ivy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 ohhh at first when he says he will usu give owner 1 box i thought he give 1 box of a mixture of all the tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Ivy, to reply u...uncle's throwing in BLUM for me!!! Yippee!!!! Uncle took my tiles and he says he go back and see see and will start hacking on Monday, total about 3 days to finish hacking and I already can't wait!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Ivy, to reply u...uncle's throwing in BLUM for me!!! Yippee!!!! Uncle took my tiles and he says he go back and see see and will start hacking on Monday, total about 3 days to finish hacking and I already can't wait!!! :jawdrop: :jawdrop: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ashes02 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 woah!! Uncle really spoil market! haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 but to be fair, uncle didn't give me lotsa freebies lah...I told him I don;t want freebies...so long price kept at a good figure can liao. Then he smile and smile...and said he throw in for me lah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Wow, he is giving you the track and tandem box? That's good Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 familyof4 i think i wanna tell him that too, dont want the freebies, its alright, price-wise gimme a nice one! pinkpetter yea kitchen pipes have been changed to PVC. 1 pipe in bathroom still cast iron so say want to change. but i dunno it wanna change it or just give it a new paint job and save the $200. oh wells. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 familyof4 i think i wanna tell him that too, dont want the freebies, its alright, price-wise gimme a nice one! pinkpetter yea kitchen pipes have been changed to PVC. 1 pipe in bathroom still cast iron so say want to change. but i dunno it wanna change it or just give it a new paint job and save the $200. oh wells. i suggest u go ahead to replace the cast iron pipe. Cos cast iron pipe sure leak and in future after ur reno it starts leaking and then u replace, the replacement work will create a little mess lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 aubrey, better get it changed so that it saves you from trouble months or even years later Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 didn't want to steal aubrey's blog to ask this... Pet, mrspiglet and ashes... May I know in how many phases did you guys pay uncle and each at how many percent? I asked him and he say anything lah...any amount lah...i also duno how to start! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gongkia 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 didn't want to steal aubrey's blog to ask this... Pet, mrspiglet and ashes... May I know in how many phases did you guys pay uncle and each at how many percent? I asked him and he say anything lah...any amount lah...i also duno how to start! We pay in 3 phases actually: 40, 30 and 30. Initially he mentioned something like 40. 20, 20, 10, 10. Somehow along the way, it became the 3 phases, haha. It doesn't matter to us cos he's quite prompt but u might wan to confirm with him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 We pay in 3 phases actually: 40, 30 and 30. Initially he mentioned something like 40. 20, 20, 10, 10. Somehow along the way, it became the 3 phases, haha. It doesn't matter to us cos he's quite prompt but u might wan to confirm with him. I did ask him yesterday and he smile and smile say anything lah...how much i pay him he take wor...then i told him like that very tough leh! He laugh... Then i told him i need to issue cheque efore reno starts on saturday...then he says its ok...work can start, money come later also never mind... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jodezn 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 I did ask him yesterday and he smile and smile say anything lah...how much i pay him he take wor...then i told him like that very tough leh! He laugh... Then i told him i need to issue cheque efore reno starts on saturday...then he says its ok...work can start, money come later also never mind... lol...i just chatted with Uncle Soon on this matter too! Told him that we need to know the cost asap so that we can work on the dollars...need to pay him ma before he starts work and we are targeting to start on 28th April... He laff and told me that no worries la...can pay him anytime...even after he installs all the wardrobes liao oso not an issue....whahahaa... he told me that he very scare when ppl chase him to collect cheque.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gongkia 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 I did ask him yesterday and he smile and smile say anything lah...how much i pay him he take wor...then i told him like that very tough leh! He laugh... Then i told him i need to issue cheque efore reno starts on saturday...then he says its ok...work can start, money come later also never mind... I think as a safe guage, you prepare money for the following phase which is more key to others bah: 1. Start of reno (common practise for all other ID/contractor is about 30-40%) 2. Start of carpentry (this one ranges from 20 to 30 %) 3. After all rectification With these 3 phases it should be wrong. If you are unsure, perhaps you can pay 30 first, then maybe 20 or 30 depends on whether he ask you about it and then in the end just pay everything to him at one shot. Maybe you can call him and ask if this arrangement is ok bah. He mentioned before, due to the large number of projects ongoing, there's no longer any cash flow issues. He can pay his workers promptly so it shouldn't be a problem to him. When we were doing our renovation, think he's still rather tight on cash, which is why he wanted the 40 and 30 then and there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 I am planning to do just this, gongkia! Uncle to easy going liao lah...headache! Jodezn, he told me last week that he has a first payment that he has not collected and the work is already on going and he don't have the time...the owner kept calling him unil he paiseh...who is it huh? keke...kaypo abit here :x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites