stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 eunos is at sin lek, the one that uncle likes to work with. tiles selection is decent. i went to lian seng hin too to view. tile seection i would say 75% similar to sin lek. uncle can get tiles from them too. just in time. Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 I feel LSH and Hafary at Balestier got nicer tiles. You can try these 2 places too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 @smallyboy + preciousjam: does royal franco also sell cooker/hoods/bathtubs/ceiling fan? Prices for these are also competitive? Can't remember from whom i heard from in this forum. 699 for sink, tap, cooker, hood from asiaexcel. Not even sure if that promo is still on =p unless you have specific brand for hob and hood, the 699 one quite worth it...i bought it for my house so did smallboy.... just tell them you saw it from forum, they will show you what's the deal...still have one....its cuzino hood and hob with franke sink and tap.... RF sell almost all the things you mention but i'm not too sure about bath tub...should have la...henry will probably show you catalogues.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 (edited) Thanks for the info ivy and aubrey. Had a long and tiring day today (with a little bit of unhappiness towards the end). Only ended just now. Hijack your thread to grouse abit ah aubrey. Hope you don't mind =p Went to Sin lek in the afternoon with my wife then in the end just chose from sin lek. Lazy to drive around alot. Anyway only needed to get tiles for living room, and already decided the colour to be white. White homo tiles not much diff even if i go around other shops right? =p Eh, saw the wood-looking homo tiles at sin lek. A little bit gian to change my bedrooms' laminate flooring to this homo tile leh. Cause of all the trouble with water laminates have... I think my wife a little bit gian also. Will ask uncle to see how much extra he will have to charge us if we want to do it like that... After that went down to sia huat warehouse sale. Bought some stuff like vacuum jug, 2xcarafe, 1 pitcher with the ice tube thingie, and S/S cutlery. (later went to carrefour and robinson to compare prices for these items. wah lau eh, sia huat really cheap lor. Robinson got sell the exact same type of cutlery somemore. $10 for 6pcs. Sia huat sell $9.50 for 12pcs!!!) Having finished with that, I sent my wife to her department barbecue. Afterwhich i went down to Suntec. Checked out carrefour to justify all that spending in sia huat =p. Then went to check out Friven and Aussino for bedsheets. Not happy with what i saw so drove down to Robinsons. Bought two sets of embroidered bed sheets/quilt cover etc. I thought quite a good buy (over 50% discount) and pattern very nice (to me lah). Had to decide on my own cause my wife lazy to go and search so tell me to make my own decision about what bedsheets to buy. Later picked her up from her barbecue and showed her the bedsheets. She say only ok lah. Somemore commented that the colours i chose (1 set golden brown, 1 set silverish white. I thought fit our bedroom theme leh. modern baroque right???) very garish and why so expensive (embroidered ok. TC over 600 leh. Somemore made of cotton sateen ). Really made me feel very low lor. I spent nearly a month looking at bedsheets by myself liao lor. Spent nearly the whole of today running around the whole of singapore from west to east to west and then central and I get a comment that the bedsheets' colour too garish.... >_<" Tommorrow will go back robinsons and ask the sales lady who helped me if possible to exchange the sheets. If can, this time will pull my wife with me and force her to choose a set she lilke.... >_<""" @preciousjam: thanks for the info. Will go check out royal franco within the next two weeks Edited May 30, 2009 by stormcontrol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 Thanks for the info ivy and aubrey. Had a long and tiring day today (with a little bit of unhappiness towards the end). Only ended just now. Hijack your thread to grouse abit ah aubrey. Hope you don't mind =p Went to Sin lek in the afternoon with my wife then in the end just chose from sin lek. Lazy to drive around alot. Anyway only needed to get tiles for living room, and already decided the colour to be white. White homo tiles not much diff even if i go around other shops right? =p Eh, saw the wood-looking homo tiles at sin lek. A little bit gian to change my bedrooms' laminate flooring to this homo tile leh. Cause of all the trouble with water laminates have... I think my wife a little bit gian also. Will ask uncle to see how much extra he will have to charge us if we want to do it like that... After that went down to sia huat warehouse sale. Bought some stuff like vacuum jug, 2xcarafe, 1 pitcher with the ice tube thingie, and S/S cutlery. (later went to carrefour and robinson to compare prices for these items. wah lau eh, sia huat really cheap lor. Robinson got sell the exact same type of cutlery somemore. $10 for 6pcs. Sia huat sell $9.50 for 12pcs!!!) Having finished with that, I sent my wife to her department barbecue. Afterwhich i went down to Suntec. Checked out carrefour to justify all that spending in sia huat =p. Then went to check out Friven and Aussino for bedsheets. Not happy with what i saw so drove down to Robinsons. Bought two sets of embroidered bed sheets/quilt cover etc. I thought quite a good buy (over 50% discount) and pattern very nice (to me lah). Had to decide on my own cause my wife lazy to go and search so tell me to make my own decision about what bedsheets to buy. Later picked her up from her barbecue and showed her the bedsheets. She say only ok lah. Somemore commented that the colours i chose (1 set golden brown, 1 set silverish white. I thought fit our bedroom theme leh. modern baroque right???) very garish and why so expensive (embroidered ok. TC over 600 leh. Somemore made of cotton sateen ). Really made me feel very low lor. I spent nearly a month looking at bedsheets by myself liao lor. Spent nearly the whole of today running around the whole of singapore from west to east to west and then central and I get a comment that the bedsheets' colour too garish.... >_<" Tommorrow will go back robinsons and ask the sales lady who helped me if possible to exchange the sheets. If can, this time will pull my wife with me and force her to choose a set she lilke.... >_<""" @preciousjam: thanks for the info. Will go check out royal franco within the next two weeks hi storm, cool down. it's not easy to get a bedsheet both like. we have been hunting for a second bedsheet for more than a month and none we like. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2009 hi storm, cool down. it's not easy to get a bedsheet both like. we have been hunting for a second bedsheet for more than a month and none we like. I solved the problem in my head le. get 2 sets. i choose 1, she choose 1. both happy le. =p i just hope she find something she likes in robinson. i know what i want already. =p No lah not angry already lah. just sianz 1/2. I love my baby too much to be angry with her for more than 30 minute. (mushy, i know. please puke if you need to =p ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 Thanks for hosting us yesterday, Aubrey! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 I solved the problem in my head le. get 2 sets. i choose 1, she choose 1. both happy le. =p i just hope she find something she likes in robinson. i know what i want already. =p No lah not angry already lah. just sianz 1/2. I love my baby too much to be angry with her for more than 30 minute. (mushy, i know. please puke if you need to =p ) its so sweet lor....wished my hubby same also....hahhaha...anyway both of you will get to choose the bedsheets together now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 storm no worries about using my space! i'll be moving now, will update later. just one hiccup. uncle said ytd that his workers will come today to polish the tiles that cant be done with acid wash. now elder goh says no workers today and we are stuck! (yet again..) he told us to extend the rent, but its highly impossible given that the owner has kindly agreed to let us extend from 28 till 31. so hope we can get someone to help out, wont mind paying them rather than paying rent. looks like i may have to extend my leave till tmr. still pending some works to be up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shingirl 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 its so sweet lor....wished my hubby same also....hahhaha...anyway both of you will get to choose the bedsheets together now... ya lor.... u r such a sweet husband............ never one time my husband is interested in all these kinda things........ when we ROM.... he din even remember when we r ROM.... and wedding is next year..... he dun even know when is it......lol when we look for house..... my husband never ever one time look at the newspaper or internet.... and..... when we buy the house..... he like it becos of the house number... haha now renovation coming..... he also everything also dun wanna see.... he just wan the walls in white colour but also good for me la..... everything i do what i like and he just pay pay pay.......haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 aubrey: hang tough. moving house happy occasion. CHEER UP!!! shingirl: aiyah, got ATM can liao. all ur decision also good. no need to have conflicts. keke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 moving in already aubrey? hope everything proceed without a hitch. Hope to see more pics of your completed/moved-in house soon Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2009 I solved the problem in my head le. get 2 sets. i choose 1, she choose 1. both happy le. =p i just hope she find something she likes in robinson. i know what i want already. =p No lah not angry already lah. just sianz 1/2. I love my baby too much to be angry with her for more than 30 minute. (mushy, i know. please puke if you need to =p ) wahh storm, it's not mushy it's so super sweet. I think alot of female here will pull their husband to the screen and point at your statement! Very lucky wife you've got there. Me ahhh pai mia!! Everything do myself! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2009 JIA YOU AUbrey! *I missed out on all the action sia* You really are one tough cookie. Hope to see pictures of your done-up house soon! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 (edited) i have no internet at home!!! have yet to call starhub to shift my internet back to my address. anyway, too tired to blog about my progress. we've moved back in. funny how moving in seems to bring more things than moving out. rd 2 of clearing stuff begins now. so far only rondy, blue diamond + friend and familyof4 have seen my place. i will post live in pictures too once we're settled. uncle still owes me things! e.g: my polish for tiles was supposed to be done on sun but no one came to do it. uncle is unreachable on sun and i had to call elder goh. elder goh made a few calls for me but only manage to get the indian workers in to help mop but it doesnt help!the tiles still feel.. weird. that layer of wax is still there. quite disappointed to not have it waxed on sunday since my house is empty and it will be quick and easy. now that i have moved back in, all my stuff is on the floor, as well as my furn. dont like this arrangement of moving my things around the house while they polish since there's chances of scratching things or spoiling things while moving. one more thing... elder goh let me speak to uncle soon while he was at my place on sun. i explained the situation and uncle said monday to polish. so i took another day off again but the polish ppl did not come!! for what reason i dont know why uncle just said cannot. -_- imagine the disappointment. oh well, at least i made use of the day by going to royal fanco to purchase my bathroom accessories and a 3 tier spice rack. came back to open the door and supervise the guys installing the mentioned items and also to fix up my kitchen sink (yup, on sun, all unwashed plates went into a plastic container first). met up with ah di (new carpenter!) to discuss my remaining carpentry. very very excited about it. uncle has told ah di about the fiasco with the previous carpenter and i believe this guy should have been QC-ed by uncle. anyways, uncle admitted the issue of my tv console that was due to miscomm between jason and the previous carpenter (ah mei). he asked if i can accept it and was honest to tell me that he can tear it down and do another but he has to bear the cost. i told him i'll accept it. he said he will offer me some discount off the tv console. poor uncle. but uncle is smart! he told me to give him the price that I want to knock off. wa im in a precarious situation now. think i will throw the ball back into his court. think thats it for now. if i can i will post pics. hope i can catch up on work today. rondy: i think im going for wallpaper although uncle asked if i want to laminate it. i'll use that as my last option. prefer wall paper due to wide variety of choices design-wise. worry about the rest later! Edited June 2, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites