familyof4

Our 2 Storey Abode

fannie, ok got it! im in almost same line as u. anws, pls carefully go over your carpentry with ah wei,make sure u ask all qns and dont be goondu like me. my friend who renovated her house 2 years back came to have a look at my place. tgt we noted that the recessed tv console has a depth of 16" or 41cm, can u imagine 41cm eating into my room? jason was supposed to do a bookshelf to hide the recessed area and a study table but now he KIV those two items. i mean, why cant he let me know the implications of all then i can reconsider my options? uncle say can, jason say see how first. how do u see how? if i dont like my console then tear it down? im not that unreasonable. he should have take me thru all the complications first. but he didnt. now KIV. best thing is i threw away all my book shelves. where am i going to house my books now? :(

aubrey I am lost for words already. Jason so far quite ok, just that he dun pre-empt any possible problems/implications on certain designs. I went into details with Ah Wei, so I am more "zai" now. I think mine should have lesser problems since ah wei metnioned that he will call me directly if any changes needed.

haiya the carpentry is giving me lots of headache. due to that wall, my kitchen cannot have too much drawers. i ask uncle if can extend my length he say its standard. it looks really tiny tho. nvm we shall see how then. :(

now issue with the above. i also dunno how to see how. haiyer.

aubrey, ask for exact measurements to help visualise. Many forummers here have very good insight in such things and are able to offer very good suggestions.

haiya the carpentry is giving me lots of headache. due to that wall, my kitchen cannot have too much drawers. i ask uncle if can extend my length he say its standard. it looks really tiny tho. nvm we shall see how then. :(

now issue with the above. i also dunno how to see how. haiyer.

Dunno what to say or how to help as well. Just can lend listening ear to u...hope everything will be solve to what u like...

the measurements are listed on the sketches but if u see, no measurements given at all for my kitchen! so pls, ask for all measurements, best to tell them give u 1 day to think thru the design. luckily the 16" is taking into consideration the thickness of the existing wall and the partition board due to be up. if not i think my room can just shrink into nothingness.

just make sure u clarify all issues when it comes to carpentry! and better not rely on the carpenter too much, think it over for yourself too.

aubrey, ask for exact measurements to help visualise. Many forummers here have very good insight in such things and are able to offer very good suggestions.

Agree. Ask for measurements. After all, u'll be the one using ur kitchen woh. If next time the work flow is not good, or the cabinets not what you want, it'll be very sad leh. :( I think so far the overall drawing of ur kitchen is good, as it really helps to visualize. Just ask them to amend on that, and also add in the measurements. At least u'll be able to look at that and ask them to change to ur needs accordingly. :)

angel, i will reply u in my tblog, not nice to hog fannie's blog.

fannie, just saw that u spoke to them about carpentry plus its a fair bit, so pls be careful and ask all eyes to help analyze for potential problems. hope its smooth for you. :)

Fannie, in the course of reno, esp when carpentry comes in, sure have dents/scratches on wall cos they are moving large pieces of wood, after all. As long as you point them out, the painters will plaster a bit and then paint over. This should rest your fears a bit.

As for carpentry, you got the a good guy under Uncle. Uncle has a few teams. According to Jason, Ah Wei is very trusted and good. Workmanship also good. Sigh.... why can't I get Ah Wei? Ah Wei did Fondue and their workmanship like got no problems, unlike mine.

So, overall, your reno in good hands.

As for electrical, everyone will get the same guy. As long as you are there to walk thru the points and give them drawings. good!

But for actual installation of lights, I make myself PRESENT to supervise. Lights, cannot put up and take down. Si-car-li, spoil along the way. You know what I mean.

I love my lights, so I dont want anything to happen to them.

As for installation of bathroom accessories, be PRESENT to tell them where to drill and put.

One of my spray was put in a wrong position. Jason/Uncle casually said can change. Now, how to change. If change, got to hack the tile, and this tile is behind my WC... we can't possibly shift that too. So, my conclusion, some things cannot be easily rectified. So I am living with a spray which can just wash my WC but not my own bathroom. SIGH... now I am looking for a longer hose spray. SIGH again!

So I hope this prepare you ahead.

Edited by Smallboy

Thanks Wendy!

Frankly I am hoping they can tell me exactly when to install the lights so that I can take leave and station myself there to make sure they do it correctly.

As for bathroom accessories, I hope they can arrange for the same day. I am beginning to feel tired already. West-town-east is no joke. My time with my kids are sriously compromised to make sure things are in place, and progress is well.

Thanks Wendy!

Frankly I am hoping they can tell me exactly when to install the lights so that I can take leave and station myself there to make sure they do it correctly.

As for bathroom accessories, I hope they can arrange for the same day. I am beginning to feel tired already. West-town-east is no joke. My time with my kids are sriously compromised to make sure things are in place, and progress is well.

gal hugs, u have to call jason or ah soon to insist they come on that same day to maximise your time. have to be firm on that.

ah wei is the sub con for quite a few famous ID in the market. think he is coming this sat to change my dishrack position (so we can put bigger plates :P)

for the measurements of the kitchen, don't leave it to the carpenters. one more impt thing is the top cabinets depth, it will hinder your preparation if the wrong depth is done.

he told me he'll out of town? He is going back to Msia.

Fondue, thanks for the tinker. I think I am quite comfortable as I kept asking him to show me exactly the depth. the height when he mentioned to me verbally :P So he showed me, using the measuring tape. Do you have your cabinet dimensions in your blog? maybe I can see see as reference?

he told me he'll out of town? He is going back to Msia.

Fondue, thanks for the tinker. I think I am quite comfortable as I kept asking him to show me exactly the depth. the height when he mentioned to me verbally :P So he showed me, using the measuring tape. Do you have your cabinet dimensions in your blog? maybe I can see see as reference?

the measurements need to take tonight then let u know :P

I went up to PR again today. Do you know what I see?

The entrance where the pebblewash flooring will be...

reno7003.jpg

in the living room...

reno7005.jpg

a close up on my cove lightings...

reno7006.jpg

MBR Cove light

reno7009.jpg

the entrance on my L2 common toilet...

reno7008.jpg

I am very happy to see this progress actually! Uncle says to do false ceilings and completed by today (DONE!), followed by flooring tomorrow and saturday...but when I called Uncle, he said the floor will be done tomrrow and next will be painting of the base for the whole house!

One thing very funny, I guess too many people asked him about my quotes and when I called him, and he picked up the phone, he immediately said "好了好了!我很忙,所以没空找你。" But we found out that the L1 common toilet is leaking, and I asked the plumber to change a tap for me, he didn't do so, and that faulty tap is still leaking. Uncle said he is going up to check (Uncle is at my place as I type this post).

My progress seems rather on track now...so I am hoping that the HO will not be affect too.