aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 i believe we have the same carpenter. uncle keeps calling him ah di and he introduced himself as ah liu/liew. when is yours due? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 technically, we are due for all carpentry workz this fri / sat coz HO is supposed to be mid next week or earlier... crossing fingers and toes now.. i dun wan to drag till July and i have to still worry about house plus wedding and the enormous amount of work piling upzz.. getting more greys and lines lately... and putting on weight when i am stress... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 hi xvirusga76, remember me I hope... how much have you spent on your renovation thus far and how much more to go? I'm going for my 2nd appt soon and going to start looking for contractors le... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 xvirusga76: We picked the exact laminates for the kitchen cabinets, while i took the beige floral laminate for my TV console in MBR! My carpenter was ah liew as well, he's quite a nice chap but some of his workers may be a little slow in reacting. And some mis-drilled holes here n there, so do watch out for those ok? He was scolded very badly by uncle for my carpentry, but on the overall, the workmanship is still pretty gd. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 hi xvirusga76, remember me I hope... how much have you spent on your renovation thus far and how much more to go? I'm going for my 2nd appt soon and going to start looking for contractors le... Hi Merry Man, We are about 75% through the reno, with the remaining supposing finishing up this week before HO mid next week. To date, we have kinda expanded our budget by 8k, to about 30k for just reno. Furniture & fittings are yet another sum. We are on the whole, rather happy with the progress, but i think its really case by case basis. You can read around the forum for those under Uncle Soon and those under Mr Yeak, the two famous contractors of the year. good luck! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 Hi Merry Man, We are about 75% through the reno, with the remaining supposing finishing up this week before HO mid next week. To date, we have kinda expanded our budget by 8k, to about 30k for just reno. Furniture & fittings are yet another sum. We are on the whole, rather happy with the progress, but i think its really case by case basis. You can read around the forum for those under Uncle Soon and those under Mr Yeak, the two famous contractors of the year. good luck! Did read a bit some time back and then went away to prepare for exams in june while waiting for key... I guess I'm going to contact them for quotes but looking at what you all are spending, I think I might not get a lot done with my budget... haha... Trying so hard not to take a bank loan for renovation... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rdnest 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 So glad to hear good review on Alan my fren reno is under his care now. I believe it should b a smooth one too lah check out my fren's t-blog to see update, k (like promote own blog hor. hehehehhehehe) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 So glad to hear good review on Alan my fren reno is under his care now. I believe it should b a smooth one too lah check out my fren's t-blog to see update, k (like promote own blog hor. hehehehhehehe) Rdnest whoz your friend ??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 xvirusga76: We picked the exact laminates for the kitchen cabinets, while i took the beige floral laminate for my TV console in MBR! My carpenter was ah liew as well, he's quite a nice chap but some of his workers may be a little slow in reacting. And some mis-drilled holes here n there, so do watch out for those ok? He was scolded very badly by uncle for my carpentry, but on the overall, the workmanship is still pretty gd. Mrs Piglet Really! Dun you just love the floral laminate!! so chio!! ahah.. i wanted it for MBR wadrobe, but FH said, noo... so floral.. for big cupboards... oh well.. and the Solid Cores are WAAAyyyyyyyy out of our budget.. so EX.. solid core leather laminate S$188 per piece!! gosh... no wonder Ah Soon and Jason says NOoooo last time..ahahah... Did you use their soft closing or u bought the blum runners? no budget.. FH says way out of budget.. so haiz..nevermind, lets hope theirs work fine.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 Did read a bit some time back and then went away to prepare for exams in june while waiting for key... I guess I'm going to contact them for quotes but looking at what you all are spending, I think I might not get a lot done with my budget... haha... Trying so hard not to take a bank loan for renovation... I totally understand... its really difficult.. whats your budget like? we did approach other ID firms and they quoted us SKY high like a 45K for a 3 room, hence we decided to use a contractor instead, though we know that project management is rather tedious. Whats your budget btw? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 Mr Liew!!! hehehe The one who's quite good looking right? he's the boss. allalalal He's pretty good but his workers can be a little bo chap and a teeny lazy. LIke if boss isn't around then they mill around a bit. But the quality of the stuff he gives is ok. hehhe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 eh pet u've seen him? goodlooking? i find him ok ok leh. young looking but not very young. hahahaha! dont say that to him in case i get rubbish work again! so its liew not liu huh. can someone take a shot of him so we can confirm? but, from the drawings, i think ivy and i got the same person. confirm already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 I totally understand... its really difficult.. whats your budget like? we did approach other ID firms and they quoted us SKY high like a 45K for a 3 room, hence we decided to use a contractor instead, though we know that project management is rather tedious. Whats your budget btw? My budget for now is only 10k *face red*... it is very low I know but my wife and I are wondering how much to really do or not to while at the same time preparing for a chinese dinner in december and still paying for study loans. We may adjust our budget later though after we get a few quotes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 My budget for now is only 10k *face red*... it is very low I know but my wife and I are wondering how much to really do or not to while at the same time preparing for a chinese dinner in december and still paying for study loans. We may adjust our budget later though after we get a few quotes. 10K include flooring or exclude? no worries about the budget, i guess most of us when we got our first place, and at the same time preparing for wedding will only have limited resources to set aside for reno. During my time I so poor leh don't even have budget for reno, so I took a reno loan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 10K include flooring or exclude? no worries about the budget, i guess most of us when we got our first place, and at the same time preparing for wedding will only have limited resources to set aside for reno. During my time I so poor leh don't even have budget for reno, so I took a reno loan. I need the flooring done as there is no tiles now except for kitchen where there is the old kind of mosaic tiles... My wife and I are considering renovation loan and how much to borrow actually... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites