familyof4

Our 2 Storey Abode

Cheap quotes and everyting also ok is one thing. But if he can't do what he promises, then that's not very good. Like for those who have to shift in by a certain date due to FS reasons or flat sold off no place to stay, by postponing the handover date again and again.. Not very good.

Hehe, a PA would really help him. And his PA can call him up to remind him abt his next appt, instead of clients calling & reminding him. Pet, go for it and intro the pax u have in mind to Ah Soon. hehehe... Hopefully we'll hear good stuff soon, about him being on time for appts and stuff! :P

I agree on the part that he should take jobs only within his means instead of trying to fulfill all the job requests that goes to him.

It'll be better off for him, his reputation as well as all his customers. Pet, maybe hor u should pull uncle one side to teach him a little abt proper project and time management. He should set a quota. e.g. not more than 8 projects to start concurrently per month or something like that. He can't help nor satisfy all the referrals that goes to him but it's more important to make sure that whoever he takes, it is his responsibility to deliver a satisfactory job. Otherwise if this goes on, no one else will dare to appoint him with just a few satisfied customers singing praises but with many more customers expressing their displeasure. Being Mr Goody nice guy is one thing but the ability to deliver project with minimal hiccups is another.

I'll try to speak to him as well.

Completely agree. I'm worried for their health. Whenever I refer people I ask when and where their reno is.. and i note down. But I wonder if Uncle does that. I think he doesn't quite keep track of the number until the time is near.. lol

Pet/Angel:

I also told uncle he needs a PA :) Someone to help him with quotes and project planning...he is too busy already!

He definitely needs a PA... someone to keep track of every house he's doing and report to him at the end of the day... and help him do his draft quotations.

I agree with u, Angel.

I pin down a date to Jason cos we need to 安神 on a certain date. That is why I say I can delay my dateline, but i die die must get the house ready by then. I actually shift my HO 2 weeks later just to let them have some breathing space.

I agree with u, Angel.

I pin down a date to Jason cos we need to 安神 on a certain date. That is why I say I can delay my dateline, but i die die must get the house ready by then. I actually shift my HO 2 weeks later just to let them have some breathing space.

Ooo, so did Jason/Ah Soon say that the date is fine with them? Ur reno is going at a good speed now, so think should be ok bah rite? :)

Hehe, so it's confirmed liao lar! So many pple feel that Ah Soon needs a PA. Pet! Go for it and suggest! :P

Ooo, so did Jason/Ah Soon say that the date is fine with them? Ur reno is going at a good speed now, so think should be ok bah rite? :)

Hehe, so it's confirmed liao lar! So many pple feel that Ah Soon needs a PA. Pet! Go for it and suggest! :P

I told them, and they say should not be a problem...so I am hoping for the best. Quite sad that some other fellow uncle's customers are unable to meet their datelines and missing appointments actually.

Pet, go ahead and suggest the idea of introducing the PA. I am sure it helps!

Just to share my idea to help uncle manage his business better.

My opinion is :

Uncle be in the frontline to gather businesses, RFQ, negotiation and signing of agreement only.

PA will convert all chinese drafts into english quote. PM will calculate time requirement and submit gantt chart. PA send out quote and gantt chart to customer for approval.

After agreement sign, the two PM will take over till deliver. PM will also double as QC to hand over.

Currently situation is that Uncle handles Sales, RFQ, project planning, tiling, windows, QC. I think that is too much to handle if the number of project increases.

If uncle wants to reduce cost of getting PA. I think many of us will offer our help after office hour. Depending on the location, he can just pass send/fax the chinese draft to us for conversion and we can send softcopy to his son's email address.

Edited by gaku70

Just to share my idea to help uncle manage his business better.

My opinion is :

Uncle be in the frontline to gather businesses, RFQ, negotiation and signing of agreement only.

PA will convert all chinese drafts into english quote. PM will calculate time requirement and submit gantt chart. PA send out quote and gantt chart to customer for approval.

After agreement sign, the two PM will take over till deliver. PM will also double as QC to hand over.

Currently situation is that Uncle handles Sales, RFQ, project planning, tiling, windows, QC. I think that is too much to handle if the number of project increases.

If uncle wants to reduce cost of getting PA. I think many of us will offer our help after office hour. Depending on the location, he can just pass send/fax the chinese draft to us for conversion and we can send softcopy to his son's email address.

Gaku, very well thought plan. I can volunteer for west side project since my place and office in the west. Really dun mind helping out so that other new house owners can still get the reno work done at a good price. cos I really think uncle's pricing and personality is hard to come back

i second the idea of a PA. even i dont mind helping if he pays me too! :P but really he keeps taking on new biz, i think its hard to juggle. he shld come up with departments eg he does the frontline work of getting biz n quoting, passing on hacking stuff to elder brother, carpentry to jason, then perhaps either himself or assign his protege to handle rectifications. will be much more effective that way.

plus ivy, i think uncle is like yous boss now. he is doing that 1 thing in 1 call cos he simply cant remember all now.

growler, with uncle i also give and take. i dont really call him unless i have to, if not he will call me. there are times where he missed my calls and dont return, i just let it slide. at the end of the day if the reno is ok with minor rectifications, not counting your toilet door as minor, i can live with tt lar.. i think i gotta play cheat a little here, try to delay last payment perhaps? to get his attention for the rectifications, if any.

ivy: oops. i din noe joseph same age as me. maybe is smoking. in this line, they may smoke heavily.

not complaining about uncle. but just airing my views. i still believe he will do a good job. but sometimes, it is tiring to just wait and wait.

Gaku, very well thought plan. I can volunteer for west side project since my place and office in the west. Really dun mind helping out so that other new house owners can still get the reno work done at a good price. cos I really think uncle's pricing and personality is hard to come back

I don't know if this can be work out but we need many of the uncle supporter to help if uncle agrees. Maybe pet can ask him and then we can work our the demarcation zone.

For me working in extreme west and living in extreme east. :D

well thought plan, Gaku :) I think uncle really needs someone who cal really plan rather then their old skool kinda way of doing biz esp when they have high loads.

we are all planning for uncle so hoping that more owners can benefit from the good deal uncle gives ya :P

I think project management wise I think it'll be uch more effective and efficient if he really has someone to plan for him.