aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 booy, why do u say that? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 hope uncle is fine. have not been calling him liao since joseph took over. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 ya i hope uncle is fine and not too busy (ya right). i've been assigned a new carpenter for the remaining works and he is called ah di. (anyone else used him??) im still choosing laminates for my shoe rack so any recommendations instead of the usual white and black? my tv console is white and black, it looks a little boring if i go for white and black again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 you can try the white leather types, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 i think i will go for a wood grain textured laminate for my shoe cabinet. colour wise dont seem like i have much of a choice but to go with black and white. or black and RED!! *thinks* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 (edited) some pix before we moved in and with things more or less completed in the kitchen! my wardrobes were also completed. Kitchen with stainless steel backing up! just lacking my counter top lights and we are set to go! (must get the wide angle lens for portfolio-ish shots!) a quick peek at the black galaxy granite top. trying to keep it reasonably dry. not easy! the wardrobe in my mom's room. sorry about the white balance issue that makes the pic look so reddish. :/ we sorta picked a more subdued colour for her wardrobe. i got some.. "criticism" from those who have viewed my place tho. even from uncle and jason.. why? see below. (ignore the gaps, this was shot before the final works were completed) as compared to my mom's, my choice of laminate seems more "flashy" and when friends come into the next room, they always comment that mine seems so exciting and hers so plain. >.< uncle and jason commented that its a good choice and my "feature" wall blended with my wardrobe's laminates. during the discussion for the laminates, i jokingly told jason to pick nicer things for my room so my room can be nicer. we rolled the pineapples and other things amongst all! very exciting! but the other focus of the pic is to see the living room leading to the kitchen. not a straight pic tho. somehow i kinda "regret" picking the smoky color for my living room. still seems a little.. dark for my liking. now that we've moved in, its a huge mess so not favourable for photo taking! still organizing and wondering how best to organize. i will try to post more pics once we're more settled. this sat we're expecting our tiles to be polished, iron gate and grilles up, more carpentry up (my bookcase, study table, dining table are confirmed. pending shoe rack once i finalize with ah di tmr) i am still outstanding in terms of picking a nice wallpaper for my tv console so thats still a work in progress. watching tv on my miserable tiny tv now but ah well, too busy with packing to enjoy watching tv. not that i watch lots of tv anyway... Edited June 3, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 (edited) some updates on pending carpentry. BRB! bookcase. top half is glass, bottom half is wooden swing out doors. any comments will help. they are due this sat. but i dont know why the rush. should i use the same old laminate from my wardrobe back on this or should i get another laminate that is more of a woody look to bring out the bookcase feel? :/ BRB! the shoe rack! i have yet to finalize on the laminates cos i am sick of black and white for colour scheme. :/ ah di is going to scold me. dining table! instead of collapsible.. it will be.. easily stored? i dont know how to put it. the laminate chosen for my dining table: Just Oak Edited June 4, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 mmm yum yum. Aubrey, your place looks good =) Eh, your granite work top you never do with a slight upturn ah? (dunno how best to describe this. It's to prevent water from spreading across the tabletop edge and seeping/dripping into the cabinets. My mum, my sis-in-law and nearly every female in my extended family who is using a kitchen worktop w/o this feature is telling my to get this feature =p) I like your ceiling fan. Small and unobstrusive. Is it powerful enough for your living room? Can share with me what brand/model, price and where to buy? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 (edited) eh, nope, its just like that. are u refering to the backsplash? thats not completed. if u look hard enough at my kitchen pic, u might find the backsplash there. is that the same thing? about my fan i feel its decent. at the highest speed i can feel it at my sofa right now, but if u stand at the door, u cant feel the breeze. think thats like normal range. cheap too! i think i paid less than $150? i have to go dig out my receipt. i bought it at one of those shops at jalan besar. i just looked around, zeroed in on this model as well as color and got it. its from elmark, gun metal colour. although uncle did comment that KDK is better but i cant install KDK in my house due to the fact that there's this thing that sticks out from the ceiling to the fan, causing lesser headroom for the room, which is against HDB rules. -_- Edited June 3, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 eh, nope, its just like that. are u refering to the backsplash? thats not completed. if u look hard enough at my kitchen pic, u might find the backsplash there. is that the same thing? about my fan i feel its decent. at the highest speed i can feel it at my sofa right now, but if u stand at the door, u cant feel the breeze. think thats like normal range. cheap too! i think i paid less than $150? i have to go dig out my receipt. i bought it at one of those shops at jalan besar. i just looked around, zeroed in on this model as well as color and got it. its from elmark, gun metal colour. although uncle did comment that KDK is better but i cant install KDK in my house due to the fact that there's this thing that sticks out from the ceiling to the fan, causing lesser headroom for the room, which is against HDB rules. -_- that type of kdk fan is not for hdb use. more for industrial/commercial/kopitiam use. there are kdk fans that don't have that sticking thing. Dunno abt price though. I was quote $448 for the latest model direct buy from KDK >_<""". It's abit like the backsplash but not so high. And located on the other borders (other than the back i mean ) of your worktop. Not sure how to describe it lah. But if i get it done by uncle, i'll show you lor. but that's a loooong way into the future lah. =p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 I love white kitchens.. Simple and pretty.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 aubrey, about your fan, I also think it is not too bad. I can feel the strong wind when I was there and your place is looking good too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shogen79 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 (edited) some pix before we moved in and with things more or less completed in the kitchen! my wardrobes were also completed. Kitchen with stainless steel backing up! just lacking my counter top lights and we are set to go! (must get the wide angle lens for portfolio-ish shots!) a quick peek at the black galaxy granite top. trying to keep it reasonably dry. not easy! the wardrobe in my mom's room. sorry about the white balance issue that makes the pic look so reddish. :/ we sorta picked a more subdued colour for her wardrobe. i got some.. "criticism" from those who have viewed my place tho. even from uncle and jason.. why? see below. (ignore the gaps, this was shot before the final works were completed) as compared to my mom's, my choice of laminate seems more "flashy" and when friends come into the next room, they always comment that mine seems so exciting and hers so plain. >.< uncle and jason commented that its a good choice and my "feature" wall blended with my wardrobe's laminates. during the discussion for the laminates, i jokingly told jason to pick nicer things for my room so my room can be nicer. we rolled the pineapples and other things amongst all! very exciting! but the other focus of the pic is to see the living room leading to the kitchen. not a straight pic tho. somehow i kinda "regret" picking the smoky color for my living room. still seems a little.. dark for my liking. now that we've moved in, its a huge mess so not favourable for photo taking! still organizing and wondering how best to organize. i will try to post more pics once we're more settled. this sat we're expecting our tiles to be polished, iron gate and grilles up, more carpentry up (my bookcase, study table, dining table are confirmed. pending shoe rack once i finalize with ah di tmr) i am still outstanding in terms of picking a nice wallpaper for my tv console so thats still a work in progress. watching tv on my miserable tiny tv now but ah well, too busy with packing to enjoy watching tv. not that i watch lots of tv anyway... hi aubrey, noticed tat u rolled te pineapple ler...but did u say ' cai yuan gwen gwen'? if not, dun say better.. cos 'cai yuan gwen gwen' sounds like retrench staff go go hahahaha...mus say 'chow piao gwen gwen' = cash notes or 'chin chien gwen gwen' = gold coins..tats was an advice from my mum when i did rolling of fruits ......hahaha Edited June 4, 2009 by Shogen79 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 shogen, u so cute My Hubby simple, he just shouted "Huat Ah". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 aubrey, ur place sure looks gd enough to shift in! What a great transformation! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites