ivy 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 ivy let me post the pics with my tiles on, nicer!!! :wub: i dont care i'm telling uncle i want white ones for my corridor windows! too hard to resist. hor hor!! see!! nice hor white! hahahah better tell uncle fast fast before the window contractor puts up another colour. what colour glass are u choosing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 all the windows in my house including utility rooms the standard hdb style type, the sellers chose the sliding windors type (black ) type, but i am goin to pay 9k for the main upgrade progr, think the invoice coming along end may, so if i can the windows, guess i am kindda throwing my 9k invoice down the drain. haiz..tough call.. sob.. cant paint the windows white thou ... (trying my luck).. the two toilet windows need to be changed thou. so rusty.. or maybe its my imagination..uncle says its fine.. "sin sin le"..ahhaa..think its trying to help me save money.. but if i change the toilet windows to white..heee.. so funny but..nevermind.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 ivy i think i will go for a light color at the top, maybe clear netting glass. then the rest are white. not used to sliding windows at all! especially so when it's corridor unit. white windows rocks! xvirusga76 i will say if u are doing the toilets then change. cos it will affect the tiles around it however slight it may be. if not, then just get some value out of it by using it and replacing it later on (but then by which time i dont think u will want to, the interest would have worn off) but hor.. since its "rusty" then just change it! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 UPDATES - 9 & 10 May (over the weekend) shower tiles are up! nice and new! kinda regretting the white, it looks so... blah. prefer the black but i think my mom will strongly object as the floor is black. of course a bigger view to see tiles with white window for xvirusga76 rainshower will be installed where the black tiles are aka feature wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 (edited) 10 May 09 - Sunday we went shopping! got the hob and hood from fujioh. just points to note while buying your hob (i hope cannotisit is reading) A hob should have 4 items ideally: 1) Safety Valve - It cuts off gas in the event that your flame goes off while you are boiling soup and the wind is too strong. 2) Removable burner head - Pure and simple, for the ease of cleaning. 3) No holes in Burner - There are times when you leave your pot on for too long and the water overflows and may get into the burner. The area surrounding the burner should be easily removed for cleaning purposes but at the same time, the hole within the burner should not be too big, and it should be elevated so that it gets out of the way of water. Remember, your wirings are under it, you won't want water much less hot boiling water to seep in. 4) Cast Iron Legs As it suggests, cast iron is very strong, better than the standard issue enamel legs. Get an upgrade as the salesman put it, cast iron legs will outlast me. Edited May 14, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 thks for the quick lesson in selecting hob & hoob, i was also recommended fujioh brand when i went to buy my wc set in genova. i settled for the baron soft closing wc set which cost $388. he says the oil from the hoob will flow to the plastic container so just clean this and occassionaly remove the filter to wash. easy cleaning is a must cos my missy cannot tahan stains. aubrey next weekend, 23 & 24 May phillips will be having a warehouse sale @ 620A Toa Payoh, maybe u can go there to do some shopping. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 gosh..now i pai bak ..make me more "gainz".. duno if its funny if i leave whole hse windows as it is, and only chang the toilet windows... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 nice toilet tiles good taste leh...Hubby didn't want this selction, so i went ahead to compromise with a simpler one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 your toilet wall tiles got the floral motiff one right?? I wanted that lor.. for my common toilets... uncle don't want.. We bought the same hood and hob! "Cannotisit" is your baron a squarish one? I initially wanted that but when I sit on it to try I realise the seat is very narrow and uncomfortable... somemore I can be considered small built. Did you sit on it to try?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 Looks like we all loved these tiles (that Aubrey has) but got rejected. LOL Mine was by my parents. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 Think we are buying the same hood... Your hob's advice is good.. Never consider so much... Your toilet tiles are nice nice.. Ivy, why Uncle Soon objected to the tiles? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 ya, i went genova and they recommend fujioh too. i am waiting to see uncle can get that hob and hood from me as he promised to. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 (edited) cannotisit just some quick finds while looking for my hob/hood. i lean more to asian brands for the large fire needed in asian cooking. i also picked one close to the 3.5W burners i am using which helps me to narrow down. i find that fujioh are really good for hoods, not too bad for hobs so i got it. and rinnai is the opposite and they have been copying each other. this particular fujioh hood is good for me cos its cost effective. if u read it, it has 83% fume absorption which is good enough without spending a bomb. both hob and hood cost me $685, a big dip from my original plan of rinnai which was $1,900++ but that is of cos me choosing the most expensive hob and still looking at their katana hood. choose based on your cooking methods, not for looks. looks wont serve you, only functionality will. xvirusga76 change!!! now my windows blends in seamlessly. my kitchen window sticks out like a sore thumb but we have no more money for that so just too bad, gotta live with it. if u got spare cash, make yourself happier. i believe in that. or do you want me to take more pics to convince you? I can you know.. my place is right next door. familyof4 but i felt the white ones dont really stand out! like very plain and very.. unnoticeable. only the black stands out. i like motifs. just hoping it wont be passe. ivy hahah yes the motif one at LSH. how come uncle say dont want! how can he tell you dont want? design clashes or out of budget or...? how much did your hood and hob cost? just wanna check to make sure i paid the same. asia excel right? pet why rejected? i coerced my mom to get it! after all, the entire renovation can be said to be solely handled by me, so i get free rein to design it! my only restriction? not too much black! booy yea it was after much headaches and dreaming of appliances that i decided to buy this. glad it is of help. and of cos i got some good tips so i have to share them. next tip is about Plasma/LCD tv. i'll try to make it more comprehensive since gadgets are the one thing i am very into. so those who are intending to get a tv, i will try to post something by this week and hope my advice can be a good guide for those getting TV. guy77 somehow when i went to genova, no one seems to want to serve me. must be thinking little girl dont want to buy stuff (well seriously, who goes all the way to boon keng to window shop at a bathroom/kitchen store???) so i left after 2 - 3 rounds of browsing with my mom and took a cab over to asia excel. i dont know if its me but genova doesnt seem to be that cheap. their cheap packages are not that great, service was bad that day since no one bothered to attend to me or my mom, much less ask us what we want. asia excel is much much better. desmond was patient in explaining what he knows, my mom likes that a lot. i like his concise explanation too, it helps me to choose what i want. and he is not that kinda salesman after high sales, in fact, when we were looking at kitchen taps, he told us the pros and cons of getting a franke tap and a cheapo $20 tap. recommended us to a mid range Pozzi tap which was $86, better value for money. these days you get what you pay. so naturally, pay peanuts get monkeys. Edited May 14, 2009 by aubrey Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 Ooo! Nice toilet windows! They look really good with the tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 ivy hahah yes the motif one at LSH. how come uncle say dont want! how can he tell you dont want? design clashes or out of budget or...? how much did your hood and hob cost? just wanna check to make sure i paid the same. asia excel right? The Uncle I referring tois my husband not uncle ah soon haahhaha. I got the hood+hob+oven at $1300. without the oven i think was quoted around $700+ ahhh can't quite remember. yah mine also from asia excel IMM branch Share this post Link to post Share on other sites