familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 relax relax...let's not anticipate here and let uncle have look.if uncle says cannot, ask him why and if realy cannot, I am sure u will be convinced Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 im not mad, im just getting tired nagging him. i dont like to nag to be honest. he just either forgets or dont listen. i told him about tv console, he said he will settle it for me. now they sealed it to my wall, how? i really feel so frustrated. on one hand asking him to tear down like not very nice. on the other hand, im living there, have to look at it everyday. its not like laminate pasted wrongly, its like different from the drawing i was given, different from what i kept telling them. i am disappointed with the outcome. not that its not unacceptable work, just the wrong thing done! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Looks like I will blacklist Ah Mei/Ah Bee... Jason has yet to tell me who's my carpenter.. Sat will have a mini party at your home? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 im not mad, im just getting tired nagging him. i dont like to nag to be honest. he just either forgets or dont listen. i told him about tv console, he said he will settle it for me. now they sealed it to my wall, how? i really feel so frustrated. on one hand asking him to tear down like not very nice. on the other hand, im living there, have to look at it everyday. its not like laminate pasted wrongly, its like different from the drawing i was given, different from what i kept telling them. i am disappointed with the outcome. not that its not unacceptable work, just the wrong thing done! aubrey: I had been in the same situation as you. Uncle will also ask if you can accept it. So it really depend on you. Like some forumner advise me if really cannot accept it then got to tell him. For those that I think I can live with it, I will accept and also bear the consequences. So have some thought over it as what you said you will be looking at it everyday. After you have made a decision, give him a ring. Don't wait for him to call. If he doesn't answer, call later until he picks up the call. My recent issue was he sealed up my pipe which I wanted to use carpentry instead. So he admitted that he has forgotten and ask if I can accept. For this time, the decision is simple and I ask him to tear it down. To be honest I sense that he is unhappy but my decision if firm. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 I totally understand what you guys went thru. Uncle forgetting this and that. Well, like what Gaku said, take time to cool down and see if you can accept. If can't, I believe Uncle will change it for you. I was just talking to my sister........... Uncle philosophy is very costly. He believes all things can be changed or rectified... like invincisble...... If keep going like that, with so many mistakes made, tearing down, putting up new ones......... sure lose money. She is getting her keys soon and Uncle will only meet her next week. She is considering whether to engage Uncle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shogen79 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 yep i totally agree with what gaku70 say AGAIN!!! hahaha... Remember is you n ya family memeber gonna stay there ...for say at least another 5 to 10 yrs or so...surly u dun wanna go back home felling moody, low spirit, restless...ITS NOT WORTH IT.....no matter how unhappy uncle is...still he got to do it.....if not then tell him lor...... you do things wrongly n ask if can accept it or not then tell him Y not you pay lesser n ask him if he can accept it or not..... so what if he is a nice uncle....being 4getful is not an excuse to shift the blame away....end of the day he jus collect the money n say bye bye to u liao.... this is not rite....slightly different from the drawing is alrite....but mass different then Y draw in the 1st place?...can anyhow bombard design mah n end up say oh so sorry i 4getfulll..then ask can accept it or not....trying to gain sympathy???.... aubrey....mus calm down n stare at ya flat n keep asking yaself ler....can or cannot....if cannot accept...be firm...remember .. you dun pay tens of thousands jus to make ya life suffering.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 (edited) to be fair to uncle, its his carpenter that did it wrongly. cos the drawing was given to him. i dont see any protusion in it. even uncle can tell me eh why like that. what do u mean why like tt!! must be the carpenter's fault. if he did it wrongly i wont hesitate to ask him to tear down to give me what i want. i told uncle point blank ytd, i said, drawings are provided, verbally communicated too. so why turn out like that? if the carpenter did not follow, its his fault so ask him to change it for me at his cost! have to agree with smallboy. i think the flow is something like this. uncle get job - wrong stuff done - uncle rectify = lesser or no profit or worse, pay out from own pocket. the work he does will not justify his hardwork in running around. its sad tho. not sure if uncle will give the order to redo the tv console. i really hope he can step up his QC so that he wont lose money. just heard from jason that he was in small claims court against this painting company that did such a lousy job where the owners told him, "the paint job done makes me wanna vomit". uncle fired them and did not pay out the last $700 hence the small claims. working hard is not the way to go, working smart is. :] Edited May 27, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shogen79 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 to be fair to uncle, its his carpenter that did it wrongly. cos the drawing was given to him. i dont see any protusion in it. even uncle can tell me eh why like that. what do u mean why like tt!! must be the carpenter's fault. if he did it wrongly i wont hesitate to ask him to tear down to give me what i want. i told uncle point blank ytd, i said, drawings are provided, verbally communicated too. so why turn out like that? if the carpenter did not follow, its his fault so ask him to change it for me at his cost! have to agree with smallboy. i think the flow is something like this. uncle get job - wrong stuff done - uncle rectify = lesser or no profit or worse, pay out from own pocket. the work he does will not justify his hardwork in running around. its sad tho. not sure if uncle will give the order to redo the tv console. i really hope he can step up his QC so that he wont lose money. just heard from him that he was in small claims court against this painting company that did such a lousy job where the owners told him, "the paint job done makes me wanna vomit". uncle fired them and did not pay out the last $700 hence the small claims. working hard is not the way to go, working smart is. :] wah if tats the case...uncle **** chiam man.....else see if can get the carpenter's immediate boss/ supervisor to d something or not loh....some things got to be done...else not wat u wan n not uncle's fault...then how...keep quiet n suffer.....or maybe u side with uncle together be firm n ask the carpenter to change at the carpenter's own cost lor....2 vs 1 should not be a probe...afterall..u got the envidences (drawing i mean..different from the actual layout) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 ya thats why on one hand i cant bring myself to be mad at uncle! i spoke to ah mei once and thats it, i didnt want to talk to him ever again. he was ok but just sound so ah beng with my requests. :/ uncle is being nice by promising me to move in on 28 may (today btw but acid wash not done. if it is done in the morning later, can i move it or have to wait for a while for whatever chemical to disperse etc?) i know he will feel paisei if he cannot carry out his promise. i dont want to make his life hard too. i will just talk to him abt the tv console and see how. hope they dont do acid wash first. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shogen79 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 ya thats why on one hand i cant bring myself to be mad at uncle! i spoke to ah mei once and thats it, i didnt want to talk to him ever again. he was ok but just sound so ah beng with my requests. :/ uncle is being nice by promising me to move in on 28 may (today btw but acid wash not done. if it is done in the morning later, can i move it or have to wait for a while for whatever chemical to disperse etc?) i know he will feel paisei if he cannot carry out his promise. i dont want to make his life hard too. i will just talk to him abt the tv console and see how. hope they dont do acid wash first. oh AGAIN wat a coincidences...i am moving in on 28may also....or rather do the official ceremony..buring joss stick n rolling the pineapple also hahahaha Actual move in is this coming sat. where all mine fridge n WM n etc coming in. do keep us update yea...dun worry abt the acid wash as it only take less than 1 hr to clear n another 1 or 2 hr to wash down the whole house unit...I jus had mine today as i pop by during lunch time to check out the progress.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 (edited) Yeak brother who is the carpenter also do wrongly for my cabinet! Look at the top right Big drawer!? it suppose not to be there but a sitting area,whereby below is 2 drawer! But he see the drawing wrongly!!I was shocked when i went over to my place and question Yeak immediately!!! He told me he will get it change,no further question asked! Then i asked him what is he going to do with the big drawer? he said he wil throw it away and saw that part away and redo the lamination! After 2nd thoughts,i think suan le bah!not too ugly and take it as extra storage lor. But i guess if i gotta change it,it's his brother who is going to bare the cost of it. So Aubrey,u surely can discuss it with Uncle and get the carpenter to bare the consequences lor. hey hey!!! that's the low cabinet i want to do but i'll on have drawers on one side...same as your right ones 2 small, one big....the rest doors, total 6 doors....long hor!! this laminate is the one i chose for my shoe cabinet? Edited May 27, 2009 by preciousjam Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 I have to say that I agree with all the comments here. After confirmation and instructions, the end product is not what u wan, that's not ur fault liao. If u cannot bear to look at the mistakes everyday, change it. And if it's the carpenter's fault, should tell Uncle Soon not to bear the cost of the rectification. hehe, should take the cost out of the carpenter's pay! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 this laminate is the one i chose for my shoe cabinet? I think so. And I also chose this laminate for my MBR's vanity. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 aubrey: its good if you can look at the end product and see if can accept anot....if can't should get ah soon to get the carpentry guy to redo at his own cost.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 jason came up just now to take measurements for my s/s backing in kitchen and the granite worktop. i did not speak to him about the tv console. i prefer to go direct to uncle. i totally agree with what everyone says. jason did mention that they can change for me but sometimes they make a loss. i understand that on my own without him saying it. i dont want to get into a debate with him by bringing out my opinions so i just agreed with him. lets hope i can meet up with uncle later to decide the outcome. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites