duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 We will be having our 2nd appointment end of April and we still don't have any idea on where to start with the renovation. We know we want to go for ZEN (ie not much stuff there.. haha.. dunno if equivalent to low budget!) Here's our layout: Basically, we want to cover: - Master Bedroom - 1 Common Room - 2 Toilets - and if budget permits, the kitchen. Any ideas where we should begin? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 Found one online: Package Includes: 1. Layout Plan 2. Perspective Drawing 3. Material & colour proposal 4. Site co-ordination & management 5. Hack existing floor tiles at kitchen 6. Hack existing wall tiles at kitchen 7. Dismantle existing kitchen cabinet at kitchen 8. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at kitchen 9. Supply & lay ceramic non-slip floor tiles at kitchen 10. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles at kitchen 11. Construct 50mm cabinet base covered with side tiles 12. Construct 50mm fridge base covered with tiles 13. Construct 50mm washing machine base covered with tiles 14. Hack existing floor tiles at master toilet 15. Hack existing wall tiles at master toilet 16. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at master toilet 17. Supply & lay designer’s ceramic wall tiles at master toilet 18. Supply & lay non-slip ceramic floor tiles at master toilet 19. Hack existing floor tiles at common toilet 20. Hack existing wall tiles at common toilet 21. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at common toilet 22. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles at common toilet 23. Supply & lay ceramic non-slip floor tiles at common toilet 24. Supply & install 2 nos of wash basins 25. Supply & install 2 nos of basin tap 26. Supply & install 2 nos of mini-spray 27. Supply & install 2 nos of toilet bowls 28. Supply & install 2 units of aluminium bi-fold doors for toilets 29. Supply & install 2 nos of 2 way taps 30. Supply & run stainless steel piping for kitchen & 2 bathrooms (Cold) 31. Supply & re-case electrical wiring for kitchen & 2 bathrooms 32. Design, fabricate & install 20 ft run kitchen cabinet top & bottom using laminate material with ABS trimming 33. Supply & install 10 ft run kitchen cabinet solid surface work-top 34. Supply & install 2 nos of wooden sandblast frame door for kitchen cabinet 35. Supply & install 1 no of stainless steel dish-rack for kitchen cabinet 36. Hack existing floor tiles **** / dining 37. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous polished floor tiles **** 38. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous polished floor tiles at dining 39. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogenous polished floor tiles at store 40. Supply & lay homogeneous skirting for living, dining & store 41. Hack skirting at bedrooms 42. Supply & overlay laminate flooring for bedrooms 43. Supply & lay laminated skirting for bedrooms 44. Supply labour & material to paint for whole house 45. Supply labour & material to wash for whole house 46. Debris disposal 47. Floor protection using corrugated paper 48. Haulage & permit fees Prices 3 Rooms @ $18,688 only 4 Rooms @ $19,888 only 5 Rooms @ $21,988 only Sign up with us now to enjoy lots of free gifts with include: 1. 1 set of Italian brand cooker hob & hood, 2. Stainless steel sink with tap, 3. 2 sets of bathroom accessories & 4. 1 set of instant water heater Any idea on how to spot what's wrong with it? or is this a good deal? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 hi duckie, welcome to renotalk so you going for zen look or a ID firm called zen? hope to see more pics from you~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 haha.. was hoping for zen design.. is there such an ID as zen? we have sent email to almost 20 of the listed in hdb only 2 replied. with one point to a link with the quotes above. not sure what to expect though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 Found one online: Package Includes: 1. Layout Plan 2. Perspective Drawing 3. Material & colour proposal 4. Site co-ordination & management 5. Hack existing floor tiles at kitchen 6. Hack existing wall tiles at kitchen 7. Dismantle existing kitchen cabinet at kitchen 8. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at kitchen 9. Supply & lay ceramic non-slip floor tiles at kitchen 10. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles at kitchen 11. Construct 50mm cabinet base covered with side tiles 12. Construct 50mm fridge base covered with tiles 13. Construct 50mm washing machine base covered with tiles 14. Hack existing floor tiles at master toilet 15. Hack existing wall tiles at master toilet 16. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at master toilet 17. Supply & lay designer’s ceramic wall tiles at master toilet 18. Supply & lay non-slip ceramic floor tiles at master toilet 19. Hack existing floor tiles at common toilet 20. Hack existing wall tiles at common toilet 21. Supply & lay water-proofing membrance at common toilet 22. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles at common toilet 23. Supply & lay ceramic non-slip floor tiles at common toilet 24. Supply & install 2 nos of wash basins 25. Supply & install 2 nos of basin tap 26. Supply & install 2 nos of mini-spray 27. Supply & install 2 nos of toilet bowls 28. Supply & install 2 units of aluminium bi-fold doors for toilets 29. Supply & install 2 nos of 2 way taps 30. Supply & run stainless steel piping for kitchen & 2 bathrooms (Cold) 31. Supply & re-case electrical wiring for kitchen & 2 bathrooms 32. Design, fabricate & install 20 ft run kitchen cabinet top & bottom using laminate material with ABS trimming 33. Supply & install 10 ft run kitchen cabinet solid surface work-top 34. Supply & install 2 nos of wooden sandblast frame door for kitchen cabinet 35. Supply & install 1 no of stainless steel dish-rack for kitchen cabinet 36. Hack existing floor tiles **** / dining 37. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous polished floor tiles **** 38. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous polished floor tiles at dining 39. Supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogenous polished floor tiles at store 40. Supply & lay homogeneous skirting for living, dining & store 41. Hack skirting at bedrooms 42. Supply & overlay laminate flooring for bedrooms 43. Supply & lay laminated skirting for bedrooms 44. Supply labour & material to paint for whole house 45. Supply labour & material to wash for whole house 46. Debris disposal 47. Floor protection using corrugated paper 48. Haulage & permit fees Prices 3 Rooms @ $18,688 only 4 Rooms @ $19,888 only 5 Rooms @ $21,988 only Sign up with us now to enjoy lots of free gifts with include: 1. 1 set of Italian brand cooker hob & hood, 2. Stainless steel sink with tap, 3. 2 sets of bathroom accessories & 4. 1 set of instant water heater Any idea on how to spot what's wrong with it? or is this a good deal? hey there duckie. im kinda like u, aiming for the minimalist zen look if possible. looking at the quote, i believe there's some areas that needs to be modified (e.g measurements to your actual size in the house etc) and if you havent spoken to them at all, best to send down your floor plan instead of taking the details above as fixed cos u might be in for a rude shock when the finalized price based on actual on site measurement / floor plan is given to you. happy renovating! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 hiyee. WELCOME! mmm dun depend on website quotations ok? I have a suggestion.. if you don't know ANYTHING... just approach one or two good IDs and speak to them first. Then you have a better idea of what you need to do. After that you can decide if you really need some items after all. But you must be very determined.. NOT to sign with the first few IDs you meet.. just talk to them and steal their ideas. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 wah pinkpetter and her "warfare"techniques! yea i second that. cos thats kinda what im doing. ;p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 oh. is there any recommendation? im not sure where to begin finding IDs. they're so many. i get dizzy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 hiyee. WELCOME! mmm dun depend on website quotations ok? I have a suggestion.. if you don't know ANYTHING... just approach one or two good IDs and speak to them first. Then you have a better idea of what you need to do. After that you can decide if you really need some items after all. But you must be very determined.. NOT to sign with the first few IDs you meet.. just talk to them and steal their ideas. yah, i agree with pinkpetter.. sometimes, u need to see and talk to the person before u know whether u can work with them or not.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 the unit that we got is 5 years old and currently by indian .. so design is indian.. and we're not.. hope we can really find a good ID kitchen: the cabinets look old.. i will post few more pictures as i get to upload them. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 actually it looks quite well maintained leh, but doesnt really suit the zen theme.. so u planning to hack everything? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 the toilet requires major renovation.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 actually it looks quite well maintained leh, but doesnt really suit the zen theme.. so u planning to hack everything? yeah.. that's what i tot.. its not what we imagined.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
duckie 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 yah, i agree with pinkpetter.. sometimes, u need to see and talk to the person before u know whether u can work with them or not.. oh okie.. but won't they pressure u? i'm afraid to begin because i'm afraid they would scold us or get angry if we decide to go for a different ID then they'd think we wasted their time or something.. do u guys have your blogs? maybe i can check them out get more ideas.. thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 Welcome to renotalk.... have a great adventure in designing your new home. And I do agree that you kitchen looks quite new from the photo. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites