xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 i've added my portion into your spreadsheet. uncle's meeting me later to pass me my quotation (hopefully in ENGLISH).. reno starts tomorrow.. FINNALLY.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 That's great ! Wishing you a great start tomorrow:) Btw, my group of tilers have been reassigned to 102 "Mang Gar Kar" ... wonder who's that? Update on my plumbing and electrical works: I'm still waiting for them to appear. I've taken half day leave and I'm sitting here waiting for them. Wasted my half-day ... sianz ...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 oh no.. i dun hv so much time to take offs.. audit month... super busy.. your place looks great .. dun worry...shouldnt hv any more hiccups..crossing my fingers and toes for mine too.. juz saw the reno permit via hdb online is till 11 JUNE?? hmm.. i wonder if they can complete the full overhual in 20 days?? opps.. i hv yet to purchase the kitchen hobs and all and the toilet stufff... gasping for air in midst of work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 Pet, yes, that is the wall we are all anxiously waiting for the permit the past few weeks. It is now possible and I love the space mmm Uncle suggested to get rid of it for my house.. I wasn't sure it could be done... but I did ask him to go ahead and apply for it... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2009 i've added my portion into your spreadsheet. uncle's meeting me later to pass me my quotation (hopefully in ENGLISH).. reno starts tomorrow.. FINNALLY.. Congrats!!! wishing yours will be smooth smooth !!! oh no.. i dun hv so much time to take offs.. audit month... super busy.. your place looks great .. dun worry...shouldnt hv any more hiccups..crossing my fingers and toes for mine too.. juz saw the reno permit via hdb online is till 11 JUNE?? hmm.. i wonder if they can complete the full overhual in 20 days?? opps.. i hv yet to purchase the kitchen hobs and all and the toilet stufff... gasping for air in midst of work. tell uncle, he will pay more attention to your reno if you let him know you do not have much time to jaga your reno. mmm Uncle suggested to get rid of it for my house.. I wasn't sure it could be done... but I did ask him to go ahead and apply for it... If it is not structural wall, it should be k. but my HDb officer blur blur, that's why took SOOOOO long for the approval. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 familyof4 wow great progress!!! finally things are moving along for u. cant wait to see the finised product! growler mang ga kar (mosquito bite leg lol) is macpherson according to my mom. i think its bodo's place.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 Uncle just left and going to gaku's place. Btw, elaine, please call uncle;) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 Uncle just left and going to gaku's place. Btw, elaine, please call uncle;) I should have smsed you to ask uncle to look into my electrical and plumbing works .... alas i was at a meeting and i only have access now .... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 i just came back from PR and is quite happy with the progress Photos unable to download. Something's wrong with my iPhone so I shall try loading later Tiling Good progress. in fact all done for Hall, kitchen, balcony, 3 toilets etc. Happy with what I see. they rectified the mosaics but still uneven. Uncle saw and told me, "放心,我叫他们敲掉重做。" Nothing beats Uncle's assurance like such I was rather disappointed to see only ONE worker at work when we went there in the morning. Later, the electrcian came, followed by my delivery of the toilet fittings, aircon guys all came around the same time. This makes me really busy busy busy... Soon after, Jason came. He was early (so I thought)...BUt he told me he can only come around 5pm. I was tired, so told him if he can't come at 3pm, we shall meet another day. He confirmed on Sunday morning. We talked about the elect works, wiring and stuff, and he left. My lightings came too I went out for lunch... When I came back, the aluminium guy was working on the remaining window frames and another elect guy joined Ah Tan with the elect works and they confirmed that it will be done by tomorrow and the false ceiling guys came, then the 5 guys doing the plumbing works came too! So crowded!!! I quickly settled the location of various stuff and scooted off. Too tired staying there for the whole day and it was so warm today! Uncle and Jason both said my house should be able to HO by 3 weeks' time. I am really hoping to see the carpentry works...my fruit of labour Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 mang gar kar is my place. hahaha growler: ur grp of tiles ok or not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 WAH familyof4.. yours really seems quick... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 (edited) mang gar kar is my place. hahaha growler: ur grp of tiles ok or not? Are you 102 Mang Gar Kar? I suppose so yah? My group of tilers (if Uncle never change last minute) are good. The main guy is 肥仔 or ah how. He's merticulous and it would be best if you discuss with him upfront how you want the tiles. You can tell him how you would like to lay your mosaic and draw the orientation on the wall for him. Also need to add that as they are subcontractors of Ah Soon, everyday counts and they charge by the floor area that they tile, not the time. So the faster they can complete the work, the earlier they get paid. They are also not the type that work 3 days rest 2 days. For my case, the only grouse I had was they don't work on weekends. Other than that, Ah How is very nice as he will work till around 7+ to finish up what's left so that the next day will be able to have a head start. I've already PMed you my contact. The pics for the tilers are in my blog. You can do a match Edited May 15, 2009 by growler Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 i just came back from PR and is quite happy with the progress Photos unable to download. Something's wrong with my iPhone so I shall try loading later Tiling Good progress. in fact all done for Hall, kitchen, balcony, 3 toilets etc. Happy with what I see. they rectified the mosaics but still uneven. Uncle saw and told me, "放心,我叫他们敲掉重做。" Nothing beats Uncle's assurance like such I was rather disappointed to see only ONE worker at work when we went there in the morning. Later, the electrcian came, followed by my delivery of the toilet fittings, aircon guys all came around the same time. This makes me really busy busy busy... Soon after, Jason came. He was early (so I thought)...BUt he told me he can only come around 5pm. I was tired, so told him if he can't come at 3pm, we shall meet another day. He confirmed on Sunday morning. We talked about the elect works, wiring and stuff, and he left. My lightings came too I went out for lunch... When I came back, the aluminium guy was working on the remaining window frames and another elect guy joined Ah Tan with the elect works and they confirmed that it will be done by tomorrow and the false ceiling guys came, then the 5 guys doing the plumbing works came too! So crowded!!! I quickly settled the location of various stuff and scooted off. Too tired staying there for the whole day and it was so warm today! Uncle and Jason both said my house should be able to HO by 3 weeks' time. I am really hoping to see the carpentry works...my fruit of labour Even though I have always said objectively that Uncle's price is no where to run and I'm prepared to accept the project management responsibility, I'm getting abit pissed off because Uncle seems to be avoiding my calls. The only calls he take seemed to be from familyof4, ivy, smallboy, pinkpetter?? He even said that “你一直催我让我很难做工”... I was like ... W** ???? If Uncle was not so forgetful and require us to remind him all the time, I would not have resorted to tracking his movement like a shadow and chasing him for updates. He promised to let me shift in on thursday with the plumbing and electricity done up. He missed his deadline and his workers never appear to clear the rubbish. Both the plumber and electrician also never turned up. Ended up, I'm now staying in a flat with only 1 usable toilet with a damaged door (by his workers) with no toilet lights. I believed he would fly his aeroplane again tomorrow regarding the painting - he said he will buy the paint and put it at my unit today (friday) but he didn't. I doubt his workers will appear to complete the painting job on sat and sun. He also said that he will arrange his plumber and electrician down (again) tomorrow. Let's see if Uncle really meant what he said tomorrow .... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ashes02 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 growler me too, Uncle seems to be avoiding my calls. believe it or not, there are still rectifications not done, its been almost a mth since my reno completed and i sorta give up liao. even Jason also abit bochup abt my hse now. the last call i get from Uncle is to pay him the last payment and tats it. 1mth no contact him le. somehow i feel, he only bother abt those big big reno lor, we small fry nia~~ all the best and hope Uncle will turn up tomoro at ur hse! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2009 (edited) growler me too, Uncle seems to be avoiding my calls. believe it or not, there are still rectifications not done, its been almost a mth since my reno completed and i sorta give up liao. even Jason also abit bochup abt my hse now. the last call i get from Uncle is to pay him the last payment and tats it. 1mth no contact him le. somehow i feel, he only bother abt those big big reno lor, we small fry nia~~ all the best and hope Uncle will turn up tomoro at ur hse! Thank you ashes. I really hope i'm not the 3rd runway tomorrow ........ Have you paid the final payment? If so, there's simply no incentive for uncle to return your call or appear at your doorstep... As for the rectifications, you must insist that they are done as you've paid good money for it. If it's FOC, even if it's substandard, i'll accept. Uncle must know this fact right. We are his customers, thus we have the right to get our house done up in the agreed timing and in the manner that we want. If not, why are we paying money for ?? We might as well get some cement and start to plaster our walls ourselves and go to SL/LSH and order the tiles to be shipped directly to us and we go to some hardware shop to buy the adhesive to stick the tiles??? This is totally unacceptable ... Edited May 15, 2009 by growler Share this post Link to post Share on other sites