aubrey

Retrospectrum Meets Modernisation!

so busy at work today.. no time to post. ytd went out in a mad rush to get the dimensions for my TV. today i've got belated mother's day dinner. heh.

heh heh I also had a belated Mother's Day dinner ytd..

It's better not to have it on the actual day la... otherwise it's very crowded outside. :P

Edited by pinkpetter

Weird.. jason called me today saying he is coming when uncle called me and has already postponed the meeting with me till tmr. jason says he can only make it today so we rushed back from dinner to talk to him. when we reached he was on the phone and i think something came up and he said he had to leave. wonder what kind of problem is there at this hour that he needs to rectify.

now jason said i wont be talking to him but to uncle tmr. so when am i ever going to know about the carpentry? this is really ticking me off slightly.

ermm... i think they really have too much jobs until they somehow cannot handle liao....my fren just met Alan and mentioned that he kept forgetting things and forget about appointments too...

I spoke with Ah Soon very briefly on 7 May 09 while he was driving, he said he would call me back. Instead, Alan called an hour later & in 30min he was at the flat to view & took down what I want to do. I got the quotation the next morning and has since been liasing with him.

His quote is not exactly much cheaper as compared to another contractor I spoke to. We discussed & Alan gave me a better deal in the end. I am still deciding between him & the other company. Should I go ahead & engaged Alan's service, I don't think I should even be considered Ah Soon's client at all. My only concern is no one here has ever seen his work & I feel like a guinea pig if I were to decide on him. OTOH, I do appreciate the quick response from Alan as I do not have the luxury of time to keep sending reminders for appointments or get things done.

This is my guess, Ah Soon is getting Alan to handle the smaller jobs, i.e. those not involving overhaul. In my opinion, this is having another contractor in the picture, another standard of work & working relationship to be expected.

who is alan anyway? i have never met alan. i have only met uncle's oldest bro (i call him mr goh), uncle (ah soon) and jason (younger brother). is alan another doing carpentry?

just a quick note, i manage to get uncle ytd and i must say that uncle is really firm on his assurance to me about the entire situation and will go all out to make sure he delivers. he told me he will get someone else to speak to me about the carpentry so its ok with me.

i have to say, no regrets choosing uncle. i just spend more effort on proj. management. no matter how busy uncle is, his level of standard remains unchanged and might i say he's got good "pr" skills trying to reassure frazzled reno owners like myself.

aubrey, uncle very mindful about quality.

Jason mentioned to me that if they let others handle, if that guy didn't do a proper job and owner call uncle that guy will kena jialat jialat from him.

i think its a bad sign that u are stressed by the reno when you start to dream of kitchen appliances. i dreamt of my cooker hood. :bangwall:

well to make up from friday (after clearing my deadline ytd at work!) my white windows were installed for the WC & bath area. received compliments from my neighbour and he asked uncle for quotation for the windows. :D

Updates from Day 5 (08/05/09)

My Shower Area window

_MG_2420.jpg

Toilet

_MG_2423.jpg

More to follow. For those who just happening to be reading, I will follow advice posted here (forgot who.. :P) to go for black rubber strips for my PD doors so as to not see the mould and stuff over long periods of use. A great tip if you asked me.

Edited by aubrey

audrey, may i know how much does it cost?? i am still toying if i should change the whole set of windows to powder-coated white, but my unit is under the MUP, and their windows have just been changed last year.. uncle say change a bit sayang... but..but.. my white windows...

ivy

let me post the pics with my tiles on, nicer!!! :wub: :wub: i dont care i'm telling uncle i want white ones for my corridor windows! too hard to resist.

xvirusga76

he quoted my neighbours $150 per set, which my neighbour said its cheap. (i think its ex but of cos i'm comparing it to things like HP etc :D)

what colours are your windows now??