familyof4

Our 2 Storey Abode

for old flats, usually its provided with 30amps main switch so max running current is only 8.5amps...whereas for newer flats with 40amps or old flats with upgraded main switch, most air cons can fulfilled this conditions....

my house was under the old one so they did say only can install inverter air con if i want sys 4 which i did....i also ask them if i on all 4 air cons at the same time will it cause power trip to the block...was told will not have such problem but i don't think i want to try it out....at most my air con will be using 3 units at one go....

you can check if your block is under the 30, 40 or upgrading one here http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bn25/isos119p.nsf/Search?OpenForm

Cheers!!

thanks jam.

Mine is

Your block has not been provided with higher electrical loading. You will need to apply for an HDB permit to install new 15 Amps power points for air-conditioners or other higher capacity equipment/appliances (e.g. high powered IT equipment).

thanks jam.

Mine is

Your block has not been provided with higher electrical loading. You will need to apply for an HDB permit to install new 15 Amps power points for air-conditioners or other higher capacity equipment/appliances (e.g. high powered IT equipment).

that's right....you gonna go for window unit?

If there is no other choices.. I might need to go for the window unit. I will chat with some air con companies and seek more opinions (if any). Otherwise....might just consider the natural wind.. depend on the weatherman up above us. heehee :P

in sunny singapore...kind of tough...talk to a few more air con specialist....we went to GC and spoke to different outlets salesmen to have a better idea too....

Thanks. I will do that. :)

That's what i was talking about regarding the current =p. Another reason why you would want to use 3+1 is btu (cooling capacity). Say using a system 4 with a 8.9kW compressor running a 2.5kW+2.5kW+2.5kW+5k setup. If you turn on all 4 fancoils together, all 4 fancoils will not be able to perform at their peak cooling capacity! 2.5kW+2.5kW+2.5kW+5kW > 8.9kW. They will be running less than max and it could be potentially not cooling enough. Which will just be a waste of electricity. A system 3+1 can eliminate this problem. 7.5kW compressor running 3x2.5kW fancoils and a single split aircon system. You can read the singapore air-con blog for more information.

Oh, other than window mounted, maybe you can also consider portable air-con?

That's what i was talking about regarding the current =p. Another reason why you would want to use 3+1 is btu (cooling capacity). Say using a system 4 with a 8.9kW compressor running a 2.5kW+2.5kW+2.5kW+5k setup. If you turn on all 4 fancoils together, all 4 fancoils will not be able to perform at their peak cooling capacity! 2.5kW+2.5kW+2.5kW+5kW > 8.9kW. They will be running less than max and it could be potentially not cooling enough. Which will just be a waste of electricity. A system 3+1 can eliminate this problem. 7.5kW compressor running 3x2.5kW fancoils and a single split aircon system. You can read the singapore air-con blog for more information.

Oh, other than window mounted, maybe you can also consider portable air-con?

Yeah! The calculation make sense to me. I think I have few options.

1. Window mounted.

2. portable.

3. fan!

4. Forget it...natural wind.

All the 4 and 3+1 thingy making me hungry to go for frog porridge. lols. :P Buy 3 frog. give u 1 free. lols.

Yeah! The calculation make sense to me. I think I have few options.

1. Window mounted.

2. portable.

3. fan!

4. Forget it...natural wind.

All the 4 and 3+1 thingy making me hungry to go for frog porridge. lols. :P Buy 3 frog. give u 1 free. lols.

>_<" dots lor.... your stomach rule your brain aready lah. go and feed it before it starts thinking about even more exotic food =p

I read all the posts about air con... I've been analysing that aircon blog.. but... I'm still blur. nvm I shall get the window one. :) hahah

ok. But just to let you know lah. Window is less efficient leh pet. Cooling capacity must really be well matched especially for window aircon. Plus it's also very noisy. I have both standard aircon and window aircon in my parents' place and i can tell you i much prefer standard aircon for its quietness and good and even cooling. Even though installation is a hassle and the piping is **** ugly! =p

actually even to me till now still find it hard to understand the whole thing about air con....as long as will not cause electric trip, i'm ok... ;) too chim liao....initially still try to find out more about it....

but i think what storm control says make sense...and i remember the last guy we sign up with also told us if i on all 4, just that the coolness takes longer time....

ok. But just to let you know lah. Window is less efficient leh pet. Cooling capacity must really be well matched especially for window aircon. Plus it's also very noisy. I have both standard aircon and window aircon in my parents' place and i can tell you i much prefer standard aircon for its quietness and good and even cooling. Even though installation is a hassle and the piping is **** ugly! =p

mmm I know.. but I have a good and working system 2 right now in the first two rooms and only my brother and I don't have air con. So in order to hack out everything and re run will cost a lot of money. I rarely turn on aircon.. it's just my brother who suffers... so am thinking of doing it for us I guess. :) Thanks for the headsup. What brands are your parents using btw?

wow...over a night and it's the talk about aircon! :)

no worry about posting here red devil :) hmm...I did ask about system 4 before...in the end we decided to only have 3 bedrooms with aircon.

about the elect supply, like pet, i did try to read the aircon blog, but some of the stuff I can't digest...so gave up.

Red devil, is the aircon a must? I remember u say u want to put one in your hall? the area is rather big and do u think one aircon can really cool the place down? my previous owner uses 2 aircon in the hall, 1 in the MBR and their kids' room with a window unit.

How about ceiling fan? depending on natural quite risky leh...:P

wow...over a night and it's the talk about aircon! :)

no worry about posting here red devil :) hmm...I did ask about system 4 before...in the end we decided to only have 3 bedrooms with aircon.

about the elect supply, like pet, i did try to read the aircon blog, but some of the stuff I can't digest...so gave up.

Red devil, is the aircon a must? I remember u say u want to put one in your hall? the area is rather big and do u think one aircon can really cool the place down? my previous owner uses 2 aircon in the hall, 1 in the MBR and their kids' room with a window unit.

How about ceiling fan? depending on natural quite risky leh...:P

I am open to all options at the moment. Stormcontrol is right on the spot on Window mounted air con. I have experience with it..is noisy and not that cooling afterall.. Was hoping technology might have improve over the decade as the one I had was 10 yrs ago.

and Ya lor...Ceiling fan is one of the options... But if can do without it...better...cause....must wipe! heehee. :P Or else hang a battery operated portable fan around all our neck. hahaha...kidding...