booy 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 Your toilet is looking good now.. But you are really brave to want to add downlights now.. Really a lot of more cleaning and touching up to go.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 I also feel like adding downlights leh aubrey... you get quote liao tell me can? hahahahaha *greedy girl* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 yay tmr is sat!!! cant wait! and after the acid wash session where elder goh came by, he put this evil idea in my head after saying that my lights in the living room is not bright enough. he suggested downlights! and i am seriously contemplating it. i asked uncle soon to quote me, i can feel him fainting after i told him i was thinking of getting downlights. (huh! everything do alr now u want to do downlight? must take out the cornice and do again! u sure?!?!?) if i am uncle, i will also faint =p. Hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 uncle will faint but the one that need resuscitation will be Ah Tan. He is the sole surviving electrician, all the electrical workers kanna "pok" already due to their sub standard works and carelessness. Today Ah Tan was up at my place, he lament that it is very sian to work alone. So hor I went up to chitchat with him leh but after awhile he chase me away. 叫我不要吵他 wor!!! hahahhaah i think i too noisy for him to work peacefully Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 uncle will faint but the one that need resuscitation will be Ah Tan. He is the sole surviving electrician, all the electrical workers kanna "pok" already due to their sub standard works and carelessness. Today Ah Tan was up at my place, he lament that it is very sian to work alone. So hor I went up to chitchat with him leh but after awhile he chase me away. 叫我不要吵他 wor!!! hahahhaah i think i too noisy for him to work peacefully huh? uncle only have 1 electrician left ah? My electrician was this guy that uncle tell me to call "fei zi"... is it ah tan? (a tiny bit dark, abit plump one, seems quite young, very friendly) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 no leh. ah tan is old old one. ohh that means he may have hired someone else. ah tan keeps telling me he doing alone Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2009 Storm, that guy wear specs n quite young? Ivy, I also keep chatting with ah tan leh! Then he'll tell me stories... Aubrey, if u wana add downlights and do not mind the mess, can chiong for it! Wana hv cove lights too? Also v bright Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 cove lights brighter or downlights brighter? haha ....yay now got two electricians to share the load! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 Storm, that guy wear specs n quite young? Ivy, I also keep chatting with ah tan leh! Then he'll tell me stories... Aubrey, if u wana add downlights and do not mind the mess, can chiong for it! Wana hv cove lights too? Also v bright eh? no leh. My one doesn't wear specs. But quite young lah. So uncle got at least 3 electricians lah? =p @pet: what do u want to use your lights for? Cove light is ambient lighting mostly(not ambience!!) aka, it increases general luminance of the room and softens shadows, but ends up making things bland. Downlights (when not peppered all over the ceiling as main illumination device) create pools of light, drama, focuses attention on specific areas but creates shadows. Brightness for each can be made to fit your needs also. Just buy suitably high wattage lamps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 eh? no leh. My one doesn't wear specs. But quite young lah. So uncle got at least 3 electricians lah? =p @pet: what do u want to use your lights for? Cove light is ambient lighting mostly(not ambience!!) aka, it increases general luminance of the room and softens shadows, but ends up making things bland. Downlights (when not peppered all over the ceiling as main illumination device) create pools of light, drama, focuses attention on specific areas but creates shadows. Brightness for each can be made to fit your needs also. Just buy suitably high wattage lamps. oh...cos uncle told me anythings can ask the 胖胖guy to do for my house from tiles, grouting, to wiring related, fixing accessories etc...so i thought he also does elect works. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 eh? no leh. My one doesn't wear specs. But quite young lah. So uncle got at least 3 electricians lah? =p @pet: what do u want to use your lights for? Cove light is ambient lighting mostly(not ambience!!) aka, it increases general luminance of the room and softens shadows, but ends up making things bland. Downlights (when not peppered all over the ceiling as main illumination device) create pools of light, drama, focuses attention on specific areas but creates shadows. Brightness for each can be made to fit your needs also. Just buy suitably high wattage lamps. mmm Then I guess I should be going for general luminance. cove lights use those tubes right? usually what is used? *sorry aubrey* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 mmm Then I guess I should be going for general luminance. cove lights use those tubes right? usually what is used? *sorry aubrey* usually cove lights use flourescent light tubes. T5 seems to be the new standard size for cove lighting. As for wattage (brightness) and colour, best is to go lighting shop and ask them to show you or something bah... A design advice i get from lighting textbooks though is that you should stick to one colour light throughout most of your house.. Aubrey won't mind us hijacking one right? She's such a sweet girl =p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 usually cove lights use flourescent light tubes. T5 seems to be the new standard size for cove lighting. As for wattage (brightness) and colour, best is to go lighting shop and ask them to show you or something bah... A design advice i get from lighting textbooks though is that you should stick to one colour light throughout most of your house.. Aubrey won't mind us hijacking one right? She's such a sweet girl =p hehe Think she also wants to do.... she wun mind la... heh mm Ya I will stick to warm lighting.. my own preference. mm Will ask uncle to quote then see how. See if he faints first. mmm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 hello all, i am back from ANOTHER DUSTY WEEKEND. feel like dying cleaning every week. feel even worse than cinderella. i think my mom is on the brink of collapse so when elder goh asked about downlights, my mom said she wants to postpone. this time, im gonna take my time and since i know nothing about the placement of downlights, i am gonna research and plan it well first before executing it. its a lot of mess so i think it will be quite some time away if i choose to do. anyway, the carpentry is in but no pics since its all messy, cluttered and still a little undone. ah liew is ok, just that there's a lot of scratches all over, such as on a few doors and the planks within the shelves. i dont want him to patch it up anymore cos some of what his men patched looks ugly like nonsense so i will request for him to replace those that i cant accept. sorry but enough is enough with the ugly patching and more paint pens patching. urgh. ah tan is also due to come in today to fix up some electric points for me. i dont have internet due to lack of points. -_- then i still need to wait for wallpaper to be installed this weekend and tv to be mounted before it is complete. no more lights under my kitchen cabinets since ah tan mentioned to add on now will look ugly with the extra protrusion of wood. sigh. quite disappointed cos uncle soon says can but did not warn me about this. and i am alone at work for the week so i suspect by the end of this month, im going to look like some bai fa mo nu. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 Aubrey, i heard ah liu mentioning on Sat that they are busy at your place for installation. howz things? you like their worksmanship so far? our carpentry also left hanging in the air with 2 major ractifactions for the MBR wadrobe (they din do as per our design for the corner unit) and the shoe cabinet made too big for the corner under the window... sigh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites