familyof4

Our 2 Storey Abode

he's really has too much project on hand.

yest he called he wanna meet me. but in the end, no. only ask uncle joseph (aka boh geh) to come collect cheque.

today he said wanna meet me at 8. but again no call. i am so tired today tat i dun even bother to rush him.

call him tmr but again i doubt he will appear.

and i sian until i never turn up at my place today to look at the progress.

sigh...

Even though I have always said objectively that Uncle's price is no where to run and I'm prepared to accept the project management responsibility, I'm getting abit pissed off because Uncle seems to be avoiding my calls. The only calls he take seemed to be from familyof4, ivy, smallboy, pinkpetter?? He even said that “你一直催我让我很难做工”... I was like ... W** ???? If Uncle was not so forgetful and require us to remind him all the time, I would not have resorted to tracking his movement like a shadow and chasing him for updates.

He promised to let me shift in on thursday with the plumbing and electricity done up. He missed his deadline and his workers never appear to clear the rubbish. Both the plumber and electrician also never turned up. Ended up, I'm now staying in a flat with only 1 usable toilet with a damaged door (by his workers) with no toilet lights.

I believed he would fly his aeroplane again tomorrow regarding the painting - he said he will buy the paint and put it at my unit today (friday) but he didn't. I doubt his workers will appear to complete the painting job on sat and sun. He also said that he will arrange his plumber and electrician down (again) tomorrow. Let's see if Uncle really meant what he said tomorrow ....

uhmm actually i seldom call uncle. At most I call him once in 3-4 days to tell him things that I think needs his attention. Like my fat fat skirting which I mentioned in my T-blog. Uncle did says he will go up to see but he has yet find time. I also called him regarding my windows that don't looks too tinted. Other than that I just leave it to his workers to do the work while I go up everyday to look look see see.

Yesterday he miss my call and did not return my call either. So really.. the treatment is homogenous. I can understand how uncle feels man, assuming each owner calls him once a day!! I am planning for office reno and hor my boss hor everyday call me a few times regarding the reno. Then hor he call me tell me 1 thing at a time... e.g ivy tell ID I want poster frames in consult room. next call Ivy tell ID I want signage and labelling for my room. next call, Ivy tell ID I want glass cabinets in blah blah room.... All these can be mentioned all in 1 shot in a meeting, which I think is more constructive and efficient.. and somethings ahhh are understood mah!! e.g signage and labelling... now when i see his number I'll start mumbling some curse with my face all screwed up hahahahha ohhh sorry for the rant.... got carried away...

anyway growler I sympathise with you.. cos u have to live in such condition... I need to call uncle later to ask for my laminate samples.. he owe me very long le.. my tiling almost done but yet to select my laminate floor... will maximise the call and help to remind him of ur paint work. poor you.. i can't imagine living in a disrepair toilet...

he's really has too much project on hand.

yest he called he wanna meet me. but in the end, no. only ask uncle joseph (aka boh geh) to come collect cheque.

today he said wanna meet me at 8. but again no call. i am so tired today tat i dun even bother to rush him.

call him tmr but again i doubt he will appear.

and i sian until i never turn up at my place today to look at the progress.

sigh...

hi guyy77 u call boh geh uncle ahhh?? I also call him uncle leh but hor so funny, when I address him uncle, uncle ah soon says :" ehhh u call him uncle ahhh? don't call him uncle lah he is only 32-33 leh very young man" I was like ehhhh I think these people are really overwork... they all look older than their age... uncle ah soon inclusive...

Edited by ivy

I have a differing view. Yeak will stop accepting jobs for a certain month once he knows he cannot have his full attention. Uncle simply just hire more workers and pray for the best. At most just rectify if things go wrong. We can see that he's even subcontracting the quotation job.

As a contractor, he must know that it is his responsibility to attend to owner's call.

Called uncle this morning at 9am. Said he will appear at around 9.40am. Didn't appear.

I have a differing view. Yeak will stop accepting jobs for a certain month once he knows he cannot have his full attention. Uncle simply just hire more workers and pray for the best. At most just rectify if things go wrong. We can see that he's even subcontracting the quotation job.

As a contractor, he must know that it is his responsibility to attend to owner's call.

Called uncle this morning at 9am. Said he will appear at around 9.40am. Didn't appear.

Har? Uncle Soon seems to be falling abit in standard? I rem that time pinkpetter said that Ah Soon said that he'll do a good job for all, as all of us share info in RT. If he gets a bad name, he'll get lesser biz. How come now like that? :(

i think maybe he feel got obligation to fulfill the jobs and unknowingly it gets so much that he probably finds it hard to handle....like what pet says maybe its time someone gets him a PDA to remind him and keep track of all the reno progress.... ;)

Hehe, maybe he needs a secretary to take his calls and remind him abt his appts. Then at least he won't be taking all calls and can do his work without distractions. :)

that will be a good alternative.....at least all the customers will get their calls and concerns answered....

wahha I dun mind if Uncle pays me. lalallala :) I need a break from work. urgh.

Then I can type all the angmor quotation for him also. :P

Edited by pinkpetter

Hehe, confirm must be u liao lar! And u can get more biz for him as well through RT! So u'll be secretary and sales person rolled into one. Uncle Soon should pay you twice the amt then. heheheheheeh :dancingqueen:

Edited by Angel81

agree... its got to be you!!!!tell uncle la....then will reduce the hiccups along the way...more efficient and cost savings...

hahah and I have email and have a fax machine at home wor...

On top of that I know how to design simple website. LOL

*talking as if it's going to be real* siao.

hahah and I have email and have a fax machine at home wor...

On top of that I know how to design simple website. LOL

*talking as if it's going to be real* siao.

it can be real....and some more if uncle biz want to expand, he'll need all these...go talk to him la...

I agree on the part that he should take jobs only within his means instead of trying to fulfill all the job requests that goes to him.

It'll be better off for him, his reputation as well as all his customers. Pet, maybe hor u should pull uncle one side to teach him a little abt proper project and time management. He should set a quota. e.g. not more than 8 projects to start concurrently per month or something like that. He can't help nor satisfy all the referrals that goes to him but it's more important to make sure that whoever he takes, it is his responsibility to deliver a satisfactory job. Otherwise if this goes on, no one else will dare to appoint him with just a few satisfied customers singing praises but with many more customers expressing their displeasure. Being Mr Goody nice guy is one thing but the ability to deliver project with minimal hiccups is another.

I'll try to speak to him as well.

Growler:

So sorry to hear that uncle missed ur appointments, datelines and even avoided your calls. Actually uncle will also miss my calls. Sometimes he calls back, sometimes he doesn't. If he missed your calls, call him again and again...I am sure he will pick up for sure. Actually i also hope uncle can let me know what is the follwing items that needs to be done. Like the false ceiling guys, plumbing guys and all...they are supposed to turn up on Monday, came yesterday. I was quite shocked to see a house full of workers.

Hope uncle can meet u up soon. Cos I think the house condition is not easy to live in...plus you have kids.

Ashes:

Remind uncle again. Maybe I help u to remind him if I see him? I will insist final payment to be made only when they finish rectifying my house. I hope everything will be smooth.

Pet/Angel:

I also told uncle he needs a PA :) Someone to help him with quotes and project planning...he is too busy already!

haha Uncle actually want to earn enough then stop liao.. he said he old liao cannot run ard so much. :) Will ask him if he needs one. :) but not me la. I have someone in mind.:)