familyof4

Our 2 Storey Abode

hahah oops I just realise my previous comment seems weird. What I meant was that the wardrobe seems thick and very solid. It looks like those of very very good quality and I agree that it's nice to have the laminates on the inside too. Did that cost you more?

hi pinkpetter, it is because 2 pcs vertical plywood at each section that makes it looks thicker. this is also for supporting the rack.

>.< looking at your carpentry pics makes me a little depressed. both of us paid for our works, both of us got uncle. but my carpentry loses out to yours by a mile. or even more. sigh... all these bloody sub con. i totally detest the previous carpenter now. i wanted ah wei but uncle told me cannot. i told him i dont mind waiting also cannot. now if i want to change my mind and insist on ah wei also cannot already since i spoke to ah di. maybe i will ask uncle to show me ah di's work first.

reno8016.jpg

this doufu thing of yours so thick. u should see mine, its maybe 0.5cm thick. wah sian.

familyof4 >> That's great to hear! I saw the carpenter climbing up and down on my stuff so I didn't worry about the wood quality and didn't test it. It's good for you to be "messing" around with the things since you're there anyway... better than to regret later ma :)

I reallie like your study table with the round corner :)..

Btw I think we also have the same drawer design for the wardrobe...are you the one who proposed the idea to awei also?

The wardrobe is very CD look-alike! Gd that ah wei can replicate similar one for u. I like ur rounded edge study table... like designer piece leh. Gongkia intending to do a bookshelve with uncle, i wonder how much will that cost. :unsure:

My aunt who used to stay in EM had her storerm under the stairs too! I think its better than having a big storerm n stacking things high above... i have to use a ladder to retrieve my things... :(

the wardrobe hor, i pluck the idea from CD and CR :x I love their wardrobe esp the pole system, after much deiberation, decided to do it my way as the pole system has no backing, really not easy to stack clothes. So a bit here and there makes up my wardrobe.

hi pinkpetter, it is because 2 pcs vertical plywood at each section that makes it looks thicker. this is also for supporting the rack.

>.< looking at your carpentry pics makes me a little depressed. both of us paid for our works, both of us got uncle. but my carpentry loses out to yours by a mile. or even more. sigh... all these bloody sub con. i totally detest the previous carpenter now. i wanted ah wei but uncle told me cannot. i told him i dont mind waiting also cannot. now if i want to change my mind and insist on ah wei also cannot already since i spoke to ah di. maybe i will ask uncle to show me ah di's work first.

reno8016.jpg

this doufu thing of yours so thick. u should see mine, its maybe 0.5cm thick. wah sian.

aubrey, don't get upset. probably ah di is good too? I think after the saga u had, uncle will be very cautious with the carpenters too.

in fact, i find the doufu darwer too thick. I thought i would be better to look thinner since it carries less heavy load.

familyof4 >> That's great to hear! I saw the carpenter climbing up and down on my stuff so I didn't worry about the wood quality and didn't test it. It's good for you to be "messing" around with the things since you're there anyway... better than to regret later ma :)

if your works can take thier weight, u are safe! I also saw one big guy climbing up and down, but i still kpo especially with sub-cons, even if i know ah wei delivers, I better play safe by fiddling with the stuff :P

I reallie like your study table with the round corner :)..

Btw I think we also have the same drawer design for the wardrobe...are you the one who proposed the idea to awei also?

yup, i was the one who sent the pictures to ah wei. initally wanted a glass at the front, dismissed the idea later on when i came to terms that no one will pay attention to the drawers in the wardrobe after the clothes and doors are up. hehe...

the study table's edge is Hubby's idea...he scared our little boy knock himself as he is more active then my gal. Initially I was afraid it'll look really bulky, but glad that it blended well with the whole design.

i am really upset and disappointed. how not to be? if roles were reversed i think you would be too. im dont feel confident with ah di, unless i see some of his works. initially ytd i was excited but today i feel a little uncertain. why cant i just wait for ah wei if im willing to? i think i better re-think all my carpentry now.

u can try speaking to uncle to ask ah di to show you his works? I know what u mean, we paid the same money yet the sub-con gave such works. don't feel sad yet...since ah di has yet to do anything, things can still be discussed.

reno8016.jpg

Aubrey, don't feel depressed. All things are not created equally. Since Ah Wei work is very good, everyone will want to use him, including me. I was also being pushed from one carpenter to another.

Frankly my carpenter workmanship is not up to my expectation. But those that I really cannot accept I will let him know and ask him to change. For example there is a glass chipped in my shoe rack door which if one accidentally touch will cut the finger, I have ask him to change it. The good thing about my carpenter is that he is willing to accept the problem and rectify.

I think it is a good idea to look at Ah Di's work or another way is to talk to the house owners whose carpentry is done by him. I believe most owner will scrutinise the work done.

sorry fannie, i didnt mean to rain on your parade.. just cant help but feel depressed. im happy that you got ah wei and therefore the better works. in a way good that others can read my experience and avoid it. im happy for you that u got great works from ah wei. worth all the waiting and every penny spent. :)

as for myself, i will talk to uncle about showing me ah di's works first. if really still cannot and ah wei is not available, i rather not go ahead least i have to live with it and look at it all day long. my tv console is enough. its not bad to a point where its unacceptable but its just not what i asked for.

like ordering a cheeseburger and getting a chicken burger. still edible but not what u want. dont mind me. :)

sorry fannie, i didnt mean to rain on your parade.. just cant help but feel depressed. im happy that you got ah wei and therefore the better works. in a way good that others can read my experience and avoid it. im happy for you that u got great works from ah wei. worth all the waiting and every penny spent. :)

as for myself, i will talk to uncle about showing me ah di's works first. if really still cannot and ah wei is not available, i rather not go ahead least i have to live with it and look at it all day long. my tv console is enough. its not bad to a point where its unacceptable but its just not what i asked for.

like ordering a cheeseburger and getting a chicken burger. still edible but not what u want. dont mind me. :)

*huggies* understand u, aubrey. Like gaku said, things were never fair. Besides ah wei, i believe there are also better carpenter under uncle. probably recently more people talk about him, that why we all know him?

all my stuff were not fully up yet, so to say I am perfectly happy might be too early. i have a little complain on my kids' wardrobe door, will take a picture to show when it is up.

Aubrey, my current carpenter workmanship is not so good but the good thing is that he is very responsive and willing to rectify. Actually he is the boss and his worker make the carpentry. If you like, I can take some photos for you to see.

talking about pictures...i realised Gaku seldom post pictures! :P can can...post some pictures and show us ok?

Good to know that they are willing to rectify the problems. it sorta value add too :)