xvirusga76

A Place To Call Our Home @ Amk

thanks Mrs Piglet & Family of Four.

well, from the looks of it, hopefully living room tiling can be done by tomorrow, and we can start with plastering, and electrical works :) cant wait for the carpentry to start, should be very interesting. i am also harbouring the thought of colouring stripes for the children's room. heehee, wonder if the painter will accomodate.. crossing my fingers and toes that all be done before 20th June next month! :) so far so good after the initial ding dongs.. i must say, my group of tilers are really good..! i hv yet to fully scrutinise each tile and grout, but on the whole, they look neat and tidy. :paint:

we bought almost all the big items, except the tv and system. we are hoping to target the GSS to grab a 42" samsung series 6 or 7 tv at a good price. Eyeing for those that come with home systems :P To save costs, we have avoided changing the following:-

1) All the windows in the house (except the toilet windows)

2) the main door & gate (its newly upgraded from the HDB Main Upgrade Project)

3) L-Box for the small MBR (no point le, too small a room to put it up), have to go look around for a drop down light instead

4) shower screen in the incredibly small Common toilet as well

But still, the total damage at this point is S$28K!!! alamakz, going to faint... i tried my best liaoz...

Edited by xvirusga76

thanks Mrs Piglet & Family of Four.

well, from the looks of it, hopefully living room tiling can be done by tomorrow, and we can start with plastering, and electrical works :) cant wait for the carpentry to start, should be very interesting. i am also harbouring the thought of colouring stripes for the children's room. heehee, wonder if the painter will accomodate.. crossing my fingers and toes that all be done before 20th June next month! :) so far so good after the initial ding dongs.. i must say, my group of tilers are really good..! i hv yet to fully scrutinise each tile and grout, but on the whole, they look neat and tidy. :paint:

we bought almost all the big items, except the tv and system. we are hoping to target the GSS to grab a 42" samsung series 6 or 7 tv at a good price. Eyeing for those that come with home systems :P To save costs, we have avoided changing the following:-

1) All the windows in the house (except the toilet windows)

2) the main door & gate (its newly upgraded from the HDB Main Upgrade Project)

3) L-Box for the small MBR (no point le, too small a room to put it up), have to go look around for a drop down light instead

4) shower screen in the incredibly small Common toilet as well

But still, the total damage at this point is S$28K!!! alamakz, going to faint... i tried my best liaoz...

Hi xvirusga76,

same as u...aldy try not to do alot....save here, save there...wahahaha.

I can forsee if i see my bill....better get me my ambulance...wahahaha :D

Sorry to hear about your loss, my condolences.

Good to hear that you are happy with your tiles.

You said they put styrofoam below your tiles to level up the tiles?

Is it the normal styrofoam? Just curious how sturdy they are

Sorry to hear about your loss too. hope you and your family are better now...

it's normal to use styrofoam for the flooring it'll be sturdy once it's combined with the cement. Cannot use complete cement to level up.. cos if everyone does that then the structure of the block cannot tahan all the weight. hehe HDB ruling is to use foam to level. :)

I'm glad that your problem has been rectified and it really looks like good progress!!

1st of June

Firstly, thanks everyone for your condolences, we really appreciate it. :wub:

Ok...Its been 12 days since we started our massive project..now here's wat we have to update so far :)

Firstly, most of the tiling works have been completed, the tilers have even done up our skirting!! unfortunately, what we had & conveyed to Uncle Soon was the wooden skirting, but the tilers have completed 80% of the skirting in the living room with the same homogenous tiles! I must say i am nwillingly to get them to hack it out as it delay time yet again, and it doesnt look that bad too... so i have decided to makedo with the errors, thou i must say its REALLY FAT! Also, our unit was also partially covered up with the corrugated paper as promised.

Mini New Stairs!

photo0234r.th.jpg

Fat Skirting

photo0231z.th.jpg

Coverups!

photo0233e.th.jpg

Inquistive Boy who kept asking tiler questions! ;)

photo0223p.th.jpg

photo0224s.th.jpg

Kitchen Base on the Right - for the Suspended cabinets

photo0237.th.jpg

Fridge & Washer Base on the Left

photo0236j.th.jpg

Thankfully, Aircon guy came and ractify the main living room unit today and managed to solve the problem despite some hiccups and delays in the morning.

HDB officer also came today and served us a horror decree, our Extension of walls in the living & MBR toilet failed!! OMG, looks like that was some miscommunication going on and we may need to grind portion of the wall back to 60mm thick, which i guess will take some more time! its already the start of June, and i am beginning to wonder if we will be on time for the HO. Uncle Soon managed to pacifiy us and said that he will settle it tomorrow.

Phews....

Plastering, electrical will start on Wednesday instead. We were also given the book of LAMITAK laminates for the carpentry! I have been dreaming of selecting the laminates for a while and i simply cant wait to start our masterpiece :lol: After some initial decisions, to streamline the White & Black theme we have in mind, we will settle more or less for either 1) High Gloss Chalk or High Gloss White for both the shoe cabinet and kitchen cabinets !! I am also definitely eying on the Nude Core Glossie (solid core laminates) but dunno if we are allowed to choose it as they are pricy!! Solid Core Laminates are good as you will get premium finishes that shows NO JOINT lines, the seamless type i love! Some pointers for all, it is perfectly ok for you to take a trip down to LAmiTak at Sungei Kadut and ask them for Bigger samples, because, likewise like floor tiles, visualising from a book of laminates is not the same as getting a Big piece of sample from them. :blink:

For WIW, i am eying on the Nappa Blanco (leather type) laminate or the pricier Nude Core Leather!! ahhhaa.. wonder if Alan or Uncle Soon will flip. The leather laminate became a hit 2 years back, and i still find them rather classy.

Alan also brought two electrical guys to discuss the electrical works as well as another carpentry guy, who basically came and take measurements. He could not provide any designs on the spot thou, and has to go back to Jason. Wonder when we will get to meet the legenary Jason too.??? Alan mentions that its rather difficult to fix appointment with Jason as he is really tied up. Oh oh, now wat...

2nd June is rest day, nothing will be done tomorrow, which means we can take a breather, i am hoping we can finish our plastering & electrical works by this week and leave carpentry, and L Box for next week, and painting and fixing of finishes for the 3rd week of June, crossing by fingers and toes it can be completed and HO on 20th June.

nitex everyone!

Progress looks good. Masonry works more or less completed liao :)

Who's your carpenter? Since you're given lamitak's catalog, my guess is that Ah mei is no longer doing any jobs for uncle. We used the leather type laminate when we did the kitchen cabinets 8 years ago :) Yes, it's very classy but also need maintenance :)

ooooh oooh... we were told by Alan to depend on ourselves for the design of the capentry works as he is on Leave? ohoh.. hahah.. now i have to re-browse through all the magazines again. We were also assigned the new carpenter, duno his name thou, but he said he cant design.

i am still in the midst of considering if i should keep the homog skirting they did wrongly, or hack it out and replace with the dark wood skirting, haiz, any help?

we just bought a 42" LG plasma tv with the Transformers' promo package, though our initial considerations were only Samsung LCDs. First time using Plasma, hope they are good.

We also met up with the laminate flooring supplier yesterday during lunch, and she showed us a couple of brands, ACE flooring, Deko (or something), ... need to find a color that matches both the MBR brown leather bedframe and the children's rooms White/Green kiddy bedframe... lost,...

Plastering works should start today, hopefully, electrical as well, cant wait for them to plaster away the obiang GREEN/BLUE wall. :paint:

wow! thanks wakzool!!! its really a sweet of you! care to share your buy with me :) i certainly hope they will be fine next month end

Hi , I bought from mode studio - under same boss of winter and red apple .

Delivery coming in this sat . Will kee you update if there is any hipcup

wow! thanks wakzool!!! its really a sweet of you! care to share your buy with me :) i certainly hope they will be fine next month end

Ok whatever furniture you see in my photos below, are from winter :D

LivingArea3.jpg

DiningArea1.jpg

Ok whatever furniture you see in my photos below, are from winter :D

LivingArea3.jpg

DiningArea1.jpg

i recognised the display shelf! Very nice stuff they have there. Glad that u didnt had much problems with them! :)

Hi everyone!

paiseh for M.I.A ing ! so busy with work, my FH had to supervise the reno instead.

Quick updates:-

the plastering for the whole house is done! now it looks nice and WHITE! the aluminium pipes for the whole house is up too. the house is more or less cleaned up for the next phrase. Electrical works stated today, and we got a shock..hahah.. we din know we have to buy the T5 lights and all, thot Uncle will get for us..haahah.. so now we have to get them, wherez the cheapest place? we need altogether about 15 lites, and 13 cove lights.

We are also in the process of choosing laminates for the kitchen. still stuck between the Lamitak Chalk or White? Any ideas? We are getting the shoe rack spray painted in High Gloss White to match our TV console we bought earlier.

We will be doing an L shaped wadrobe in place of the store room, the carpenter said we cant do sliding doors for L shaped wadrobes??? Really??? So sad..i always wanted the sliding types, Choc Oregon Teak lamintes for the skelton and tempered glass panels for the doors... but carpenter say cant as not nice looking?????? :wacko::~:~ help!!

Painting should also be in the pipeline this week or early next week, i am still considering if i should keep the walls ALL White and leave the furniture blacks? Or...

Whats in store this week:-

1) Electrical Works

2) False ceiling

3) Gas pipes installation

4) Painting???

Whats in store next week

1) Carpentry for the kitchen cabinets

2) Installation of the kitchen hob and hob

3) Installation of the toilet accessories

4) Installation of the shoe cabinet

5) Acid wash & general cleaning up.

Wow, i seen the nice Samsung Digital Lock by Trench! gosh, doubt we have the budget for it liaoz.. as we have kind exceeded 30k!!! can only DROOOLLLL :o:huh:

Hi everyone!

paiseh for M.I.A ing ! so busy with work, my FH had to supervise the reno instead.

Quick updates:-

the plastering for the whole house is done! now it looks nice and WHITE! the aluminium pipes for the whole house is up too. the house is more or less cleaned up for the next phrase. Electrical works stated today, and we got a shock..hahah.. we din know we have to buy the T5 lights and all, thot Uncle will get for us..haahah.. so now we have to get them, wherez the cheapest place? we need altogether about 15 lites, and 13 cove lights.

We are also in the process of choosing laminates for the kitchen. still stuck between the Lamitak Chalk or White? Any ideas? We are getting the shoe rack spray painted in High Gloss White to match our TV console we bought earlier.

We will be doing an L shaped wadrobe in place of the store room, the carpenter said we cant do sliding doors for L shaped wadrobes??? Really??? So sad..i always wanted the sliding types, Choc Oregon Teak lamintes for the skelton and tempered glass panels for the doors... but carpenter say cant as not nice looking?????? :wacko::~:~ help!!

Painting should also be in the pipeline this week or early next week, i am still considering if i should keep the walls ALL White and leave the furniture blacks? Or...

Whats in store this week:-

1) Electrical Works

2) False ceiling

3) Gas pipes installation

4) Painting???

Whats in store next week

1) Carpentry for the kitchen cabinets

2) Installation of the kitchen hob and hob

3) Installation of the toilet accessories

4) Installation of the shoe cabinet

5) Acid wash & general cleaning up.

Wow, i seen the nice Samsung Digital Lock by Trench! gosh, doubt we have the budget for it liaoz.. as we have kind exceeded 30k!!! can only DROOOLLLL :o:huh:

Hi xvirusga76,

Who is your carpentry guy?cos me also wanted to do up a L shape wardrobe with sliding door as i dun wish the clothes to collect dust ley...must tell wifey if they cant do it....cos Uncle was saying ok when we ask him about it.