apples 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 Aiyo, this Jason blur blur.. he also dont know. Just ask the carpentry guys to show you their BLUM catalogue. Then you pick the Tandembox size (S1, S2, S3, S4) and then for the width, they can customise for you. Dont need to be 40, 60, 80.... the carpentry guys will advise you. Come over to my place (when you are free)... I can explain to you with the BLUM drawers install. :) I had a light blub moment once the carpentry guy explained to me. All along I also thought standard width of 40, 60 or 80 cos that how Ikea sells it. Thanks again for hosting us today. Yalor, Jason is a bit blur blur one .. but I think I can understand why la, they are working on so many houses! But now that we need to budget another 3k for the 40 ft cabinets below the window recess area .. I think we can only go with the blum tracks becos we are out of budget already, so wish we can have the tandem box too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 I'm staying in as I'm already staying in my unit. I've already made plans to seal up the areas which are affected to minimise dust Ok, I can only tell you that this is not very advisable based on my previous experience with hdb upgrading exercise Even though you seal it up, the whole area is just very dusty, not to mention about the inconvenience of lack of toilets and bathrooms. If possible, please try to look for alternative accommodation for at least 1 -2 weeks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 So far the lamitak laminates were quite satisfactory. Of cos, the hi-gloss ones will leave a lot of finger prints, gotta live with it. But i dun really get to see the 'waviness' some of them were mentioning. I think i'm a bit blind. haha! I think having 1 wall with diff color from the rest of the wall makes the place stand out. I picked quite dark color for my living room too, but seems like quite well-received so far. Guest (even painters) commented that the color is quite relaxing. Have u tried playing w the online mock up in ICI website? http://www.dulux.com.sg/painterintro/painter.html Rectifications mostly done. But as we move ard the house, there bound to be little things we find that could be fine-tuned. haha! nvr ending process lah. Moving in this sun! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the paints. We chop chop finalise the laminate selection and paint colours within 2 days .. We chose lamitek(http://www.lamitak.com/index2.html) also High Gloss Chalk & High Gloss Salsa for the kitchen. Hopefully it will turn out nice. For those who likes black colours, the carpenter told me Noir Cylinder is nice too! But as my black/white tv console surface area not big enough, we went for Noir Gliese. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 After talking to Wendy (smallboy's wife) today, think I better share about the Franke deal from Asia Excel again. The Franke package promotion: Package A: Sink Geneva + Fremont mixer = 429 Package B: Chimney hood (airflow1000m3/hr) + 3 burner stainless steel hob = 799 Package A + B = 1099 For another $68, you can get chopping board + 2 baskets that fits on the sink. Hope this helps those who are still shopping around Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the paints. We chop chop finalise the laminate selection and paint colours within 2 days .. We chose lamitek(http://www.lamitak.com/index2.html) also High Gloss Chalk & High Gloss Salsa for the kitchen. Hopefully it will turn out nice. For those who likes black colours, the carpenter told me Noir Cylinder is nice too! But as my black/white tv console surface area not big enough, we went for Noir Gliese. nice, so u're going for a white/red kitchen afterall... where is noir cylinder under? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 nice, so u're going for a white/red kitchen afterall... where is noir cylinder under? Yup, still going white / red combi. My carpenter says it will be nice too. Thanks for the pictures you posted The Cylinder is under Patterns > Noir > Cylinder. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2009 (edited) Ok, I can only tell you that this is not very advisable based on my previous experience with hdb upgrading exercise Even though you seal it up, the whole area is just very dusty, not to mention about the inconvenience of lack of toilets and bathrooms. If possible, please try to look for alternative accommodation for at least 1 -2 weeks. I just bought the plastic sheets which they use for sealing up areas for renovation (those commercial use type). Will be starting up my operation sealup this weekend I'm only renovating 1 MBR toilet and kitchen. So still have 1 to use Edited April 27, 2009 by growler Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 Progress has been really slow this week, only saw some piping and toilet accessories being fix up. I think there are two days that no one was there So I finally called Jason and Ah Soon this morning. Ah Soon promised to handover to me by next weekend. I really don't know how that is possible since painting, cabinets and lights all not up. Have not been given the wall paper and counter top samples even.. do i have to chase for everything??? Urrgghhh .. having renovation blues!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 i think u gotta chase...since the start of the reno, i am asking him for updates most of the tie. Guess he will freak out seeing my number flashing on his mobile Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 (edited) Progress has been really slow this week, only saw some piping and toilet accessories being fix up. I think there are two days that no one was there So I finally called Jason and Ah Soon this morning. Ah Soon promised to handover to me by next weekend. I really don't know how that is possible since painting, cabinets and lights all not up. Have not been given the wall paper and counter top samples even.. do i have to chase for everything??? Urrgghhh .. having renovation blues!!!! sama- sama... reno blues too. Yesterday my hubby got to come down during lunch to iron out the design error on Jason part for my cabinets... I PM you the wall paper guy. Get your samples directly from him. His name is Robin. We got to do this ourselves if we want to fast fast. Dont wait for Uncle anymore. Countertop samples, I saw 1 book with Jason. O... the wallpaper samples, I just passed back to him. See if I can grab that for you when he comes over later. For cabinets, I heard that they are stopping your carpentry guy. Getting another one to do yours. Prob the delay. I think Uncle will perform his magic when he comes back next Monday. My handover next Wed....yippee.... hopefully! Edited April 30, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 The laminates and countertop samples are with me. Will be passing them to familyof4 tonight. You can pick up from her. Uncle die die have to complete each step by the time line he told me ... if not i'll be stuck as i'm staying in my unit for the entire duration of the renovation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 i think u gotta chase...since the start of the reno, i am asking him for updates most of the tie. Guess he will freak out seeing my number flashing on his mobile When we first started, we also monitor quite closely too. Got anything my hubby will ask me to call ah soon .. somemore my work also very busy recently. Just feel so stressed out lor .. and need to vent Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 sama- sama... reno blues too. Yesterday my hubby got to come down during lunch to iron out the design error on Jason part for my cabinets... I PM you the wall paper guy. Get your samples directly from him. His name is Robin. We got to do this ourselves if we want to fast fast. Dont wait for Uncle anymore. Countertop samples, I saw 1 book with Jason. O... the wallpaper samples, I just passed back to him. See if I can grab that for you when he comes over later. For cabinets, I heard that they are stopping your carpentry guy. Getting another one to do yours. Prob the delay. I think Uncle will perform his magic when he comes back next Monday. My handover next Wed....yippee.... hopefully! Thanks Wendy. Your house almost finish liow right? Huh? You mean change carpenter? Why? Why no one tell me?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 The laminates and countertop samples are with me. Will be passing them to familyof4 tonight. You can pick up from her. Uncle die die have to complete each step by the time line he told me ... if not i'll be stuck as i'm staying in my unit for the entire duration of the renovation. We have finished choosing the laminates. Only left with the counter top .. I better give Jason a call Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ashes02 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2009 Progress has been really slow this week, only saw some piping and toilet accessories being fix up. I think there are two days that no one was there So I finally called Jason and Ah Soon this morning. Ah Soon promised to handover to me by next weekend. I really don't know how that is possible since painting, cabinets and lights all not up. Have not been given the wall paper and counter top samples even.. do i have to chase for everything??? Urrgghhh .. having renovation blues!!!! hi apples, we faced the same situation then. Hacking did not start on the day we agreed, hubby n me specially took leave on the first reno day to check out and we found no one working at all. official hacking only starts on the 3rd day. and again after hacking completed, they 'off' for few more days then tiling starts, and the cycle repeats, they took 'off days' in between each process and we were not informed at all. i went down everyday jus to realise tat almost everyday is a wasted trip. till we call Uncle then things sped up jus a little. Now they took 2 whole weeks off jus for some simple rectifications. i seriously wonder when is my actual handover. Apples, pls call Jason for the wall papers, laminates and table tops samples or he'll 'accidentally' decide for u and I'm not kidding Share this post Link to post Share on other sites