Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 Anyways, here's his quotation as prepared by his son.. QUOTATION FOR THE FOLLOWING WORKS: S/NO DESCRIPTION AMOUNT $ 01 Interior Design & space planning F.O.C 02 Consultation & selection of home furnishing F.O.C 03 Perspective drawing F.O.C 04 Job site co-ordination & supervision F.O.C 05 Hack away 2 toilets wall & floor tiles 1600 06 Hack away kitchen wall & floor tiles 07 Hack away balcony wall & floor tiles 08 Remove away old furniture & rubbish for whole unit 09 Supply & install 2 toilets wall tiles 2400 10 Supply & install 2 toilets floor tiles c/w anti slippery abilities 800 11 Install 2 set of WC at 2 toilets 160 12 Install 2set of water basin at 2 toilets 90 13 Supply & install 2 set of bi-fold at 2 toilets 400 14 Supply & install 1set of glass door at the master bedroom toilet shower area 480 15 Supply & install 1 set of water basin cabinet c/w corian top, lighting point & mirror at master bedroom toilet 800 16 Supply & install hot & cold stainless steel water pipe for whole unit 1000 17 Supply &install kitchen & balcony wall tiles 2800 18 Supply & install kitchen & balcony floor tiles c/w anti slippery abilities 1200 19 Supply & install kitchen cabinet at kitchen area 2700 20 Supply & install corian kitchen top for kitchen cabinet 950 21 Supply & construct 2inch base c/w tiles for kitchen cabinet, washing machine & fridge 350 22 Supply & install 1 set of glass door c/w partition wall at the kitchen area 800 23 Supply & install glass window at balcony area 420 24 Supply & install 2 set of false ceiling c/w lighting point **** room area 1500 25 Supply & install 22 lighting c/w light holder a& wiring **** room area 770 26 Supply & install 1 set of TV cabinet c/w partition wall with wall feature 1200 27 Supply & install 1 set of down light at master bedroom 350 28 Supply & install 10 lighting c/w light holder & wiring at master bedroom area 350 29 Supply & install 5.5ft wardrobe c/w sliding glass doors 1200 30 Supply & install 3 designer bedroom doors 540 31 Supply & install new main gate 400 32 Painting for whole unit with Nippon 3 in 1 paint 950 FINAL TOTAL S$23,210.00 Any comments? I think must haggle quite a bit rite? Lol.. I still wanna add in the shoe cabinet leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 Anyways, I've went to numerous IDs before finally decided on Ah Soon.. Very tiring.. We were actually quite kiasu, started scouting even before the 1st appointment.. HAhaha... Around early feb.. My friends actually asked me to go ID and hijack any of their ideas.. Best if they can provide 3D, but got none from any of them leh.. HAhaha.. But well, got lotsa ideas from the different IDs.. Anyways, here's a list of the ID/contractors I went to in order with some comments.. 1) - - The 1st ID i went to.. The one at Great Eastern Building somewhere along Geylang.. The ID was ok, patient in explaining.. But we didn't request any formal quotes from them.. Dunno why.. Hahaha 2) Meng Design & Build - The ID seems ok, didn't request a quote from them.. Also dunno why we didn't go back to them.. Hahaha.. (No. 3 to 5 are from the Modern Living Show at Expo) 3) Fuse Concepts - Sat down with the ID Dal, she took down all my requirements than told me will get back to me in 1-2 weeks with 3D pictures, but I had to sms her again 2 weeks later about the quote.. She told me she havent completed yet, so I told her it's ok, just send me the quote without the 3D.. She said ok, den sms me one day tell me the quote is ready and will send to me that day or the next.. Never saw that email.. I smsed her back a few days later telling her if that is your attitude and you cant even keep to deadlines how can i trust you.. I told her don't bother to contact me again.. Hahaha.. 4) Rezt & Relax Interior - ID we sat down with was Ling.. Ling told me what we wanna do maybe $10k or so can liao.. Was so happy.. Hahaha.. But when we went back to her, was amazed the quote turned out to be $26k++ without even the false ceilings.. I think if budget wasn't a factor, I will definitely engage her, but man, the prices are too high.. Hahaha.. But she says lifetime warranty for her works lah, dunno wat it's limited to.. And the one thing that really turned me off is she refused to give me her quote citing that's her company's policy.. How the **** do u expect me to compare then? She asked me to bring any quote down and match with hers.. I was like, ok, I have so many quotes, bring down everything ah.. Hahaha.. 5) Space Inspiration - ID was Eddie.. This is the ID we sat down with for the longest.. Had wanted to sign with them, but unable to settle the price and some other issues.. He is a very nice person with some good ideas, but he talks way too slow.. Hahaha.. And lucky I didnt sign with him, becuz he jumped ship to another company 2 week after the show.. He came back to me offered me another quote which is about 5% off from the price from Space Inspiration.. The thing I didn't like about his quote is his carpentry costs... He quoted me $360 pfr for sliding wardrobe.. DUH! 6) JGH - Requested a quote via sms from April.. She sent me an email only about 1 week plus later.. Price wise i average in the $26k region.. 7) Reno.com - Met Catherine, the company is also called Gek Jin Contractors.. It's located at Serangoon Interchange.. This was the best quote I've gotten, but decided on Ah Soon because I felt more comfortable with him.. Moreover I duno much about this Reno.com shop, never heard any testimonies about them.. 8) Baroque - ID was mike koh.. Only requested for an online quote.. The funny thing is the things he drew on my floor plan is different from what I had in mind and he missed out on alot of details which I spelt out.. Quote is around the $26k region also.. 9) Rangers Design - Met up with James.. He met me at my new place.. The seller super friendly la, I was there for around 30-45 mins.. And he still happy happy smile smile at me, say he understand that we need to do this.. LOL.. Anyways, the quote turned out to be the most ex.. About $30k.. Didn't even get back to him after receiving the quote.. Hahaha.. 10) Chew Interior - ID is Martin, he has some good ideas and was prompt in his quote, but again the quote is too high, around $30k... But he was the most prompt of the IDs I went to.. We went around Wed, my wife cheekily asked if he can send us the quote by Friday and he really did sia.. But too bad, price is too high.. And people say Chew Interior's prices are inflated to cover the promotional costs.. In fact firms like Weiken, Chew, Meng, - all have higher prices due to their high volumes of advertising.. 11) Ah Soon - Schedule to meet him one thursday.. Rushed home from work cuz meeting him around 7.30pm.. U know what, I called him den he asked me who I am.. Den I said Im the Sengkang side one, then he supposed to meet me today.. Den he seems surprised, he say have to check his book.. He said he was busy and cant make it.. Almost gave up on him, but met him the next day.. Glad that I did.. Hahaha.. He say he very busy.. (And yeah I know he is) Hahaha.. I told him you are Renotalk's Da Hong Ren ma.. Hahaha.. Gonna ask for more discounts though.. Hahaha.. Anyways, anyone who wants any quotes can get from me.. I have quotes from Baroque, Space Inspiration, Reno.com, Ah Soon, Chew Interior, JGH, and Rangers Design.. Please send me a PM.. Would appreciate you guys not leaving a post just to request for any quotes I have.. Please remember to include ur email address in the PM.. Made a conclusion, IDs prices are about the same.. Only have to consider their worksmanship and how comfortable you are working with the ID.. The ones with alot of advertising has slightly higher prices.. And contractors are the best if you have an idea of what you want.. But actually some contractors like Ah Soon has pretty good ideas.. But I noticed most of the toilets done by him has the mosaic thingy which wifey and me didnt like.. Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 hey Metalsubzero, I got a quote from Ling Rezt and Relax. She did give me the quote plus nicely file in a plastic folder. But same experience as you, her quote was really really expensive. She quoted me $40K+ and alot of things not included, while Ah Soon quoted me only $35K and everything included. we all know that ah soon's package comes with aeroplanes, the next time you meet him, no need to rush back one. he'll usually be 1-2hours late. hahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 hey Metalsubzero, I got a quote from Ling Rezt and Relax. She did give me the quote plus nicely file in a plastic folder. But same experience as you, her quote was really really expensive. She quoted me $40K+ and alot of things not included, while Ah Soon quoted me only $35K and everything included. we all know that ah soon's package comes with aeroplanes, the next time you meet him, no need to rush back one. he'll usually be 1-2hours late. hahah Yah lor, he told me he always has this problem la.. Hahaha.. But he also told me when the reno starts don't have to worry, cuz time-keepig for his reno works is better managed.. That's what he said la.. Hahaha.. Anyways, wah lau, I knew it la.. Probably becuz urs is a bigger project ba.. Hahaha.. Anyways, I'm gonna haggle still.. Hahaha.. I dunno why the false ceilings so ex sia.. Hahaha.. Gotta ask him bout that... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 haha aiyoh the mosaic thing is chosen by the owners ma.. you can choose not to have mosaic but do patterns with different tiles... heh heh. And... yes.. make appt with him must call him 1 hour before to remind... heh I know where i miscalculate.. the false ceiling and the electricals I didn't add. I just realise that the lights will be supplied by him.. And yours is corian top ah?? wah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 Why leh, corian top must wah ah? Hahaha.. I think Im changing to Black Galaxy, Ah Soon told me around same price.. I want a white cabinet and black top theme with dark tiles.. Probably dark grey.. Walls havent decide leh.. Hahaha.. Will see how it goes.. Anyways, price dunno wanna haggle how much leh.. U think 20k makeable? Hahaha.. I was wondering too, lights included ah, arbo why so ex.. But dunno wat lights he using leh.. I wan the square downlights.. NO ROUND ONES FOR ME.. I think they are disgusting.. Hahaha.. And yeah, I have some T5 lights too.. Maybe they are included in the quote, arbo dunno why so ex.. :/ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 the mosiac i liked. but dunno my ID will do or not. did not specify on the design or whatever as I still have not confirm yet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 One man's meat is another's poison.. Hahaha, but so far looking thru so many of the mosaic design, havent found any I liked.. Lol.. Anyways, gonna go window shopping for kitchen and toilet fixtures at Tanjong Katong Complex Hoe Kee.. Hahaha.. Will update my blog again.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 Rem to take photos!! mmm 20k a bit hard la. dun haggle too much then he will give you a lot of freebies also. If your shoe cabinet is not very big then you ask him to include it in the current quote at the same price la Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 hihi! another sold to ah soon! I think his price is pretty reasonable, but i believe he'll discount a bit when u'll finalise ur list after getting ur keys! Is there a WIW in ur MBR? Cos i saw a door in the MBR apart from the toilet leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 Rem to take photos!! mmm 20k a bit hard la. dun haggle too much then he will give you a lot of freebies also. If your shoe cabinet is not very big then you ask him to include it in the current quote at the same price la Hahaha, hope so lah.. I'm hoping around 22k with the cabinet in.. Hahaha.. Anyways, I'm thinking the cabinet is at the area beside the main door to the beam at the center of the living dining area.. A low one under the windows.. Dunno how much dat'll cost pfr man.. Hope got more freebies bah.. Hahaha.. I also dunno wat to ask for.. Or he will throw in the freebies on his own one? Hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2009 (edited) hihi! another sold to ah soon! I think his price is pretty reasonable, but i believe he'll discount a bit when u'll finalise ur list after getting ur keys! Is there a WIW in ur MBR? Cos i saw a door in the MBR apart from the toilet leh... Oh.. Hope so lah, he keep telling me havent discount yet leh.. But I dunno how much discount la.. Hahaha.. Anyways, I think the door on the floor plan is not a door leh.. It's a window leh.. But on 2nd thoughts I didnt really check that part out.. OMG.. Hahaha.. I vaguely remember it being a window, den saw the floorplan, wanted to ask, but didnt.. Well, nvm la, door or window is the same.. Anyways, that's the original floor plan from hdb, cannot possibly be hdb got WIW originally rite? Haha.. But I know outside that area is where the air con compressor will be sitting on la.. Edited April 5, 2009 by Metalsubzero Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Hi guys, went to the Eunos unit in the day with Ah Soon and at night with my wife to view.. It's almost exactly what we wished for cept the MBR toilet.. The neutral theme, black and white and gray is what we're looking at too.. And I think the ideas Ah Soon told me is something like the one here.. Hahaha.. Super nice!! Hahaha.. The only thing is I can't have the tempered glass door for the toilet in the MBR.. Got kids leh, and living with parents.. Not fang bian.. Hahaha.. Anyways, been scouting around for a nice HTS, want those with 2 tall speakers, mid end good enough.. Dun need bose, onkyo or yamaha.. Any recommendations? So sad I didn't buy the Philips 42PFL7603 LCD from th IT show, it was going for $1599, now the best price I've gotten is $1800 from mega discount store.. Wonder if the next PC show in June will sell TVs or not... 11-14 June sia, hope can get next day delivery if there's LCDs for sale.. I think should have rite? Any1 has ideas? Was at Best Denki at Tampines, scouted for my Washing Machine and re-confirmed the fridge I want.. Hahaha.. Fridge - Samsung RT72KASE ($1399 at Best Denki, $1319 at Mega Discount Centre) TV - Philips 42PFL7603 Ambilight (Best quote $1800 from Mega Dis. Ctr, hoping to get at next PC Show) Washing Machine - Toshiba AW-9770SS (Wifey likes it, I like it too, now considering whether it's too big or not, actually such a big washing machine also no use, bamboo can't hold so many pieces also rite? Hahaha) The one I'm usin at home is a 7kg one, at full load, my 6 long bamboo sticks cant accomodate all sia.. Barcelona Chair Think gonna get replica one.. I saw on newspaper one cowhide leather one was at $498, any1 has better lobang? I super like it sia.. Anyways, any guys has any experience with Comfort Furnishing.. Is one of their showrooms located at the Plaza near furniture mall beside one car showroom? If that's the one, den I saw one L-Shaped sofa (the one on display at the front door) me and my wife super liked.. Was quoted around $1900 with a free coffee table.. Almost signed for it.. Hahah.. Dunno S&C can find similar designs for lesser.. Anyways, I only just found out Comfort Furnishing has a factory showroom at Eunos.. I remember wifey told me she saw one unit with Comfort Interior name on their signboard when I drove past.. Didn't know really it's the same company sia.. Ugh, I need recommendations for a squarish type of W.C., which brand is good? Saw at Hoe Kee, American standard selling for around $600 sia.. Faint.. Lol.. So ex one ah? I'm aiming at the black Amasco instant heater as well.. And probably either Hobz or Rinnai's Hob and Hood.. So many things to buy.. Headache.. Lucky more or less confirmed ceiling fans for 3 rms and living room and also the dining lights, the rest of the lights should be simple.. LOL.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 hey metalsubzero I was also planning for black galaxy top and white cabinets. I too went to the eunos unit to see but did u notice that the black galaxy top doesn't really look very nice? also did u notice that the black galaxy joint line is kinda wide, obvious and a little unsightly?? After I saw the unit's black granite top.. I am now thinking of changing granite top back to solid top.. cos solid top no joint line... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 hey metalsubzero I was also planning for black galaxy top and white cabinets. I too went to the eunos unit to see but did u notice that the black galaxy top doesn't really look very nice? also did u notice that the black galaxy joint line is kinda wide, obvious and a little unsightly?? After I saw the unit's black granite top.. I am now thinking of changing granite top back to solid top.. cos solid top no joint line... Yah I did notice the joint lines but I can still live with it.. I'm more worried of a black solid top getting scratched.. Moreover we have heavy cooking (daily 2 meals or even breakfast? MIL likes cooking bee hoon in the morning) Hahaha.. I think have to give and take la.. Hahahaha.. This is good enough man, I prefer functionality over looks, but of course not ugly to the core la.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites