apples

Our New Home

hi apples, we faced the same situation then. Hacking did not start on the day we agreed, hubby n me specially took leave on the first reno day to check out and we found no one working at all. official hacking only starts on the 3rd day. and again after hacking completed, they 'off' for few more days then tiling starts, and the cycle repeats, they took 'off days' in between each process and we were not informed at all. i went down everyday jus to realise tat almost everyday is a wasted trip. till we call Uncle then things sped up jus a little. Now they took 2 whole weeks off jus for some simple rectifications. i seriously wonder when is my actual handover.

Apples, pls call Jason for the wall papers, laminates and table tops samples or he'll 'accidentally' decide for u and I'm not kidding :rolleyes:

Thanks ashes02. Wah, so bad leh, how can he decide for you? So did you ask him to change the ones that you did not pick yourself?

We already pick the laminates and will be meeting the wallpaper guy later today.

Also have been chasing Jason for the tabletop sample the last 2 days .. he must be so sian to see my number showing on his hp :P

Edited by apples

Updates update updates!!!

Finally the painters arrive yesterday and they started painting the ceiling. Yay!!!

There are so many holes around the walls due to the piping and re-routing of switches and aircon trunking

and they are patching it before they can start painting.

Will be meeting Robin later to get a quote on window films and choose the wall paper.

I just called Jason and ask him about the gas pipe. He said I am supposed to arrange for city gas to come and install.

I was like .. huh, how come you or ah soon never tell me before?

So I just called city gas and Thank God they can come on next Monday.

But this means the kitchen cabinets can only be up Tuesday at the earliest.

My main concern is that there is a lack of co-ordination or project management here. Some examples are:

The L-Boxes and cornices went up before the wiring and scv boxes are completely up, so now one of my rooms do not have a scv point.

They forgot about the kitchen sliding door and build a skirting where it is supposed to be, were built, now need to hack.

The fridge base was built so close to the wall and there is no allowance for the sliding door to close, need to rectify.

The switches cannot be located next to the fridge due to lack of space, so now to reroute.

The windows film has not yet been removed and cleaned yet, not sure if it will affect the paint job

Sorry if these came out like a vent, but i do hope this will help the rest of people who are on the 'journey'.

i am fortunate that my work place is just a 5 mins drive to my new place. I've planned to go down daily during lunch time to watch over the what they are doing when my tiling work starts. Seems like they ain't good records on owners requirement on their part. I think need to feedback to uncle Ah Soon. in my case I wanted black window frames and they fixed up white. I thought white looks quite nice so I think i'll take it.

apples: Robin has a lot a lot of wallpaper for u to choose! U'll have to take a longgg time to choose. :)

U r not alone, i always think that the coordination is a little messy.. haha! Thankfully mine came out fine in the end. Not to worry, the window film will not affect painting, there will be another round of touch up (or countless rounds of touchup cos i was picky on painting) after everything's completed.

ivy: u r lucky!! can pop by ur house and surprise the workers during lunch time!

Edited by mrspiglet

Apples....

You're meeting Robin already? I want to see him too! mrspiglet keeps saying he has so many samples to choose from I'm so gian to put up wallpaper RIGHT NOW...

Hope your rectifications will be cleared up asap! ;)

Updates update updates!!!

Finally the painters arrive yesterday and they started painting the ceiling. Yay!!!

There are so many holes around the walls due to the piping and re-routing of switches and aircon trunking

and they are patching it before they can start painting.

Will be meeting Robin later to get a quote on window films and choose the wall paper.

I just called Jason and ask him about the gas pipe. He said I am supposed to arrange for city gas to come and install.

I was like .. huh, how come you or ah soon never tell me before?

So I just called city gas and Thank God they can come on next Monday.

But this means the kitchen cabinets can only be up Tuesday at the earliest.

My main concern is that there is a lack of co-ordination or project management here. Some examples are:

The L-Boxes and cornices went up before the wiring and scv boxes are completely up, so now one of my rooms do not have a scv point.

They forgot about the kitchen sliding door and build a skirting where it is supposed to be, were built, now need to hack.

The fridge base was built so close to the wall and there is no allowance for the sliding door to close, need to rectify.

The switches cannot be located next to the fridge due to lack of space, so now to reroute.

The windows film has not yet been removed and cleaned yet, not sure if it will affect the paint job

Sorry if these came out like a vent, but i do hope this will help the rest of people who are on the 'journey'.

From Wendy:

Hopefully next week, the progress will be chop chop swee swee for you. Press on! I think Uncle will wave his magic wand.

Agree with you the examples given : lack of coordination and project mgt........ this is more than just bringing marker and masking tape problem. More than 'give and take' situation.

hack and re-hack.... rectify and rectify... sian already. That's why I also sian liao.... mentally and phyiscally draining.

Popping by (maybe 1 hr) can only help this much! I can't sit beside the guy when he is tiling or doing his carpentry, right? :)

i am fortunate that my work place is just a 5 mins drive to my new place. I've planned to go down daily during lunch time to watch over the what they are doing when my tiling work starts. Seems like they ain't good records on owners requirement on their part. I think need to feedback to uncle Ah Soon. in my case I wanted black window frames and they fixed up white. I thought white looks quite nice so I think i'll take it.

Ivy, it is good that you are working nearby and can check during the day.

At least can spot the mistakes early and rectify .. but actually tiling part not much to see, as long as they use the right tile at the correct wall.

Only after they finish, then you can check if the tiles are lined up properly and grouting done correctly.

IMHO it is more important to speak to the electrician and carpentry and make sure they get your requirements correct.

Also, don't let them do your false ceiling, l-box and cornice too early!!!

apples: Robin has a lot a lot of wallpaper for u to choose! U'll have to take a longgg time to choose. :)

U r not alone, i always think that the coordination is a little messy.. haha! Thankfully mine came out fine in the end. Not to worry, the window film will not affect painting, there will be another round of touch up (or countless rounds of touchup cos i was picky on painting) after everything's completed.

Actually we were given 3 booklets today, they look quite nice.

We need to meet him again next Tue/Wed to see his quote for window film, roller blinds and curtains in the MBR.

My hubby now is considering to put wallpaper in MBR, but i keep reminding him no more budget :unsure:

Actually it is not the window film, but the removing of the existing window film and glue on the windows.

I think you said that there were some oily residue or something similar in your thread previously right?

By the way, how many rounds of paint did they do? I heard from the painter today that they will do a base coat of sealant (Jotun), then 1 coat of the ICI / Nippon Paint. Then, after carpentry is up, then 1 more final coat of ICI / Nippon paint.

Apples....

You're meeting Robin already? I want to see him too! mrspiglet keeps saying he has so many samples to choose from I'm so gian to put up wallpaper RIGHT NOW...

Hope your rectifications will be cleared up asap! ;)

Pinkpetter,

Yup, we met Robin this afternoon.

You also want to put wall paper in your room?

Do you need his number? I can pm you :)

From Wendy:

Hopefully next week, the progress will be chop chop swee swee for you. Press on! I think Uncle will wave his magic wand.

Agree with you the examples given : lack of coordination and project mgt........ this is more than just bringing marker and masking tape problem. More than 'give and take' situation.

hack and re-hack.... rectify and rectify... sian already. That's why I also sian liao.... mentally and phyiscally draining.

Popping by (maybe 1 hr) can only help this much! I can't sit beside the guy when he is tiling or doing his carpentry, right? :)

Yup, I also wish got magic wand and tadah! all our renos completed swee swee .. hahaha :D

I understand what you are going through .. becos i have faced them myself.

But yours is so far ahead of mine and it should be really coming to an end .. so cheer up :)

Next week I think I have to take leave to stay home to monitor the carpentry .. hopefully I don't have to complain too much ..wahahaha

Pinkpetter,

Yup, we met Robin this afternoon.

You also want to put wall paper in your room?

Do you need his number? I can pm you :)

Was he nice? did he really have a lot of samples? I don't need his number yet. I think the processing of my recess area will take a long time. And when it's done I want to do my recess and my dining area at the same time. So that's when I want to put up wallpaper. In addition to that I want solar film for the balcony windows cos my rabbit's suffering there...

I think he mentioned that he got more samples in his van, which he did not bring up the other day.

He is also quite friendly, got give us some advice on the wall paper.

What are you going to do at your dining area? I thought it's all done up?

Your poor rabbit .. recently weather super hot leh, can shift your pet to somewhere else for now?

The painters finished painting the first coat of paint on Saturday and the flat is clean-up on Sunday!

We are very happy with the progress made .. at least it looks more like a house, rather than a war zone :D

The plan for today is to do the lights and gas pipe installation.

Then, laminate flooring and carpentry from Tuesday onwards.

Now very kan cheong .. wondering if the carpentry will turn out nice or not :unsure:

apples

3 booklets? i had at least like 5-6 big booklets, but didnt look thru all thou.

So u've decided window film ah? I'm not too sure whether was it the window film removal that left the oil patches, but Jason says its the grills guy when they fixed up the new window grills. So seem like i blamed the wrong person :P The oily residue is very obvious, but just need to paint sealant over b4 the touch up paint and it will be fine.

I dun really know how many rounds of painting they do. After the base issue (from which renotalker, i forgot..was it fondue?) i asked Jason abt it. He say the Jotun one is used as a base coat. Previously they use white as base, but realise it takes a lot of layers of paint to get to the true color, so now they use Jotun colored paint as base. Coats after that will all be ICI/Nippon. I think mine had 2 layers of ICI b4 carpentry and aircon trunking, another 1-2 layer after. Found areas that plastering not done properly, asked them to re-plaster, another few coats of paint. So i think my wall's like super 'thick skin' now. :dancingqueen:

pinkpetter/apples

if u guys thinking of doing window film, make sure u asked if its the Taiwan paper or US paper. i only knew abt tis from my curtains maker that US one doenst shrink, Taiwan does. As for mine, was too late to ask so i didn't bother.