgt! 4th May, which is next monday! Feeling excited for u! Hahaha.. Hmm, maybe u talk to him again lor.. Or he really forgotten? But I think if he can cover his cost he sure will FOC for u one, if really cannot den i think he also will bo pian ask u to add for it lor.. WAH!!! Den I also must ask him liao.. Hahaha.. Cuz now I think Im going for instant heater, den shouldnt need hot water piping already.. So maybe can ask him change solid top to granite for me and add a shoe cabinet.. Hahaha.. Maybe top up abit? I hope can sia.. Jia You!! Hehehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 Actually the SA told me that there is not too substantial a difference for electrical bills between storage and instant.. He told me people have the misconception that Storage uses more than Instant as they appear bulky.. He says the power consumption for storage is lower den instant (I'm not sure if he's rite) and there's a thermostat installed in most storage heaters so they dun overheat, and that thermostat controls the consumption of electricity.. I gong gong listen to him lor.. Dunno how true it is.. But he seems to be trying to sell the storage heater to me so that he can earn more from me.. Hahaha.. Anyways, wifey wants instant, but I want my rain shower.. Hahahaha.. *Edit: Yah lor, excited, but headache coming.. Hahaha.. the physics aside, wat i gather from the pple that's using storage tank in my office is telling me the same thing, that it is only efficient for the storage tank if most of the family members shower ard the same time. In that case will only turn on the heater once, heat up the whole tank, off it, n let it last for all the family member's shower. But if everyone showers at diff time of the day, instant heater will definitely be more efficient in terms of $. Anyway, 4 more days to ur 2nd appt! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Metal... you got your keys today???? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Wah.. Yes Pet!!! I got my keys today.. WAHAHAHA.. Gonna call Ah Soon up to see one final time before we confirm start of reno.. Been busy these few days with work and last two days went to balestier (Hafary, Asia Excel, Extreme Lighting) and also Sin Lek to view tiles and stuffs.. Gonna post some pictures soon of my tile selections.. Still having a headache of which to choose.. Hahahaha.. Anyways, photos of my house now gotta wait till Sunday cuz Fengshui Master say Sunday den go in do the ceremony.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 YAY looking forward to see tile pictures.. show us la.. we tell you. ahahahaha CONGRATULATIONS! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Tile Selections Went to Hafary on Thursday and Sin Lek yesterday (Friday) Actually our ideas is quite simple la, no fanciful colors, probably sticking to grey, white, black and maybe dark brown.. I saw the set up of the green and white tiles which alotta u guys have in the common bath, was told by the lady serving us that there was a new color in stock.. Yellow!! Which happens to be my wife's favorite color.. LOL.. But alas, have to forgo it as our toilet's structure does not allow us to do as per the set up and I think if I don't place it at the corner not nice liao... Anyways, here are some of our selections... Pardon the pics, using my lousy N82.. LOl.. Somemore the lens dirty.. Common Bath (this one headache, can't decide) From Sin Lek, Main wall tile will be the white one with the darker grey with the lines(looks brown in the picture hor?) From Hafary, my wife I think likes this better.. BUt I duno whether it'll fit into the theme.. LOL.. Master Bath From Sin Lek, I think most prob will be going for this.. The left tile will be the floor and wall tiles.. Wall will be 30x60, whereas floor will be 30x30.. The feature tiles will run most prob behind the WC. down on the floor, forming an L shape.. From Hafary.. This one was our initial selection, but decided against the glossy feel.. Top 2 tiles are combi 1, middle row is 2nd combi, and bottom is choice of floor tiles.. My wife was the one who liked the top one with the circles, (ok, she likes it better den I do), but den 2day, she told me if look at it for very long sure get headache.. HAhahha... Kitchen From Hafary.. Should be using this.. I think kitchen should be more glossy look.. LOL.. If not might get the white wall tiles as per the Hafary common bath selection which has a more matt feel, (my wife likes) LOL.. Floor tile should be choosing the lighter left tile over the right one.. Haahahaha.. Very plain and boring hor? HAhaha.. Any Comments? Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 I like that brown? grey stripe tile(common toilet)........ very classy! Nice selection and combi. Hafary seems to have nicer selection... more unique tiles. I like the circle one too........ but not too sure will be giddy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites