apples 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 Hello everyone! After lurking around for a while and admiring everyone's beautiful home, finally pluck up courage to start our t-blog. We purchase our 4 rm hdb resale flat recently and the 2nd appt is on the first week of April. Now we are having some headaches on how to do space planning and in the midst of looking for a reasonable priced contractor / id. If you have good recommendations, pls let us know ya Here's our floor plan Our plans are: 1) Renovate the master and common toilets 2) Replace the laminate floorings (is supreme a good brand for our climate?) 3) Make the study room a bit bigger so that it can be a third bedroom, if necessary 4) Build a small storeroom (too much junk) 5) Change the aircon, lights etc 6) Replace the laminate of the kitchen cabinets (is it true that it costs about the same price as replacing the whole kitchen cabinet??) What is a realistic budget? Please give us your advices and comments. Thank you!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahockz 1 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 welcome 2 here ^_^ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 welcome! where's ur new place? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jesperbg 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 Recommend you my contractor Ah Soon....renotalk's 红人now... Pm-ed you his contacts liao.. gd luck! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ashes02 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 Welcome!! Where is ur place? jesperbg, Ah Soon is busy enuff!! haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shkeat 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 congratulations... pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 Congrats apples! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 Congrates on getting ur new home! Wah, 1st wk of April is just 3 weeks away! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 (edited) Congrats on your new hse. Wow, Your living room is really big! can have a lot of designs, false ceilings whatever to play around. But i got 1 question, how come no Bedroom No. 2? & your storeroom also hacked away by previous owner??? As for replacing of laminates for kitchen cabinets, sure can save money, better than new cabinets! u save here a bit, save there a bit, can use it to buy nice furniture or lightings meh Edited March 10, 2009 by Pinklady Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 Thank you all for your warm welcome .. Too kan cheong to posts last night and forgot about the vital statistics, haha Our home is nearby holland village, floor area is 104 sq m Thanks jesperbg for your kind recommendation on ah soon. Actually he was also recommended by pinkpetter and native02 too, we were quite keen to engage him too but now that he is so busy, we are a bit worried he will have no time to take on our case. Ya, we only have a few more weeks to find the "one" to help us. So if anyone got any other good contractors that you can recommend, please pm me. Thank you thank you thank you Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tiffanynip 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 i think bedroom 2 should be the study room bah....??? Good idea to make it bigger, unless u do not have a lot of ppl staying in ur house.... 1) Renovate the master and common toilets (Think if u hack all flooring should be around 12k?) 2) Replace the laminate floorings (is supreme a good brand for our climate?) laminate confirm cheaper.. 3) Make the study room a bit bigger so that it can be a third bedroom, if necessary(i agree but hack and constructing new wall around 5k) 4) Build a small storeroom (too much junk) not much but i dunoe $... 5) Change the aircon, lights etc (aircon inverter type abt 2.5k normal types 1.5 k system 3 Lightings depends if u got downlight... if got abt 1k) 6) Replace the laminate of the kitchen cabinets (is it true that it costs about the same price as replacing the whole kitchen cabinet??) dunoe? but replace abt 1.5k for 20ft Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zhang Wu Ji 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 Just curious, is there any window at study room? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 Thanks PinkLady, Tiffanynip for your pm. The owner had hacked Bedroom 2, storeroom and constructed the small study room so that the living room became really huge. Bedroom 2 used to be located at the left section of the living room (just next to the study). The current study room has windows, so it can be converted into a really small bedroom. Wah, didn't know that enlarging the study room will costs so much, is it becos of the hacking? Maybe we should just discard the idea since it is so exp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted April 1, 2009 Hee... If u still looking for contractors, can consider my contractor, Yeak. He's patient, quotes are very reasonable, and very easy going. Let me know if u're interested and I'll send u the contact. Alternatively, take a look at rondy's signature for his contact details. Yeak did rondy's, roamca and my place. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 1, 2009 welcome apples, wow your home is in a good location do update us on the "before" pictures Share this post Link to post Share on other sites