blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 jason came up just now to take measurements for my s/s backing in kitchen and the granite worktop. i did not speak to him about the tv console. i prefer to go direct to uncle. i totally agree with what everyone says. jason did mention that they can change for me but sometimes they make a loss. i understand that on my own without him saying it. i dont want to get into a debate with him by bringing out my opinions so i just agreed with him. lets hope i can meet up with uncle later to decide the outcome. I am sure all will trun well. Just hang on abit. Change what u cant live with. It something Uncle will also have to learn as well. He is nice...extrmely nice. But if such incident keep happen, he wont be able to substain as well. I think from every of our incident...it also a learning process for him too. 1 thing i will highlight is that Uncle has really make an effort when it come to flying aeroplane liao....that i can see his service level has step up..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 I am sure all will trun well. Just hang on abit. Change what u cant live with. It something Uncle will also have to learn as well. He is nice...extrmely nice. But if such incident keep happen, he wont be able to substain as well. I think from every of our incident...it also a learning process for him too. 1 thing i will highlight is that Uncle has really make an effort when it come to flying aeroplane liao....that i can see his service level has step up..... blue, yes, he is trying to keep up with his timing...but he will still be late lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 I am sorry to hear of your carpentry issues, reminds me of all of ours .. Since the rest have all give constructive comments so i shall not repeat them. Just here to lend you some moral support and hopefully it gets resolved in a win-win situation for you and uncle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 blue, yes, he is trying to keep up with his timing...but he will still be late lah. hehehehe...agree on that...in fact out of the 10-20 ID/contractor....none of them since to be on time also...or i suay? hehehehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 blue: agree with you.. most IDs told me my place only need 3 weeks, cos no tiling, just minor electrical works, painting, carpentary and windows. But i told hubby, not to believe in them, prepare ourselves for 5 weeks. one example, morning you wake up, then you go to work, press the lift buttons, then stomach ache, go back home and do business, then head out again, aiyah miss bus, then wait, then traffic jam, then late for work. All these is beyond your imagination one. same for them, they thinks my hse can fix in 3 weeks, scully the worker last min MC, or other nonsense or excuse leh? *choy choy* you know kenneth ask me to start reno b4 lunar 7th month cos it's enough for him to complete, but i told him better not, later u can't and i got to rush you, very 难看 cos i will bug his phone 24hrs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 blue: agree with you.. most IDs told me my place only need 3 weeks, cos no tiling, just minor electrical works, painting, carpentary and windows. But i told hubby, not to believe in them, prepare ourselves for 5 weeks. one example, morning you wake up, then you go to work, press the lift buttons, then stomach ache, go back home and do business, then head out again, aiyah miss bus, then wait, then traffic jam, then late for work. All these is beyond your imagination one. same for them, they thinks my hse can fix in 3 weeks, scully the worker last min MC, or other nonsense or excuse leh? *choy choy* you know kenneth ask me to start reno b4 lunar 7th month cos it's enough for him to complete, but i told him better not, later u can't and i got to rush you, very 难看 cos i will bug his phone 24hrs. i think unforseen cirumstances do happen...so when i know at least i call uncle, he always pick up his mobile...aldy quite good liao...no complain... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Hope you can get your carpentry saga resolved soon.. If both you and Uncle co-operate and stay firm, I believe the carpenter has to bear the entire cost.. Cost should be borne by the wrong party.. Being lenient to him is being cruel to yourselves.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 (edited) i am back from a good talk with uncle! (had to tell me mom not to interrupt my flow of thoughts every now and then. ) basically he has given me assurance that he will speak to the carpenter guy to discuss my tv console and he can replace it for me. i feel its a waste to throw somehow. uncle is quite comical!! he told he did not expect the recession into my room to be so major (so thick) n was surprised. we discussed the remainder of the carpentry work due e.g: bookcase, study table & dinning table. i can forgo the bookcase and buy one from vhive if need be. now i got to plan real hard for the room. uncle kept throwing me ideas for my room, much more than jason did. he did inspect the place and told me whatever is not good, not nice, he will change it for him. oh i sure hope he will not forget about me! my landlord has kindly agreed to let me extend my time here till 31st may so that uncle dont need to rush for me. acid wash will be done tmr, elder goh (for some reason he seem to appear at my place a lot) will come help my mom to an shen. i believe he will be rolling/throwing pineapples for me. and there i was with my friends thinking happily about using the pineapple to make pineapple tarts with my new oven. turns out that 1) i have no oven yet from all the complications in carpentry at the moment & 2) the pineapple is not supposed to be eaten! so wasted! well anyhoo, my auntie and cousin will be over at my place from sat - sun (they are from msia) to make the new house more re nao and lively! so for those popping over, a good time is prolly afternoon onwards till about 6pm! finally a load off my shoulders. communicated with uncle and he mentioned the problems he faced. for the remaining carpentry, i will have to be more decisive and sit jason down to talk so things cant go wrong. i will personally draw out for him my ideas too. hope that helps to minimize errors that results in wastage. p.s: i think a lot of forummers are affected by my comments about ah mei. uncle says that he wont be handing him projects anymore. to be fair, my wardrobes are good, i love them in fact. its just the hinges he uses that uncle said to change all to irex with damper. and of course that wood issue i was kicking up a big fuss about. all in all, most of it is solved. uncle will still get ah mei to rectify to give him a taste of rectification works. but he made this enigmatic comment that if he needs to top up for the rectifications, he will. i think its cos he briefly mentioned that jason didnt communicate with him properly. brothers.... Edited May 28, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 i am back from a good talk with uncle! (had to tell me mom not to interrupt my flow of thoughts every now and then. ) basically he has given me assurance that he will speak to the carpenter guy to discuss my tv console and he can replace it for me. i feel its a waste to throw somehow. uncle is quite comical!! he told he did not expect the recession into my room to be so major (so thick) n was surprised. we discussed the remainder of the carpentry work due e.g: bookcase, study table & dinning table. i can forgo the bookcase and buy one from vhive if need be. now i got to plan real hard for the room. uncle kept throwing me ideas for my room, much more than jason did. he did inspect the place and told me whatever is not good, not nice, he will change it for him. oh i sure hope he will not forget about me! my landlord has kindly agreed to let me extend my time here till 31st may so that uncle dont need to rush for me. acid wash will be done tmr, elder goh (for some reason he seem to appear at my place a lot) will come help my mom to an shen. i believe he will be rolling/throwing pineapples for me. and there i was with my friends thinking happily about using the pineapple to make pineapple tarts with my new oven. turns out that 1) i have no oven yet from all the complications in carpentry at the moment & 2) the pineapple is not supposed to be eaten! so wasted! well anyhoo, my auntie and cousin will be over at my place from sat - sun (they are from msia) to make the new house more re nao and lively! so for those popping over, a good time is prolly afternoon onwards till about 6pm! finally a load off my shoulders. communicated with uncle and he mentioned the problems he faced. for the remaining carpentry, i will have to be more decisive and sit jason down to talk so things cant go wrong. i will personally draw out for him my ideas too. hope that helps to minimize errors that results in wastage. p.s: i think a lot of forummers are affected by my comments about ah mei. uncle says that he wont be handing him projects anymore. to be fair, my wardrobes are good, i love them in fact. its just the hinges he uses that uncle said to change all to irex with damper. and of course that wood issue i was kicking up a big fuss about. all in all, most of it is solved. uncle will still get ah mei to rectify to give him a taste of rectification works. but he made this enigmatic comment that if he needs to top up for the rectifications, he will. i think its cos he briefly mentioned that jason didnt communicate with him properly. brothers.... that's why talking to the head (ah soon) would at least put your mind at ease. He's the long tou lao da. Hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 good to hear you get the assurance from Uncle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 ah mei tasted rectification works at my place from noon till 9pm yesterday... He looked in disbelief when I managed to point out more areas for him to rectify ... I think Ah Mei surrendered .... Basically, he's not up to standard ... Uncle called him up to ask him whether he can finish (because Uncle promised to complete all carpentry works by yesterday) ... but he told him he had accidentally damaged my drawer rails in the process ... There was also 1 door where the ABS trimming is really in a bad shape at one side .. and they left a dent in the laminate because they mounted 1 door wrongly. I told him to change both. Think from now onwards, he will have no more jobs from Uncle... whoever is the bukit batok person ... you're lucky ! cuz Ah Mei was supposed to go to your place for the carpentry and Uncle told him not to go as he's not confident of him delivering a satisfactory product ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 aubrey, growler, uncle also told me he stopped giving jobs to ah mei already. hope he can do the rectifications for you swee swee. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 aubrey, growler, uncle also told me he stopped giving jobs to ah mei already. hope he can do the rectifications for you swee swee. let get ready to romp aubrey place liao... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Uncle mentioned that he just came from waterloo when I met him yesterday. Is it your place? Glad to hear that Uncle will rectify those that is no good. So your HO will be on 31st? For me when he saw my windows, he told me the guys doing it is going to get "Diao" by me tomorrow. He was refering to the ugly patch jobs on the concrete surrounding the windows. For your carpentry, other than Jason I think you will have to talk to the carpenter directly to minimise miscom. Do you know who is your new carpenter? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Aubrey, gld that all went well...so now still keen in OCK? Me going out soon liao...sms me if you need me to get anything...dun be pai sey... Feannie,will see u there!!yeah!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites