ivy 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 yah i dun like bronze also... maybe bcos i've been staring at my bronze grilles and frames for the past 6 years in my former flat that i got so sick of the colour le. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 wah... *sad* mine's bronze. UGLY! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 gulp.. my kitchen windows is bronze color. we're not changing it to save $$. so whole house windows changed but that. everything in powered white but my kitchen window. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 met uncle earlier just now. quite a bummer. thought he was going to discuss carpentry or sthing. turns out he only came to look at progress. well no complains at least he bothers to come and see for himself the pace of work. got to wait for the windows for my bath/WC to come in before they start on the tiling. the major works completed today includes leveling the walls for my kitchen wall tiles as my walls are very uneven, uncle said its very scary how uneven it was. from spreading || cement to | | this much. Picture time! From Day 2 - 4 My tiles that has arrived from Day 2 Kitchen wall hacked to the top Plastering of wall in bedroom - right hand side Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Day 3 - waterproofing of toilets more plastering Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Day 4 - more plastering still! but leads to my nice straight corners. WHOO! secret of straight lines these things are embedded within my cast iron pipe in the toilet has been changed! That's all for now. Will update with Day 5 on Sat as I have school tmr after work. NIGHT! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 WAH great to see the progress... and doesn't new pipe look good? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Wow... fast works. My plastering yet to start. They are starting the tilings today. The kitchen is looking good with the smooth white tiles Will be updating the progress on my blog Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 Quick Update! Fri / Sat / Sun (8 - 10 May) I am very surprised to see workers on Sat & Sun! The master tiler said that he saw our date of HO is on 28 May and he is afraid that the job can't be complete on time so he can back on Sat which was a PH and even Sun. The 2 other chinese workers also came in to help, but their attitude, not so good. 1 of them had a minor argument with the master tiler over a small issue. and he did not bring any tools, had to keep taking it (tape measurement, pen knife etc) from master tiler. which got him very annoyed. the other guy is still not too bad, albeit i find him slow. Over the weekend, the tiling of my toilet has started, as well as the kitchen wall tiles. plastering of my living room has been completed as well. On Sun we went over to Asia Excel and purchased out hob/hood as well as kitchen sink/toilet bowl/basin etc with them. did not buy a built in oven to shave costs. perhaps i will get a portable oven in the future. pictures shortly. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 WAh you're so lucky! I think your area is better. Uncle Soon once told me that Simei/Tampines Town Council is very stringent in enforcing Renovation Procedure. And during my reno, I really saw officers coming in to check and even after the reno too. It was quite scary. So Uncle never had any workers in my house doing "heavy" work on PH and Sundays... I think I know which Chinese tiler you're talking about. I had one who came to my house doing rectifications... SUPER slow.. walked about half the time not doing anything until Jason points out things to him. Looking forward to pictures!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 Yes. You're very lucky! I'll KP to Uncle if he appears later. ... not fair ! If they did works over the weekend, I'll be able to start my carpentry works earlier ....... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Michele 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 On Sun we went over to Asia Excel and purchased out hob/hood as well as kitchen sink/toilet bowl/basin etc with them. did not buy a built in oven to shave costs. perhaps i will get a portable oven in the future. Hi Aubrey, Your reno is quite fast I read your blog every day! My reno has completed! I'll share you my kitchen photo when I find the cable to transfer data from mobile phone to PC - Don't know where my hubby packed it. My hubby dislikes forum-things - all kind of forum .... so he doesn't allow me post photo of whole house Btw, do you intend to by a gas range instead of build-in hob? My friend got one. He put it on work-top of cabinet (standard height) and I feel it's too close too my face when I used it --> hot and dangerous! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 lol don't be jealous la... Workers who are willing to work on PH and Sundays are very few... cannot spread them around so many hours... oh ya. growler, I'm the one who went to kaypoh your blog and leave comments. haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 aubrey ur works are progressing fast! Gd that uncle is speeding things up for u. i love ur new PVC pipe, my regret that i forgot to ask uncle to chge. Don't the nice straight plastered edges just look lovely?? i had works going on in my house for almost every wkend too. Until neighbours come up n complain.. Jason told me one lah. So far, no complaints from town council.. heng ah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2009 growler!! pls dont KP uncle first. bcos it is just sticking of tiles and the workers all know we rented the place next door and we have to vacate by 28 may so they speed up for me. plus over the weekend it was just tiling which is relatively quiet u see. just dont want u to KP uncle till u understand.. the master tiler is also a very nice man. he knows that with every delay, ah soon will suffer losses so he hurry the works for him. its a very good r/s they have. its like.. "loyalty" to me. and master tiler works quietly cos if any loud noises police are liable to come over to stop the works and i heard they will fine uncle $2k. i was quite touched by his sensitivity and care for his boss. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites