Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Hey Metalsubzero, 2k is indeed attractive cos can get other things with that money. Having said that the important thing is ur comfort level. There was one ID who initially quoted me $40k for my works and alot of things not inclusive, when I show him Ah Soon's quote he ask whether I will still be keen if his boss agree to the pricing that Ah Soon can give, somemore with Design factor and colour 3Ds. I decline cos I was thinking, if initially u can give me this price, why not just quote me that when we first meet up? Also I can't get reference from other reliable house owners on the quality of work. So I decided to stick with my decision. If you are comfortable to with that gentleman to discuss further then try to see whether he can show u some units to verify workmanship etc, not showroom ahh!! actual units. so that u can make an informed decision. Yah, I know I'm not comfortable with people who can make so many promises so easily, he havent even taken a look at the quotation and boldly proclaim he can match me for everything I was quoted and still deduct $2k from it.. He said sumthin about contractors usually earning around $4k or so for a sum of around $23k(which is around the price I was quoted).. But he said he'll earn $2k from me can already.. And yah, if I seriously consider him, I'm gonna have to look at actual units to decide.. I'm already very confident and comfortable with Ah Soon's worksmanship, unless he can exceed or match Ah Soon's standard arbo no way I'm gonna switch.. Anyways, yah lor, ur situation, they are clearly marking up a hefty amount for their initial quote to be able to match the price Ah Soon is offering.. $5k is alot! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 eh metal, have u signed with ah soon? a bit confused leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 eh metal, have u signed with ah soon? a bit confused leh.. Yo aubrey, don't be confused.. My wife and I had verbally agreed to his quotation and should be signing the official documents soon.. I think he hasnt got it ready yet.. Hahaha.. I think I'll stick to him one bah.. Anyways, did I say I've signed officially with him? Cuz I havent, but I was 99.9% sure I'd sign with him unless somethin really really big happens.. (the issue mentioned above is not big, hahaha, just a passing thought la dat I can save $2k..) Hope that clears everything.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Really bleeding now.. Gotta cut down on expenses elsewhere.. My $1400 fridge idea gtg, set at below $1k now.. W.M cut down to under $500.. Hahaha.. Hob and hood not getting chimney one anymore, cuz wife say need mre cabinet space and also flat type save more money.. Need to revise my budget liao.. Hahaha.. The initial budget for just furnishing and appliances seems like not enough.. Sianz, I think need to settle on cheaper things but cannot compromise too much on quality la.. Everything gotta cut! But its very very hard... hahah! sometimes when u come in touch with a piece that u like so much, there's always 101 excuses that 'can save somewhere else, buy this 1st'. Chimney hood need to climb up n clean also lah, gd to chge to a slim hood. Toilet fittings? Bought already? Den again with the fugly chairs, i agree.. probably its a gal's thingy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Everything gotta cut! But its very very hard... hahah! sometimes when u come in touch with a piece that u like so much, there's always 101 excuses that 'can save somewhere else, buy this 1st'. Chimney hood need to climb up n clean also lah, gd to chge to a slim hood. Toilet fittings? Bought already? Den again with the fugly chairs, i agree.. probably its a gal's thingy. ehhhh then i seriously suspect I'm a man!! cos the fugly chair is really not my cup of tea sigh.. i initially wanted to cut cut cut alot of things to contain everything including reno, furnitures and appliances within a certain budget... now ahhh most likely overshot liao... cos bought things that we came across and love but was not in our initial plan to buy..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 (edited) Yo aubrey, don't be confused.. My wife and I had verbally agreed to his quotation and should be signing the official documents soon.. I think he hasnt got it ready yet.. Hahaha.. I think I'll stick to him one bah.. Anyways, did I say I've signed officially with him? Cuz I havent, but I was 99.9% sure I'd sign with him unless somethin really really big happens.. (the issue mentioned above is not big, hahaha, just a passing thought la dat I can save $2k..) Hope that clears everything.. So you got the final quote in english already? We only manage to see the final one on the day when they start dismantling my cabinets .. Anyway, you are not the only one who overshot budget .. we also overspent our limit and still have not bought our TV, oven and curtains yet!!! Edited April 13, 2009 by apples Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Everything gotta cut! But its very very hard... hahah! sometimes when u come in touch with a piece that u like so much, there's always 101 excuses that 'can save somewhere else, buy this 1st'. Chimney hood need to climb up n clean also lah, gd to chge to a slim hood. Toilet fittings? Bought already? Den again with the fugly chairs, i agree.. probably its a gal's thingy. Yah lor.. Not 101 excuses but 1001 and excuses.. Hahaha.. Anyways, yah lor, my wife and I discussed liao, going for slim hood.. Toilet fittings and kitchen fittings all havent buy.. I'm setting aside $2.5k for dat and another $1k for lights since $1k is already set for 4 ceiling fans with light kits, only need to buy the downlights, kitchen and bathroom lights, moreover0 I have bought my dining lights liao.. Anyways, any idea whether Ah Soon's false ceiling quote includes the case for the downlights? As in the square glass looking thing to contain the lights? If not, how much will they cost? I have around 20 lights sia.. And how much will T5 lights cost? ehhhh then i seriously suspect I'm a man!! cos the fugly chair is really not my cup of tea sigh.. i initially wanted to cut cut cut alot of things to contain everything including reno, furnitures and appliances within a certain budget... now ahhh most likely overshot liao... cos bought things that we came across and love but was not in our initial plan to buy..... Haha, maybe! Hahah, no lah, I think doesnt fit into themes bah.. But seriously, more gals are into it den guys lah.. I havent have one guy who told me it's nice as of now.. Hahaha.. Hmm, die die.. I think I must tighten my purse liao and buy what we really need den want.. So you got the final quote in english already? We only manage to see the final one on the day when they start dismantling my cabinets .. Anyway, you are not the only one who overshot budget .. we also overspent our limit and still have not bought our TV, oven and curtains yet!!! Yah, I got my quote in English as I'm applying for partial loan from the bank mah.. I actually havent got the official one which I need to submit.. Wah, see, all 3 overspend budget.. I suppose Mrspiglet also exceeded liao rite? Hahaha.. Die Die Die... No money liao.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xherion 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 hi metal, found your milano lounge chair for $390 (new not display) at Barang2 at Central, clarke quay. the fugly chair was also there hehe hi ivy, dun worry, my wife also don't like the chair, but then again her taste is more manly haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Anyways, any idea whether Ah Soon's false ceiling quote includes the case for the downlights? As in the square glass looking thing to contain the lights? If not, how much will they cost? I have around 20 lights sia.. And how much will T5 lights cost? If i am not wrong ah soon's quote does not include the light fittings. We will have to buy the down light ourselves. U can go extreme lighting at 371 balestier to see if they can give u a good price. Ah soon told me T5 he can get at $18, but extreme quoted me $17. I will ask uncle whether he can match, if not I will buy from exreme lighitng and give it to him. hi metal, found your milano lounge chair for $390 (new not display) at Barang2 at Central, clarke quay. the fugly chair was also there hehe hi ivy, dun worry, my wife also don't like the chair, but then again her taste is more manly haha so u and my hubby both got "manly wife.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Anyways, any idea whether Ah Soon's false ceiling quote includes the case for the downlights? As in the square glass looking thing to contain the lights? If not, how much will they cost? I have around 20 lights sia.. And how much will T5 lights cost? Yah, I got my quote in English as I'm applying for partial loan from the bank mah.. I actually havent got the official one which I need to submit.. Wah, see, all 3 overspend budget.. I suppose Mrspiglet also exceeded liao rite? Hahaha.. Die Die Die... No money liao.. Hahaha.. No. The false ceiling quote only include the light points, switches, wiring etc. You need to buy the lights for him de I also got my lights from extreme lighting .. Ya, feel very broke after this weekend becos had to pay deposit to ah soon, buy all the lights, wc, bathroom and kitchen fittingsetc etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Yah lor.. Not 101 excuses but 1001 and excuses.. Hahaha.. Anyways, yah lor, my wife and I discussed liao, going for slim hood.. Toilet fittings and kitchen fittings all havent buy.. I'm setting aside $2.5k for dat and another $1k for lights since $1k is already set for 4 ceiling fans with light kits, only need to buy the downlights, kitchen and bathroom lights, moreover0 I have bought my dining lights liao.. Anyways, any idea whether Ah Soon's false ceiling quote includes the case for the downlights? As in the square glass looking thing to contain the lights? If not, how much will they cost? I have around 20 lights sia.. And how much will T5 lights cost? Wah, see, all 3 overspend budget.. I suppose Mrspiglet also exceeded liao rite? Hahaha.. Die Die Die... No money liao.. Hahaha.. No no, i haven exceeded yet *fingers crossed*. I still got wedding project next up, cant afford to burst any budget!! But then again... we r trying.. trying REAL hard to control any impulsive buys. Everything i bought was like the cheapest i can find (WC, kitchen sink..etc), i hope they dun give way easily! Uncle dun provide the lights, gotta buy urself. Just for ref, my lights were 2x13W, cost me ard $22 b4 bulk discount. If i am not wrong ah soon's quote does not include the light fittings. We will have to buy the down light ourselves. U can go extreme lighting at 371 balestier to see if they can give u a good price. Ah soon told me T5 he can get at $18, but extreme quoted me $17. I will ask uncle whether he can match, if not I will buy from exreme lighitng and give it to him. i suggest u all buy urself. i wanted to ask uncle to buy my hob/hood for me, end up he's so busy i didnt manage to get my hob/hood details to him until very very last stage! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 hi metal, found your milano lounge chair for $390 (new not display) at Barang2 at Central, clarke quay. the fugly chair was also there hehe hi ivy, dun worry, my wife also don't like the chair, but then again her taste is more manly haha Oh, ok, so cheap ah.. Really tempting.. haahaha.. If i am not wrong ah soon's quote does not include the light fittings. We will have to buy the down light ourselves. U can go extreme lighting at 371 balestier to see if they can give u a good price. Ah soon told me T5 he can get at $18, but extreme quoted me $17. I will ask uncle whether he can match, if not I will buy from exreme lighitng and give it to him. so u and my hubby both got "manly wife.. So, how much did u get ur downlights for/or quoted for, so it's with the bulbs and the case? I'm looking for white square ones.. Any pics of the ones u got or getting? No. The false ceiling quote only include the light points, switches, wiring etc. You need to buy the lights for him de I also got my lights from extreme lighting .. Ya, feel very broke after this weekend becos had to pay deposit to ah soon, buy all the lights, wc, bathroom and kitchen fittingsetc etc Yah, dat was what I supposed so la, lidat my whole ceiling for the house easily costs $4k odd sia with the downlights, T5, (I think around 1k or more?) ceiling fans (1k), false ceiling (2k odd) and chandelier(350) & sum other lights la.. Ok, btw, how much did u get urs for and any pics? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Yo aubrey, don't be confused.. My wife and I had verbally agreed to his quotation and should be signing the official documents soon.. I think he hasnt got it ready yet.. Hahaha.. I think I'll stick to him one bah.. Anyways, did I say I've signed officially with him? Cuz I havent, but I was 99.9% sure I'd sign with him unless somethin really really big happens.. (the issue mentioned above is not big, hahaha, just a passing thought la dat I can save $2k..) Hope that clears everything.. mm I'm really glad you thought about it.. buying some furniture from him it's only a few thousand but if you do reno with him it's outright 20k.. and who knows much more. It doesn't matter who one signs up with... what's impt is to get someone who is reliable. I never thought that renovation can be such a scary thing until I went through it myself. Everything gotta cut! But its very very hard... hahah! sometimes when u come in touch with a piece that u like so much, there's always 101 excuses that 'can save somewhere else, buy this 1st'. Chimney hood need to climb up n clean also lah, gd to chge to a slim hood. Toilet fittings? Bought already? Den again with the fugly chairs, i agree.. probably its a gal's thingy. ya... but I think if it's a few hundred.. it's worth it la. Better than if you have an eyesore in your house and every day you're trying to imagine that it's THAT other nice one. Anyways cannot go barang2 today already.. SOB got stuff on. sigh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 mm I'm really glad you thought about it.. buying some furniture from him it's only a few thousand but if you do reno with him it's outright 20k.. and who knows much more. It doesn't matter who one signs up with... what's impt is to get someone who is reliable. I never thought that renovation can be such a scary thing until I went through it myself. ya... but I think if it's a few hundred.. it's worth it la. Better than if you have an eyesore in your house and every day you're trying to imagine that it's THAT other nice one. Anyways cannot go barang2 today already.. SOB got stuff on. sigh. Yah lor.. Dat's why I said I won't give up Ah Soon for anyone as for now.. That guy also told me can get electrical appliances at warehouse prices, I told him about the LCD tv i bought, he said he will check the best price for me and get back to me 2day, till now, no reply yet.. Hahaha.. Dat's why I always say, talk is big.. Hahaha.. Let's see if he'll reply me today.. I rather he walk the talk den talk the walk.. But hor, few hundred for each item, add here add there is few thousands liao! Oh, cannot go den go some other day la.. I think prices at the other Barangx2 is cheaper sia.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2009 Yah lor.. Dat's why I said I won't give up Ah Soon for anyone as for now.. That guy also told me can get electrical appliances at warehouse prices, I told him about the LCD tv i bought, he said he will check the best price for me and get back to me 2day, till now, no reply yet.. Hahaha.. Dat's why I always say, talk is big.. Hahaha.. Let's see if he'll reply me today.. I rather he walk the talk den talk the walk.. But hor, few hundred for each item, add here add there is few thousands liao! Oh, cannot go den go some other day la.. I think prices at the other Barangx2 is cheaper sia.. is it is it? the other one very far away... no time to travel this week. Sigh. haha I hope he replies and see what he says!! hahaha some people... No la... we must still control and not give in to everything.. but if we really want something then I think we should. Otherwise even when you go to bed at night, you'll dream of it! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites