apples 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Finally .. today has come and this is THE DAY when we will take ownership. Will be meeting ah soon later today and Mr yeak tomorrow for onsite measurement and discussion before we finalise the quote. In terms of pricing, ah soon win hands down but we have yet to seen Mr Yeak's work. Do you all still do bargaining on the quote? Last Saturday we went to select tiles and pick up some samples liow .. and we bought all the lights and ceiling fan from Extreme lighting. Next on the list, finalise the quote then kick start the reno!!! Oh, by the way, where do you all buy your hood, hob, oven, wcs and stuff har? Can share share? We went Genova last weekend and saw some wc and basin packages. But in the end, we decided against them as the wc is a bit too small (not comfortable ) But we really like the franke 2 bowl kitchen sink, so will go back and get this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Rem to call Ah Soon 1 hour before appt ok? Remind him... otherwise he will forget. WC and sink I bought from Eestilo along Sims Ave (Geylang) but mine are one-piece ones so they are a little more expensive. Parents insisted on these. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Finally .. today has come and this is THE DAY when we will take ownership. Will be meeting ah soon later today and Mr yeak tomorrow for onsite measurement and discussion before we finalise the quote. In terms of pricing, ah soon win hands down but we have yet to seen Mr Yeak's work. Do you all still do bargaining on the quote? Last Saturday we went to select tiles and pick up some samples liow .. and we bought all the lights and ceiling fan from Extreme lighting. Next on the list, finalise the quote then kick start the reno!!! Oh, by the way, where do you all buy your hood, hob, oven, wcs and stuff har? Can share share? We went Genova last weekend and saw some wc and basin packages. But in the end, we decided against them as the wc is a bit too small (not comfortable ) But we really like the franke 2 bowl kitchen sink, so will go back and get this. Of course bargain some more!!! Hehehehee.. Sometimes he won't budge on the price, but u can ask for more freebies like soft closing, new alum bamboo rods holders (duno wat they're called), etc etc. During the reno, we did change some stuff here and there. Sometimes he'll give it to us FOC, sometimes he'll just charge us a nominal sum. At the end of the reno, he actually gave us a final discount of about $300 plus. Ooo! I bought my lights at Extreme too! Show pics of the lights u chose k? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Rem to call Ah Soon 1 hour before appt ok? Remind him... otherwise he will forget. WC and sink I bought from Eestilo along Sims Ave (Geylang) but mine are one-piece ones so they are a little more expensive. Parents insisted on these. Thanks! I am going to call him soon. Is one piece wc one better? I better go and study your t-blog again .. kekeke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Hi I also went to Genova before... found it expensive. I LOVE the franke sink. We bought a FRANKE sink and tap + hood + stove at a very good price. $699 only. Check out my blog for pictures. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Of course bargain some more!!! Hehehehee.. Sometimes he won't budge on the price, but u can ask for more freebies like soft closing, new alum bamboo rods holders (duno wat they're called), etc etc. During the reno, we did change some stuff here and there. Sometimes he'll give it to us FOC, sometimes he'll just charge us a nominal sum. At the end of the reno, he actually gave us a final discount of about $300 plus. Ooo! I bought my lights at Extreme too! Show pics of the lights u chose k? Angel, Thanks for the tip. I will try to bargain with him when I meet him up tomorrow. Oh you also buy from extreme lights? Good, at least now i feel safer .. haha I didn't take pictures for all the lights leh, becos mostly simple ones. I only took one for the dining area with my cam phone becos we are rushing at the end, will try to upload and post together with my pre-reno pics By the way, the ballast for the downlights they gave you is what brand har? They said it is made in aussie (got a kangaroo on the ballast), but hor we blur blur de, dunno kena 'conned' or not But confirm their lights are cheaper than Chan Huat ones lor! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Thanks! I am going to call him soon. Is one piece wc one better? I better go and study your t-blog again .. kekeke mm my parents say that the joint for 2-piece WC is risky. Higher chances of leaking since more joints ma. So they say one piece better. But... more ex lor. pros and cons Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Apples... btw, I also buy my lights from Extreme.......... hee..hee.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 mm my parents say that the joint for 2-piece WC is risky. Higher chances of leaking since more joints ma. So they say one piece better. But... more ex lor. pros and cons Oh, this is useful information. Will bear this in mind when i go wc 'shopping' this weekend Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 (edited) Hi I also went to Genova before... found it expensive. I LOVE the franke sink. We bought a FRANKE sink and tap + hood + stove at a very good price. $699 only. Check out my blog for pictures. Thanks for your pm, will drop by the place this weekend. Actually we went Genova because someone recommended us, one or two sets like the rainshower are quite attractive priced. Oh you also went Extreme to buy lights, got pics of your lights? Wonder if we got the same lights ..haha Edited April 7, 2009 by apples Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Finally uploaded some pre-reno pics for your viewing (BEWARE: it is very colourful!!!) Living Room MBR MBR Bath Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Kitchen Guest Bedroom Study Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Met up with ah soon tonight .. supposed timing is 7-8pm, but i think it is probably 9pm when he showed up with the electrician. Discuss about the items and quote and after a bit of revision, we are all good to go. Also mark out the downlights, electrical points and confirm the position of the TV console and wall feature location So will start hacking on Thurs (if everything goes according to plan) But hor, the english quote is still missing leh, so have not sign officially! Did anyone of you start without signing the actual quote har? He ask me to look at the chinese quote but hor, his writing is too 'long fei feng wu' for me to understand fully hahahaha He mentioned that he is going to Yishun after leaving my place, so hopefully those who are supposed to meet him all managed to Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Met up with ah soon tonight .. supposed timing is 7-8pm, but i think it is probably 9pm when he showed up with the electrician. Discuss about the items and quote and after a bit of revision, we are all good to go. Also mark out the downlights, electrical points and confirm the position of the TV console and wall feature location So will start hacking on Thurs (if everything goes according to plan) But hor, the english quote is still missing leh, so have not sign officially! Did anyone of you start without signing the actual quote har? He ask me to look at the chinese quote but hor, his writing is too 'long fei feng wu' for me to understand fully hahahaha He mentioned that he is going to Yishun after leaving my place, so hopefully those who are supposed to meet him all managed to haha i dun understand his writings in chinese too. right after our confirmation, the very next day he started working on the hacking works. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Met up with ah soon tonight .. supposed timing is 7-8pm, but i think it is probably 9pm when he showed up with the electrician. Discuss about the items and quote and after a bit of revision, we are all good to go. Also mark out the downlights, electrical points and confirm the position of the TV console and wall feature location So will start hacking on Thurs (if everything goes according to plan) But hor, the english quote is still missing leh, so have not sign officially! Did anyone of you start without signing the actual quote har? He ask me to look at the chinese quote but hor, his writing is too 'long fei feng wu' for me to understand fully hahahaha He mentioned that he is going to Yishun after leaving my place, so hopefully those who are supposed to meet him all managed to Thursday? That's tomorrow!! Ask Ah Soon for his son's number to rush him. I only picked out my tiles before signing the English Quote... but honestly... I think Ah Soon didn't intend to give me an English quote until I told him I needed one for the loan. So he abides by his chinese one more. Even when we did the VO he was carrying the chinese one. After 9pm and he still went to Yishun?? huh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites