aubrey

Retrospectrum Meets Modernisation!

Oh. the 56cm is from the short end of your bed to the recess ah? Then ok la.. cos it's a small part. But if it's from the long side to the recess then too small lor.

ya initially wanted to place the bed along the wall but now doing an L-shaped table at the corner so i have to place my bed elsewhere. the next position is to have it run opposite my wardrobe. so the 56cm allowance is from the recess to the start of the bed frame. seems cramped. now i realise how small my house is. and it feels like after doing the reno, there's not much design elements to it, just mostly updating the materials used at home like from rubber tiles to tiles etc.

must buck up for my shoe rack to maybe have it bring life to my living room! wish me luck!

Updates again

IMAGE_277.jpg

pretty pretty wrought iron gate! both myself and mom is happy with it! nice design and goes with our door. i want to try asking ah hock if we can spray it white. :P there's grilles too, but i forgot to take a pic.

shoerackbookcase.jpg

chosen the laminate for my shoe rack, it is the black one on the left. i was thinking of using the one on the right for my book case but was wondering if it might look too clashy. still playing around with the possibilities

studytabledrawersshoerackdoors.jpg

the glossy white laminate that i thought to be used for the shoe rack drawer and swing out door surface for a contrast, as well as for the drawers for my study table. just hope that it will not overpower the main laminate used for the study table. perhaps i can look at a dark colour for greater contrast.

mattwhite.jpg

back up option number 2: if glossy fails, i will go for matte.

bookcasealternative.jpg

bookcasealternative2.jpg

phillipeteak.jpg

some other laminate ideas for the bookcase. white is the theme so that i can match it more closely to the existing wardrobe. i thought it will be too boring for everything to be the same, but consistency is a good thing. torn between the two choices.

_MG_2562.jpg

re cap on the laminate used for the wardrobe. the laminate will be the same as well for my study table surface.

any inputs, as usual, are welcome!

ur gate is nice! I dun see this design when i was selecting my gate :(

I would go for consistency in a bedroom. Makes the entire room looks neater. On the other hand, maybe can mix some some pattern laminates but diff tone/color for a contrast yet maintaining the same theme?

mm I will usually keep to the same laminate within a room la.

But if you want to have some variety you can mix the current laminate with laminate of the same pattern but much darker shade (brown) OR mix with black mirror pieces? ;)

i feel like doing something similar to familyof4 for the laminates. see how it goes. ITS A SURPRISE!!! hehehe.

about the gate, thank you all for the kind comments. im glad it looks nice in the flesh as well. post a pic of my grilles tmr when there's good lighting to take!

mrspiglet - i chose this from the catalogue jason gave me to choose from. so it should be the same right??

guy77, pic of the grilles for u to compare tmr. tried our best to keep it all the same. :P

rondy, some parts were painted with the silver paint where it came off. so now hoping to get the colour evened out somehow. i itchy fingers want white leh... :P

this sun elder goh has to come in with his team to fix up the tiles that has "cut leg" feeling as well as redo the tiles at the WC/toilet thats not acceptable. (very poor workmanship). subsequently the polish team will come in to polish all the tiles to get rid of the wax on the tiles. :)

think the carpentry will be delayed to next sat. more time for me to pick around in this case!!! :D

aubrey: same booklet but safe to choose the similar series. i think 1 page got a few colors with same pattern belonging to same series right? That was wat i saw in the one n only booklet i had that time. Mix too many diff laminate/color end up very messy, i'm regretting for my MBR TV console now... :(

dunno le. i find that gate white colour (if u gonna spray-paint it), is hard to maintain and also easy to peel off.

but personally, i feel the current color is already very the nice liao lor. kekeke.

whats wrong with the tv console?? i chose my laminates already. black n white for living room. now thinking if i can introduce a feature colour but i will see how.

Update

too sian to call uncle to chase him. my house is kinda still 70% undone with the pending carpentry. still have some rectifications outstanding but like i said, too sian to call him to chase him since he is busy with others. less blogging from me now till house is straighten up and 2nd round carpentry is up. party postponed indefinitely! :P