guy77 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 things bound to happen. no matter wat type of contractor/ID you choose. no guarantees. some have this problem, some have that set of problems. no perfert thing one lor. not angry with uncle. but frustrated tat time when he fly me aeroplanes 3 days in a row. did not call me at all despite promises. this is more of an attitude thing. and some can take it, some cannot. for me, i am ok, just that i discover the parquet thing and wanted to notify him tat's all for the last call. but he still appeared and assured me everything's alright. so far, i am satisfied with uncle as he is sincere la. the not-picking-up phonecall thing is because he's really busy la. since all noe now, if u can take it, then engage uncle la. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 (edited) Hi aubrey, This is my first post here. Alrite, I have been reading most of the T-blogs and you are one of them. After reading all the red hot renovators/contractors or even IDs, I realise those who tag along with uncle soon bound to have some unhappiness. Please do not mistaken I am here to create trouble; I just curious why most of you who engaged Uncle Soon needs to manage your project together with him? I do understand his package is competitive, however I realise the competitive package comes with a price. Most of you who chose Uncle Soon usually ended up spending most of the time "supervising" and "managing" the mistakes rather than the progress of the projects. Project management is no easy feast, and I am very surprised most of you are pretty tolerance to Uncle Soon's style and approach. We all can be understanding and be mindful Uncle Soon is busy and really well-accept/recieve by many forumers here. However, if you think paying 20K SGD and above as well as playing a supervisory role yourself. I would say it is a very bitter pill to swallow. The experience is very bad for project management really exhuast most of your private time, and most importantly affecting your work indirectly. If you are just paying 10k, I would say you deserve it; however this is not the case. Most of you spent almost 20k minimum with Uncle Soon, and this is the type of service rendered. I can only say busy is not an excuse; however those who decided to go with him despite knowing his tight schedule really deserves a spank. With regards to aubrey renovation experience, I can only fully sympathize with your awful experience. Most of the contractors are behaving such, and usually they have several "projects" on a singular day. They got to rush to their timeline, and they usually dun commit unless there is someone "Foreman" or "Supervisor" (Some wld call the project coordinator on site to make the call; coz all jobs/items are chargable). In this scenario, you are the foreman most of the time, supervising them. Hence, these group of contractors regardless electrician or carpenter would not bother with your request, unless you have the paper documentations. 1 piece of advice - whenever you decided what needs to be done/carried out; please get jason/uncle soon to counter sign on that piece of drawing together with yours; to verify and confirm they have read, and understood your intention and idea. I understand this may be too fark up in a sense, however you need to document it black and white; so as they will not chut pattern with you. This is to safeguard yourself against such "busy" contractors/renovators. The many blogs I read, and the countless experience from most of you have somehow and somewhat revealed the quality of service. The service quality rendered is questionable without doubt, though the workmanship is average. I wouldnt say Uncle Soon workmanship is good, nor his design ideas are fabulous. There is still a noticable gap in design knowledge from the professional IDs, however it can be easily offset by the competitive pricing package he offers. However, the level of service rendered is questionable and it is certainly not worth the money. I believe aubrey has suffered mentally and physically running this project management show, and your initial happiness has slowly evolved into pool of unhappiness and doubt. I would strongly advise you to call up Uncle Soon, buy him a tea with a BIG bao sit down together with him spend a good worthy 1-2 hour have a good talk with him. Bring all documents (drawings, specification as well as your Le grand switches set) with you, have an ambicable discussion. Please make sure your discussion will concluded to something; and let him sign on the paper once discussed and confirm. Last but not least, I certianly urge the rest of the people who are keen in engaging Uncle Soon, please think twice before you award the job to him. Uncle soon is afterall a man, not a god. Thanks. alright, some time to breathe so let me reply you proper. so that u have my personal opinion on the entire issue. I would like to take what you said in your sentence to set the tone for my entire post: Uncle soon is afterall a man, not a god. I think that line holds true for every person, be it ID or contractor. In short, when I hired uncle, I knew right from the start that I can't have my own cake and eat it too. I have to practice give & take with Uncle and I'm not too bothered when Uncle/Jason does not meet me, unless it's absolutely imperative that they do. Why tolerance? A little tolerance goes a long way I believe. And maybe I am naive but I believe that if I am kind to Uncle, he will return the favour too by being kind. So far Uncle has been nothing but kind, it is hard for one to be mean to him. I can't say I've had an awful experience. Awful is too strong a word. Rather, I would say that I've had hiccups, but who doesn't in the course of their reno? And you can't fully blame Uncle based on my blog. I have highlighted the flaws of my character. Perfectionism is a double edged sword. Liking to be in control is not exactly a trait that is positive by any means. I do largely believe that a part of my ramblings here is really my own fault. Fussing too much with details to a point where it is obsessive. That, you can't blame Uncle. It is solely my personality flaw coupled with my own actions that caused me to "suffer mentally and physically". (Suffer is another word that is too strong!) Don't sympathize, just learn from my experience. And really, to be fair, my cabinets are not up yet, so how am I to say that they are lousy or not? I am quick to judge based on what I hear, which I may not fully comprehend what is said to me since I am not in the trade. With regards to my uneven kitchen wall, Jason has reassured me on many counts that he will source out the shorter tracks for me to install pull-out steel baskets. I did not have to ask, it was offered to me. How is that for incentive? With Uncle and Jason, there is no need for paper documentation, merely a phone call to them and things get done. (however, reaching them may be tricky, but that doesn't mean they are not contactable) Should it be wrong, Uncle will not hesitate to give the order to have it done again. How is that for assurance and peace of mind? In fact when Jason was at my place, he told me he want to have some parts of the wall re-plastered cos it's not nice when to me, it looks perfectly fine! If you are worried that uncle will "chut pattern", fear not. I am not his earliest customer, can be considered a late customer. If he had the intention to "chut", he would have done that to Pet & Native. 1 thing that really got it going for me is that Uncle, probably not educated much, understands the concept of trustworthiness and how to use the internet to build his business. He is so mindful about that, he knows that what he does and what he says is placed here online, he won't want to put that at stake. I think he is old-school yet savvy. What really makes for a good design? Design is subjective. Workmanship, nothing I have to complain about. I just want to add, Uncle gives soft closing drawers with his carpentry. So far all IDs that I go to do not give that out of their own initiative, only when you ask. Needless to say, you have to top up for that. I believe this falls under service quality. If you don't call the rectifications listed above as service quality, I don't know what is. I don't want a nicely designed namecard from you on our first meeting, I don't want you to turn up decked out in a Raoul shirt and pressed pants, don't want you to give me schmancy fancy 3D mock-ups (I like to be surprised) on your 3D studiomax, don't want nice prose in your email to me. What I want is someone who listens to me, to what I want and to do it without me feeling like I put down money for a sh!t job. I have a budget, $25K to be exact. I am not taking any loans from the bank. So I will not entertain $29k quotes, not even a $25k quote unless they promise me that with changes done, the amount remains unchanged. I am straightforward, Uncle is too. Now all that remains is what the other forummers have pointed out: your level of comfort, your willingness to adapt to Uncle's style and how big a budget you have. Hope to see your tblog too if you are doing any renovation. Thanks for sharing with me here. P.S: Ah Tan, the sub-con Uncle hired for electrical work, will be getting Le Grand for me. He apologized on behalf of his staff and quickly told me he will get it done, ask me not to worry. I'm not fussed now. I've had bullsh!t earlier, but sad to say it's from his staff. Maybe I am happy go lucky but half the world is kinda like that now so why be so bothered? Gets you nowhere. Edited May 21, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 *clap clap* i really love all the rspond. It all really show how good and our gratefulness for what Uncle has done for us. Wanyed to write a reply...but what for...action speak for itself...we happy can liao. I am sure times will tell if Uncle is good...no need us aggressively help him promote(which till now...i think he is good lor!) Moreover it aubrey thread...me more keen how she is doing. Glad that it was just some misunderstanding....happy for u also. Remeber to rest well ok...stay cool. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 yeah aubrey. u getting ur switches!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 with respect to all the forummers, i would like to share my opinon.... if any of you have read my blog, you would know that Ah soon is actually top on my list...firstly price is the best, secondly though i didn't get to talk to uncle soon myself, hubby find that he's easy to talk to....to me, i feel Ah soon provides an alternative for many home-makers who want to achieve their dream home but got no $$$..... at the end of the day when any choice is made, it is a decision made by us and nobody else....nobody can force us.... I actually find the friendship between ah soon's clients on the forum very warm.....they are not afraid to voice out any frustration so that it can be a learning process for all (whether ah soon clients anot) and along the way support each other....i have learn alot from reading their blogs...... Cheers!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
born_again 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 with respect to all the forummers, i would like to share my opinon.... if any of you have read my blog, you would know that Ah soon is actually top on my list...firstly price is the best, secondly though i didn't get to talk to uncle soon myself, hubby find that he's easy to talk to....to me, i feel Ah soon provides an alternative for many home-makers who want to achieve their dream home but got no $$$..... at the end of the day when any choice is made, it is a decision made by us and nobody else....nobody can force us.... I actually find the friendship between ah soon's clients on the forum very warm.....they are not afraid to voice out any frustration so that it can be a learning process for all (whether ah soon clients anot) and along the way support each other....i have learn alot from reading their blogs...... Cheers!!! well said. From what I have read so far, I think Uncle Soon is doing a decent biz and not one that's out to 'smoke' those who want to achieve their dream home but no $$ like what u mentioned above. Too bad I already renovated my place before Uncle Soon became Superstar. Maybe when I got the budget to reno my 2 toilets then I get Uncle Soon to do it. Cheers!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 YAY I love all the responses too... and the BEST news of the day is that Aubrey is getting her switches!! hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 COOL!!! I think tho we complain a bit here and there, which everyone does due to the reno stress,ultimately we still very much prefer uncle as he is a really sincere and kind hearted man. Let's just move on from here...we can feel the special "friendship" uncle's clients have ya tho most of us has never met. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 COOL!!! I think tho we complain a bit here and there, which everyone does due to the reno stress,ultimately we still very much prefer uncle as he is a really sincere and kind hearted man. Let's just move on from here...we can feel the special "friendship" uncle's clients have ya tho most of us has never met. *clap clap*....totally agree...just like a bond...even though we may not know each other in person.... I still think Uncle has his "charming" way....cant explain...but when u see him...u are at peace...(hmm...abit Zen?wahahah) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pink_dimond 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 After reading this “interesting thread” I feel that we all engage Ah Soon and Jason not only becos he gives the cheapest quotes but its becos of his sincerely. Yes, He had flied me airplanes before then ask me to wait for his call but he never call me back…. but I can now say that it’s all worth it. (of cos, nowadays he do call me back la.. heehee.. he's a changed man... hahaha) After getting abt 15 different quotes from IDs and contractors, we still decide to use him and I can tell you that he is not the cheapest that I had got for the similar package... Just that BD and I feel that he is v sincere. To tell you all the truth, when I first met up with him (that was abt the beginning of this year when I was getting quotes from IDs), I did told Blue Diamond (i.e. my hubby) that my 6 sense told me that I will be using him. He ask me why, I just said that he is v sincere and he seem like a honest guy… then we even joke that he keep flying us airplane then still gd meh.. heehee.. But I can see the reason now… he just wan happy customers... Well, reno to everyone of us is very important cos we wan to be as prefect as possible cos its a place we are going to stay for quite a while but to err is human... No everyone is prefect let alone our Uncle Soon. heehee.... Smile and enjoy the process of reno.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 aiyah. I thought of printing all this out for Uncle to see. haha can be his portfolio... but too bad he can't read. mm maybe his son will read it to him... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 aiyah. I thought of printing all this out for Uncle to see. haha can be his portfolio... but too bad he can't read. mm maybe his son will read it to him... Maybe should do a profile for him....hehehe...but i am sure...he know we are sincere n god to him...that what he told me the last time... Poor aubrey....her blog all hack by our true feeling to Uncle...wahahaha;p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 hehe I think she's very tired out by today's events already.. should be resting ba. Aiyah do a profile/portfolio for him but dunno where he is going to put it... in his van? His sincerity is enough la.. it's buying enough people over already Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 Aiyah, Uncle's aeroplanes can be managed if we maintain a network of his clients. Just need to know aga aga when and who he will be meeting and we can just get each other to pass the message. Ah Tan also told me about the bottle neck with electrical works. In fact, his team (Ah Tan and Ah Seng) are the only ones doing the work now. The rest of the electrical guys have been sacked as they have been giving Uncle and Jason **** lots of problem. Plumbing is actually sub-con to a co that has 5 groups of plumbers running around the island. For a small job like mine, they already took half a day. So it's quite normal that if there are many jobs in a similar area, they cannot cope. As for painting, I think Uncle also sacked quite alot of groups. The current ones (3 Malay guys) are good Unfortunately, if they are the only ones around, they are also quite stretched. Jason is now making sure that each section of work (plumbing, electrical, painting) at each unit is completed before the team moves on to the next. It will take a while to normalise the now chaotic situation but i believe they can do it Oh well, my painting works have been delayed for more than a week but luckily they are still in time and completed the job within 1 day before the carpentry guys come tomorrow Just a final note on Uncle. We've chosen uncle because he's the cheapest and most sincere. He's also not the calculative type. In my previous experience with IDs/Contractors, for every single thing I ask to do e.g. installing toilet accessories, switches, etc, they count to the last item. With Uncle, he's not calculative. No doubt I've had my own fair share of frustrations when trying to get in touch with Uncle, at the end of the day, I would still have chosen him over my 2nd lowest quote guy because we felt that he was more honest and transparent to us. To be fair, my deadline to Uncle was tight as I'm staying in my unit for the entire duration of the reno. If I had the luxury of doing my reno over 3 mths, I don't think i'll be that frustrated Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2009 (edited) *clap clap*....totally agree...just like a bond...even though we may not know each other in person.... I still think Uncle has his "charming" way....cant explain...but when u see him...u are at peace...(hmm...abit Zen?wahahah) hahahah blue diamond when i read your last sentence "at peace" and zen suddenly hor an image of buddha flashes across my mind. hahahah OK UPDATES Waterloo refer to who ahhh?? Aubrey is it you?? Whoever is Waterloo I was with Jason just now and I heard him say :" ehhh waterlooo ahhh tomorrow must do false ceiling liao and the day after must do painting hor!" Edited May 21, 2009 by ivy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites