aubrey

Retrospectrum Meets Modernisation!

my only grouse is that the tiles can get very uneven! one of the areas in my shower place is uneven, we told the master tiler about out concern and he ask the other uncle (a plump guy) to redo it.. i think he's not too happy with that. after he redid it, its still the same thing... :x dunno what to do already.

Updates from Day 12 - 15 May 2009

My living room has been completed! but I did not take pics since that area is now covered with all sorts of materials and my kitchen & bathroom fittings that were delivered is also placed there.

pic of my skirting (for ivy to compare) it measures about 1.5cm

_MG_2490.jpg

WC & Shower area done! :D

_MG_2501.jpg

unfortunately the black tiles cant be aligned with my window, it looks odd and not centered but i guess its a matter of getting used to. and my toilet bowl is not gonna be centered due to the piping too. :( the hole is closer to the left. so odd!

_MG_2503.jpg

Updates from Day 13 - 17 May 2009

1 lone china worker came back to help, very touched. :) he plastered the hacked wall though he said its unnecessary to do so, but he did it so it looks nice. :)

_MG_2494.jpg

_MG_2496.jpg

half done tiles from saturday by master tiler

_MG_2497.jpg

half done tiles for the kitchen. the tiles have groove lines and are rough. the china worker said these tiles are meant more for outdoor use, got us thinking twice but ah what the heck!!

_MG_2500.jpg

okay finally up to speed with the reno! now to work on my promised post for LCD/Plasma TV

Edited by aubrey

Angel81

yup, that out of place tile is where the hole is, my toilet bowl will be soooo lopsided. even if WC is installed, i think it will still be obvious? but we'll see how it goes. :)

familyof4

kinda regretting! should have swapped the features around but i think my mom will scream, she dislike dark interiors. :P

pinkpetter

pet, still pending the tiles for kitchen (1/2 done) mom's room (1/2 done) and my room then its all good to go! does rooms come with skirting? yes right? i personally think it could be faster if not for the slower uncle. he kept chasing my mom away when she went to have a look citing safety reasons. my mom thinks otherwise. :notti:

thanks aubrey for posting the skirting pic!! I showed my slimmed down skirting (after plastering) to Jason yesterday when he was up at my unit. He says it looks ok to him leh... and I am sure uncle not yet go up and see... Jason tried explaining it to me but aiyah.. I one ear in one ear out and still think that it looks a little fat..

Will see what uncle say when he did find time to go up. Not gonna rush him up to my place over this tiny issue. Leave him to spend more time for the few of you who urgently needs the flat. For me at least I am bunking in with mil so not so bad but gotta pay warehouse fee for all our stuff.. every month lor

pet

oh! hope i get to see some skirtings when i get back later!

i got the pic from this place: Molla Space

not cheap. maybe i can open store to sell these things and be my own boss *dreaming

ivy

oh so has the skirting been changed for you? now u have my pic u can use as a reference! 2.5cm thicker is really crazy man! got to slim it down!

where are u storing your stuff? is it ex? ya mine die die 28th gotta move out if not its another month worth of rent. can die ar. so ex.. growl.

now with the plastering up it does looks smaller. I not yet measure the "new size" though. will see what uncle say loh.

my furnitures and 80boxes of stuffs are stored in hubby's friend's dad's warehouse. They only charge us nominal fee. But those commercial ones outside will charge like few hundreds a month depending on what size of space u need loh

oh like lock & Store right? previously i was asked to go there too when i didnt manage to rent the unit im in. thank all my lucky stars the owner appeared close to our reno start date. if not, i cant imagine at well. lucky for u, its nominal, if not on top of reno fee, furniture fee and all other misc fee, still have to foot the full rental fee. can die! :P

alright major major update!! here is my carpentry sketches from jason! pls all, any and every input will be valuable in case i overlooked something! so pls fire away!!

my tv console wall. its recessed as per my floor plan. im supposed to have more stuff on the other side of the wall but jason is not sure if it will be too cramped. so taking a rain check on that. any room for improvement? (ps: i asked him about roller shelves where the DVD players etc goes but he said those things are usually problematic)

tvconsolewall.jpg

the kitchen! another important place. i wanted a pantry next to my fridge but its a little tight as it is. and he said not so ideal cos the hob will be near the pantry and he is afraid that it might catch fire.. is it even possible??? :dunno:

quite sad to say after pouring over so much interior design mags, going to blum website, driving myself nuts over the different zones, and we settled the kitchen within 30 mins with nothing much to change in their drawn layout. so anti-climax.

kitchen-1.jpg

my wardrobe!

Scan-090519-0001.jpg

mom's wardrobe!

momswardrobe.jpg

Edited by aubrey

actually i agree that the roller shelves are problematic. i have them in my current tv console now and we dun pull them out at all, cos there is no need to, as u slot the cd/dvd/vcd from the front, and not from the sides or backside! unless u have those old school vcr wereby u put the tape from above. furthermore, when u pull out the shelves, the wires will be pulled out too and if the wires are not long enough, it will be disconnected from the tv or the power point and it happened before. And also after u pull the shelf out and the wires are pulled out too, it can get a bit tricky to push the shelf back as the wires are now "loosen" and so they will "bunch" up and cause a big mess behind the players. but really, in the first place, is there a need to always pull out the player? tatz just my opionion :)

Edited by Bon07