apples

Our New Home

Ivy, it is good that you are working nearby and can check during the day.

At least can spot the mistakes early and rectify .. but actually tiling part not much to see, as long as they use the right tile at the correct wall.

Only after they finish, then you can check if the tiles are lined up properly and grouting done correctly.

IMHO it is more important to speak to the electrician and carpentry and make sure they get your requirements correct.

Also, don't let them do your false ceiling, l-box and cornice too early!!!

Don't forget to check for hollow tiles.

apples

3 booklets? i had at least like 5-6 big booklets, but didnt look thru all thou.

So u've decided window film ah? I'm not too sure whether was it the window film removal that left the oil patches, but Jason says its the grills guy when they fixed up the new window grills. So seem like i blamed the wrong person :P The oily residue is very obvious, but just need to paint sealant over b4 the touch up paint and it will be fine.

I dun really know how many rounds of painting they do. After the base issue (from which renotalker, i forgot..was it fondue?) i asked Jason abt it. He say the Jotun one is used as a base coat. Previously they use white as base, but realise it takes a lot of layers of paint to get to the true color, so now they use Jotun colored paint as base. Coats after that will all be ICI/Nippon. I think mine had 2 layers of ICI b4 carpentry and aircon trunking, another 1-2 layer after. Found areas that plastering not done properly, asked them to re-plaster, another few coats of paint. So i think my wall's like super 'thick skin' now. :dancingqueen:

pinkpetter/apples

if u guys thinking of doing window film, make sure u asked if its the Taiwan paper or US paper. i only knew abt tis from my curtains maker that US one doenst shrink, Taiwan does. As for mine, was too late to ask so i didn't bother.

Mrspiglet,

Thanks for the tip on the window film. Now that all the old window films has been torn out, the windows look clean for once.

Will check Robin if there is any films from US that does not shrink.

Regarding the paint, I think they use Jotun as the sealer, then follow-by the ICI/Nippon paint.

Don't forget to check for hollow tiles.

Ivy, can share how you check for hollow tiles?

No chance to do so yet it becos it was only clean on sunday and then after the carpentry comes in on monday, it is like a warzone again!!!

apples, u can use a small hammer and knock on each and every tile. once u hear the hollow sound, mark that tile out...but I saw how Uncle's workers did the tiles...seems so pro leh. Probably cos we are there?!

Had to work late these 2 days and only manage to drop by for a quick check half an hour ago..

Lights, fan and laminate flooring are up! :yeah:

The carpentry are still work-in-progress .. but not sure why the soft closing is not done for the hinges for the doors??

The aircon guys also came in to put up in the fan coil today ..

but becos they work past 6pm, we kena complain by downstairs neighbour :(:no:

Some questions to those who did laminate flooring, is it normal to feel a bit of unevenness / hollowness when we step on it?

Had to work late these 2 days and only manage to drop by for a quick check half an hour ago..

Lights, fan and laminate flooring are up! :yeah:

The carpentry are still work-in-progress .. but not sure why the soft closing is not done for the hinges for the doors??

The aircon guys also came in to put up in the fan coil today ..

but becos they work past 6pm, we kena complain by downstairs neighbour :(:no:

Some questions to those who did laminate flooring, is it normal to feel a bit of unevenness / hollowness when we step on it?

Glad to know things are progressing well............:) :)

For the soft closing, they install it last. It just latch onto the hinges only. Very easy.

My house still dont look like it can handover on thurs......... hiaz...... but I told Uncle, never mind as long as clean it swee swee esp lots of cememt, silicone marks......

apples, u can use a small hammer and knock on each and every tile. once u hear the hollow sound, mark that tile out...but I saw how Uncle's workers did the tiles...seems so pro leh. Probably cos we are there?!

Good to know that they are pro, becos I wasn't able to go back and observe them when they were laying the tiles for us.

So far, we only check some wall tiles in the toilet and mark some for replacement.

Thanks for the tip on hollow tiles, will ask my hubby to check becos i scared later i "shi shou" and hit the tile too hard .. wahaha :D

Glad to know things are progressing well............:) :)

For the soft closing, they install it last. It just latch onto the hinges only. Very easy.

My house still dont look like it can handover on thurs......... hiaz...... but I told Uncle, never mind as long as clean it swee swee esp lots of cememt, silicone marks......

Huh? How come still cannot hand over? Still rectifying the carpentry?

How come so much cement and sillicone? Is it due to the tiles rectification? Must tell ah soon and ask them to clean up swee swee for you, ok?

My place was quite clean on sunday after they clean-up, but alas, it was only for 1 night and then it become so messy again.

Noted on the soft closing part, will check again when all the carpentry is installed.

I think one of the shelf laminate colour for my tv console is done wrongly, but hor my drawing is with them.

So I really hope my memory is correct and they can change for me :unsure:

Pictures time! (some long overdue :P )

MBR Bathroom tiles - the one that a lot of people have

MBRBath_Tiles3.jpg

Common Bathroom tiles

Kitchen_Tiles1.jpg

Kitchen Flooring (actually in the end we pick the one at the bottom right)

Kitchen_Tiles2.jpg

Your kitchen tile looks so interesting... like got so texture... I want to see your house when it is ready.

When can i visit? Hee..hee... we visiting each other house. :)

My handover is tomorrow now cos my oven coming in tomorrow and I want Jason to be around. Dont want the electrical to have problems or worse tripped.

My Corian top not done properly. Monday coming in to rectify.

My carpentry swee swee already.

One guy now installing my bathroom accessories.

Now doing 1 more coat of paint and 2 ah nei very diligently cleaning and cleaning....... but still not clean lei. My grilles and windows still got paint markers. Anyone here got advice how to remove these stains? Think I will roll up my sleeve and do my 'housewife' power. Next week I will do the cleaning.

i LIKE that coffee table VERY MUCH.. from wendy.

Where did you get that? How much?

Edited by Smallboy

Your kitchen tile looks so interesting... like got so texture... I want to see your house when it is ready.

When can i visit? Hee..hee... we visiting each other house. :)

My handover is tomorrow now cos my oven coming in tomorrow and I want Jason to be around. Dont want the electrical to have problems or worse tripped.

My Corian top not done properly. Monday coming in to rectify.

My carpentry swee swee already.

One guy now installing my bathroom accessories.

Now doing 1 more coat of paint and 2 ah nei very diligently cleaning and cleaning....... but still not clean lei. My grilles and windows still got paint markers. Anyone here got advice how to remove these stains? Think I will roll up my sleeve and do my 'housewife' power. Next week I will do the cleaning.

i LIKE that coffee table VERY MUCH.. from wendy.

Where did you get that? How much?

We wanted the texture ones initially, but we gave them up in the end after much consideration as uncle say the in between gaps may be big due to uneven edges.

You can come over anytime you like .. tomorrow i'll be home becos i wanted to talk to the carpentry guys. Please come so that you can help me inspect! hahaha

Your carpentry all fix? I also want to go your house lei .. kekeke

The coffee table is a package with the sofa, dining table etc etc from Species, so I really don't know how much on its own.

I suspect it is around 400 to 500?