Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Wow... fast... you are ready to go! Be ready............ once he comes in, the hacking very fast..... then you see your house in sand and debris.......... then his tiling team comes in next........... I am just 2 weeks ahead of you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 i think u can consider saving the MBR wardrobe. Tomorrow can hack liao ahhh sooo good... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 for mine, he got his son to give me an english uote...but there are items that are missing and hor...not so clear..so he says he will meet me to compare with his chinese quote. I can amend base on his chinese quote... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 haha i dun understand his writings in chinese too. right after our confirmation, the very next day he started working on the hacking works. Hmm .. so meaning you didn't sign on any official documents? Wah seh, like that really based on trust lor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Thursday? That's tomorrow!! Ask Ah Soon for his son's number to rush him. I only picked out my tiles before signing the English Quote... but honestly... I think Ah Soon didn't intend to give me an English quote until I told him I needed one for the loan. So he abides by his chinese one more. Even when we did the VO he was carrying the chinese one. After 9pm and he still went to Yishun?? huh. Yalor, so fast hor? But we only have about 5 weeks to do reno, so everything must be chop chop. We don't want to delay handing over our current flat to the new owners I don't have his son's number leh, he said he will ask him to type out the quote by today or tomorrow. I think he too busy liow, last night he even ask me to type his quote for him I say I can do it, but may accidentally type all FOC hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Wow... fast... you are ready to go! Be ready............ once he comes in, the hacking very fast..... then you see your house in sand and debris.......... then his tiling team comes in next........... I am just 2 weeks ahead of you. Wah, like very fast hor. Sounds exciting. So have you started carpentry yet? How many weeks you give him to complete your reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 i think u can consider saving the MBR wardrobe. Tomorrow can hack liao ahhh sooo good... Ya, that was our intention. But after we went to measure, we found that there is little walking space after putting our bed So now, still thinking of whether to change bedframe or redo the wardrobe!!! *headache* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 for mine, he got his son to give me an english uote...but there are items that are missing and hor...not so clear..so he says he will meet me to compare with his chinese quote. I can amend base on his chinese quote... So need to compare line by line? So cute one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 (edited) Angel, Thanks for the tip. I will try to bargain with him when I meet him up tomorrow. Oh you also buy from extreme lights? Good, at least now i feel safer .. haha I didn't take pictures for all the lights leh, becos mostly simple ones. I only took one for the dining area with my cam phone becos we are rushing at the end, will try to upload and post together with my pre-reno pics By the way, the ballast for the downlights they gave you is what brand har? They said it is made in aussie (got a kangaroo on the ballast), but hor we blur blur de, dunno kena 'conned' or not But confirm their lights are cheaper than Chan Huat ones lor! Hehe, think there's afew others who bought lights fr Extreme. Yupz, the lights there are mostly simple ones and rather limited. Which one did u get for ur dining area? Hmm, I can't rem whh brand of ballast we took liao leh. But I know we didn't upgrade to better ballasts and bulbs lar. Our price for 13W x2 square downlights is $19 each. Hee.. The MBR wardrobe looks good. So will u be saving it or changing ur bedframe? Edited April 8, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 So need to compare line by line? So cute one hehe...that's what he said lah...but so long the main things are in there i am fine. It's not a small sum, so just have to make sure everything is correct before we sign Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 i realised we also picked tiles b4 signing official english quote with him! i think after signing the quote, i also dun follow it.. along the way i'll just ask him to add this add that (mini items) and its all FOC. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 i realised we also picked tiles b4 signing official english quote with him! i think after signing the quote, i also dun follow it.. along the way i'll just ask him to add this add that (mini items) and its all FOC. hehe...i also picked my tiles before i even sign with him! I told him main items needs to be in the quote...along the way any additonal ii will than add in...he says ok lah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 hehe...i also picked my tiles before i even sign with him! I told him main items needs to be in the quote...along the way any additonal ii will than add in...he says ok lah... the chinese quote has more detailed writings than the given one in english. but ah soon will based on the chinese one. there was some discrepancy in the english one, so i asked ah soon, can chop your company stamp on the chinese one bor. then he chopped immediately on 2 copies of the chinese quote. cute la he... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Hehe, think there's afew others who bought lights fr Extreme. Yupz, the lights there are mostly simple ones and rather limited. Which one did u get for ur dining area? Hmm, I can't rem whh brand of ballast we took liao leh. But I know we didn't upgrade to better ballasts and bulbs lar. Our price for 13W x2 square downlights is $19 each. Hee.. The MBR wardrobe looks good. So will u be saving it or changing ur bedframe? I took the lighting pics using my phone cam, but have not uploaded them yet leh .. sorry, will posts once I upload them again We bought the square downlights with 2x18W tube for $22 each, but I think we need to get a few more .. Still undecided about the wardrobe, we also like it. Need to call up king koil to see if we can get a slimmer headboard because the current one is like 20cm! Alternatively, is to split up the divan into 2 single beds with no bedframe. Then we buy a new bed frame for ourselves *headache* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Looks like most of you just start the reno first, so should be safe. *crossing my fingers* I just use paintbrush to draw the downlights planning (pardon the ugly drawing) The plan is to install L-BOX with 6 downlights in the dining area and also a dining light hanging down from the ceiling. The Living area will have false ceiling with 8 square downlights (2x18W each) and a 54" fan. What do you all think? I have a few questions, hope you all can help: 1) Will the dining be too bright with 6 downlights? 2) For the living area, I wonder if the 54" fan is too big. I am worried that we will be seeing flickering shadows when the fan is on. Also what is a good brand of fan to buy har? I ordered the Crestar 54" from Extreme for 220, but I think still can change since it is not delivered yet. 3) Are 2 switches enough for the 8 downlights in the living area? Or should we split them up further? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites