familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 aubrey, your progress faster than mine!!! LOL Uncle's running all over the island checking the projects one by one i guess... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 pinklady that's our mountain of things to throw! there are some that we have not packed but most are to throw. those packed in boxes are chucked into our rented unit which feels like a garang guni's house. i need my place by 28 may as im currently renting the unit next to mine for this entire time. familyof4 i think the reason it's fast cos there's just so many rooms to hack, my house is really small compared to yours. i think my house is just half of your mansionette? or 3/4? so u can imagine. yea he must be since today is when growler's start. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 aubrey ahh! bigger holes = better tiling works! I didnt know that, mine was in a total mess, not like urs so neat! Pinkpetter and I got the irex one i think, we belong to the earlier batch. Now i think uncle throws in free blum runnings if there's not a lot of drawers. Basically i think must see what's the usage of kitchen like ba. My mum places all the bottles on the worktop, so it doesnt matter a lot to her how many drawers or how deep they must be. I suppose the kitchen belongs to ur mum? If she doesnt have any special requirements i think the basic things that uncle does will be sufficient. Toilet seat thing again ah, i think i lift up a lot lah. Cos hub lifts up when he uses, i put down again when its my turn. I can do with or without the soft closing but just need to be a little more patient in waiting for it to come down. haha! I think it shd be fine for u n mum! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 wahhh aubrey u so fierce!! Dong tu and u knock one big hole in ur wall??!! hahahah u very angry that time is it?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 mrspiglet actually! i dunno about that. just that since the tilers mentioned this and when uncle came and i told him about it, he did not object, i think it's fine. ya i found it quite neat, something like a design somehow. for kitchen, both myself and mom will cook. comparatively, i believe we are one of the heavy cookers here, we cook on avg 4 - 5 days in a week. there are days where we will cook everyday of the week but it just simple home cooked fair, mostly stir frying / frying and nothing much with deep frying. now that we are getting an oven i can whip up some baked rice and stuff! maybe shepard's pie too. yummy! u will not believe my mom. initially when i tried to sit her down to find out about the kitchen's requirements from her, she just said, oh whatever they do and the outcome of it, she will just use it. i was all into designing workspace based on our workflow yet she is so happy go lucky about it. if i really let her have her way i bet if she finds that if any part is not to her liking, she will blame it on uncle. which is not fair to him. so i am having a good time pouring over magazines and websites for ideas. and of cos i just wanted to know the price difference of blum and the one he provides as a gauge but he offered FOC to me so.. okay!! ahaha ok last point about the toilet, we'll just use it. my mom has not much comments on it so we will just get it. suddenly reminded me that i should have some kind of rack to serve as magazine rack or sthing. bet my mom will scream and say i waste time in the toilet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 wahhh aubrey u so fierce!! Dong tu and u knock one big hole in ur wall??!! hahahah u very angry that time is it?? hahaha no la just kidding with you guys! that wall was meant to be hacked to make way for the recessed tv console wall so they hacked it. and hor, i was quite shocked when they knocked it, uncle didnt even explain it to me!! but ok i trust him.. /starts to feel lost again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 hahaha no la just kidding with you guys! that wall was meant to be hacked to make way for the recessed tv console wall so they hacked it. and hor, i was quite shocked when they knocked it, uncle didnt even explain it to me!! but ok i trust him.. /starts to feel lost again oh chey!! i tot u really go and whack one big lobang there. hahahha dong tu just symbolic take hammer knock knock can liao. Anything not sure just ask uncle lor. I am the lazy type lah.. sometimes I prefer not to know too much details.. otherwise tiring.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 aubrey leave it to them. I also saw 2 big lobangs on my wall between kitchen and study...i was shocked and asked Hubby why they so chor lor...hehe... but now it's all sealed up and nice nice...so no worries, I'm sure they know their jobs well just QC the quality and the output Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 familyof4, ivy i dont even have the slightest inkling of what to expect when it comes to tv console & everything else. a little scary. like blindfolding you and getting u to feel around. but i suppose you are right, if i keep fussing, soon my hair is gonna fall off. i think uncle quite scared of me. keep telling me relaxing dont be so strung up, still early! im like... no cannottttt!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 the carpentry work he will send jason in to discuss with you once the tiling is more or less finalise. for mine he say he come and meet me for the carpentry thingy i was like huh ??? him ahh?? but he cannot draw leh... and uncle recently very absent minded.. keeps mixing up what i want. black frames become white frames. and he keep my cornices for me... i told him i dun want the cornice... not nice.. he say swee swee leh...aiyo... and he forgot that i wanted L boxes for bedrooms.... i thnk he needs gingko nuts Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 u dont want cornice? he wants to do cornice for me! i said dont need but he say nicer, foc for me. i must ask him about the cornice. to see if the cornice will cover up my electricity trunking (??) cos i dont want it to in case of future problems. and yes i agree! either gingko or PA. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 (edited) The toilet seat thingy ah... i think in the long run will spoil the mechanism if we push it down while its trying to close softly. But i understand that it wears out eventually, esp if we lift it up n down very frequently. The soft closing in my common toilet is already spoilt, in less than a year. The one in the mbr toilet is still working. I think there is a life span, and we shouldn't force it down when closing also, must let it go down by itself. Edited May 5, 2009 by lawry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 lawry ya it is! and can u imagine? dunno if its me or what but after standing there for not more than 30 mins and i am starting to itch. i am sooooo grateful i manage to get all things to work out and am staying next door!! just counting my blessings. it all started when i joined renotalk! and yes, i agree that a lot of progress have been made for such a short time, but i think the size of my house helps, after all, it's just a 3 room improved. It's still quite fast to have done hacking of all the tiles in the whole house, that feature wall and the pitted holes in preparation for tiling/plastering all within that short period. I'm very glad things are going very well for you, esp the option of renting a place right next door, what are the odds. Now you see the power of the dust already, cannot imagine staying there when renovation is ongoing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 u dont want cornice? he wants to do cornice for me! i said dont need but he say nicer, foc for me. i must ask him about the cornice. to see if the cornice will cover up my electricity trunking (??) cos i dont want it to in case of future problems. and yes i agree! either gingko or PA. Uncle very good ah... My cornices were $1100 lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2009 nice hacking progressing smoothly, hope to see the tiling and after pics soon!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites