roamca

3 Room Flat @ Amk

Dear All,

Sorry I kept everyone in 'suspense' for almost a week. My apologies as due to the recent tsunami of work that's overwhelmed me for the past couple of weeks (I miss the days when I had more free time to come on RT! Ahaha!), I was unable to come online to RT for long periods and hence unable to post, altho' I did read through a couple of threads here and there.

With regards to the kind deed done by Mr Yeak, what I meant to share last week was that (Pardon me for the loh-soh story): We were quite set to take up Mr Yeak for the job so was just waiting for his reply to some of my queries on his quote, and also making some changes. While waiting he suddenly SMSed me (abt 29 May) that he can't do the job. After this I managed to speak to him, and he shared his concern with me about potential logistical problem and but kindly said that he'd still do my job as long as I was OK with him spreading out his time between 2 jobs - e.g. he do hacking at Place 1 then come to my place, and same thing for other works subsequently. So I told him, yeah, that's fine and I said since my first appointment was on Friday (5 Jun), I'll also try to buy him time if possible to help him out.

He also nicely told me he needed 8 weeks (and this is already factoring Just-in-Case time) and I told him, even though without any extension, I can give him that time and I was very grateful and touched by his sincerity in helping me with my job. So on Saturday (6 Jun), after I came back from visiting Preciousjam's place, I called him and he asked if I could make arrangements to view the place to take more accurate measurements. Which I set up and told him of the timings and fixed the date to pop by, which was scheduled for yesterday (10 Jun) so we could meet and I could sign the quote.

However, unfortunately on Monday (8 Jun) he SMSed me and apologised and told me he couldn't do the job. I tried to speak to him to see if we can work out something, but he didn't pick up my calls and SMS and I just received a final SMS of rejection and apologies. Thus, needless to say, was left disappointed.

However, I'd like to add that my post here is not to say anything negative. In fact, I think Mr Yeak is a great professional contractor anyone can engage and would highly recommend him to anyone. His commitment, sincerity, efficient project management, easy-to-communicate-with nature and quality of work (Based on viewing Preciousjam's house) is indeed tops! We really appreciate that he tried to help us despite his tight schedule, however we're just sad, particularly more so my wife, as she liked very much to have him do the job, that he could unfortunately not undertake our reno in the end and that we didn't have a chance to have a chance to perhaps have a talk to maybe find a solution.

:unsure:

adrian: how's everything going right now? had a chance to talk to yeak regarding your house....he really give in lots of thoughts before deciding to reject you...he told me you have alot of reno to do, actually it'll will be good for him in terms of $$$ but he didn't want the quality of his works to suffer if he accept it....guess its better this way....so how now?

However, unfortunately on Monday (8 Jun) he SMSed me and apologised and told me he couldn't do the job. I tried to speak to him to see if we can work out something, but he didn't pick up my calls and SMS and I just received a final SMS of rejection and apologies. Thus, needless to say, was left disappointed.

However, I'd like to add that my post here is not to say anything negative. In fact, I think Mr Yeak is a great professional contractor anyone can engage and would highly recommend him to anyone. His commitment, sincerity, efficient project management, easy-to-communicate-with nature and quality of work (Based on viewing Preciousjam's house) is indeed tops! We really appreciate that he tried to help us despite his tight schedule, however we're just sad, particularly more so my wife, as she liked very much to have him do the job, that he could unfortunately not undertake our reno in the end and that we didn't have a chance to have a chance to perhaps have a talk to maybe find a solution.

*pat pat* Like what preciousjam said, I'm sure he had his reasons for rejecting your reno project, esp if he could make good $$ out of your large project. :) Hope u'll find a good contractor soon for ur reno! :)

Firstly, my apologies to Roamca, for taking up some space in your t-blog.

Pet, Preciousjam and Angel:

Yes, it has been a roller coaster indeed. And it couldn't have come at a 'better' time when work is getting to me, wifey and the onset of other domestic issues pertaining to moving to the new place. Well, I guess with what's happend, perhaps its perhaps 'fated' then for us to go with Uncle Ah Soon for our reno since the shortlist we had narrowed down to was either Uncle or Yeak. :)

It was a really tough decision for us to make in a sense as both Uncle and Yeak are probably the nicest, most sincere and dedicated contractors one can get for their homes. I was really very torn between both and couldn't reach a conclusion, but eventually, my wife shared and advised me to pick Yeak since Uncle hadn't got back to us after so long and she was afraid that Uncle would be swamped and this may affect her as there may be times where I may be away and hence, she may not be able to apply leave to see to things or know what to look out for when I'm not around.

I know Mr Yeak did have a big think through about undertaking my job, and I respect him for it. He mentioned that in his SMSes to me, and I think he really must've thought through it very hard because he SMSed me at 229am in the morning. I was just seriously thinking that perhaps if Mr Yeak did give us a chance to speak and have a talk through the logistical issues, we would still be able to sort things - As in, I could perhaps negotiate for extension of handover with my buyer and all that. I just find it wasted that we never had a chance in this regard. For me, I'm always an optimist so I never believe that there is an impossible situation or anything that can't be worked out. :)

Oh well, I've still yet to be able to meet Uncle, we were supposed to meet Tuesday, then yesterday but unfortunately I think Uncle's Airbus lost its way :) and now its up to Adrian's SAR (Search and Rescue) to find him and get him back to meet me. :) Ahahahhaa ...

Edited by adrian_john

Indeed was a roller coaster ride for you...Since Uncle is saying that he will be my place tmr morning(hopefully no more air miles), maybe i will try to remind about your case to him.:)

oh..i think if u can delay a little on your reno or such,maybe u can discuss with yeak,else there is little he can do

when he is working with only 1 set of worker.

I wanted to do a feature wall for my MBR after my reno,but he is so tie up and my reno is put into

delay.But i am fine with it since i am not in the hurry.

I just tell him delay=cheaper price,haha :P

Heya Rondy,

Thanks for your thoughts. :)

I definitely understand that Yeak works with one set of workers and he needs to spread out his logistics well to do a good job and was hoping to discuss with him on how we could work things out. Unfortunately, we never got a chance to have this opportunity to discuss.

Hi Adrian...i do feel quite a pity for you cos Yeak is really a very good guy to work with...despite of his busy tight schedule and jobs on hand..he still call me to check whether his painter paint my gate nicely or not. The worker some more take out the lock set and clean thoroughly for us...very touch cos some of the paint was stuck inside the keyhole....made it quite difficult for the key to go into the hole...but now everything is as good as new!

I guessed its all fate bah! I think it’s better when yeak roller coaster you before everything start rather than when your reno start liao then roller coaster you. Dun be sad...maybe uncle soon can oso do a good job for you. Since both of them are the super star and super idol in the forum now…

Edited by roamca

Hi Adrian...i do feel quite a pity for you cos Yeak is really a very good guy to work with...despite of his busy tight schedule and jobs on hand..he still call me to check whether his painter paint my gate nicely or not. The worker some more take out the lock set and clean thoroughly for us...very touch cos some of the paint was stuck inside the keyhole....made it quite difficult for the key to go into the hole...but now everything is as good as new!

I guessed its all fate bah! I think it’s better when yeak roller coaster you before everything start rather than when your reno start liao then roller coaster you. Dun be sad...maybe uncle soon can oso do a good job for you. Since both of them are the super star and super idol in the forum now…

ya lor, some more he quite fast with rectification...one of the laminate skirtings pop out yesterday, i told him and tomorrow they coming to fix it liao... :D

@Rondy

Yup, I already did SMS him to perhaps share with me if he has any logistical problem, and if needs extra time, just to let me know what his requirements are, then I can at least try to speak to my buyer to negotiate for perhaps another 2 weeks extra, which will give him some extra breathing space. In fact, on seeing Preciousjam's place and seeing how efficiently he works, I have confidence that the 8 weeks is more than enough for him. If things could work out, its win-win for him and me. My buyers seem like pretty OK people so I guess can still try talking to them. However, both Yeak and myself never had that chance to iron things out as he didn't give us a chance to talk. This is what we're more disappointed about.

@Roamca

Once again my apologies for occupying your T-blog space. Good to know the LS issue is settled and you can have more peace of mind. Yup, although the disappointment is there, we shall look forward and see how things pan out. Life is always full of surprises and more often than not, I suppose things happen for a reason and may in a sense be a blessing in disguise.

Edited by adrian_john

@Rondy

Yup, I already did SMS him to perhaps share with me if he has any logistical problem, and if needs extra time, just to let me know what his requirements are, then I can at least try to speak to my buyer to negotiate for perhaps another 2 weeks extra, which will give him some extra breathing space. In fact, on seeing Preciousjam's place and seeing how efficiently he works, I have confidence that the 8 weeks is more than enough for him. If things could work out, its win-win for him and me. My buyers seem like pretty OK people so I guess can still try talking to them. However, both Yeak and myself never had that chance to iron things out as he didn't give us a chance to talk. This is what we're more disappointed about.

@Roamca

Once again my apologies for occupying your T-blog space. Good to know the LS issue is settled and you can have more peace of mind. Yup, although the disappointment is there, we shall look forward and see how things pan out. Life is always full of surprises and more often than not, I suppose things happen for a reason and may in a sense be a blessing in disguise.

ya adrian....have to be optimistic...sometimes things might not goes the way we want but it could be good sign...i'm you'll find the one who's gonna fulfilled your dream home.....i'll be looking out for updates from your blog.... ;) it was a pleasure knowing you and your wifey...

@Rondy

Kinda sound like Yeak really did not give both u and himself a chance to sit down and discuss. Why not try again, since Uncle Soon has not gotten back to u guys yet? Hehe, like what I always say, try and try until really cannot, then try one more time just for the heck of it. :P

And there's that story about Liu Bei trying to invite somebody to work with him 3 times leh.. :P

Kinda sound like Yeak really did not give both u and himself a chance to sit down and discuss. Why not try again, since Uncle Soon has not gotten back to u guys yet? Hehe, like what I always say, try and try until really cannot, then try one more time just for the heck of it. :P

And there's that story about Liu Bei trying to invite somebody to work with him 3 times leh.. :P

Zhu Ge Liang....heheheheheh :P

Hi Adrian,

When we met Yeak on the 10th, he also said he had to turn you away. He was probably still thinking about it even then. We met him for about 2.5hrs, and his phone was ringing like every 15-20mins or so and he was very apologetic about the interruptions. Workers calling him for instructions, probably people asking about quotations and of course Rondy calling about his paint....

Hope you'll manage to catch Ah Soon airbus soon.

Hi Adrian,

When we met Yeak on the 10th, he also said he had to turn you away. He was probably still thinking about it even then. We met him for about 2.5hrs, and his phone was ringing like every 15-20mins or so and he was very apologetic about the interruptions. Workers calling him for instructions, probably people asking about quotations and of course Rondy calling about his paint....

Hope you'll manage to catch Ah Soon airbus soon.

tsk tsk Ron, how? manageto get your paint liao?

@kthc has yours started or still waiting for permit?

Eh... honestly, not too sure. He said he'll apply on the night of 10th June, we'll be meeting him again tomorrow night to show him our tile selection (and try to bargain;)

He did say he'll be able to start hacking on Monday and we plan to visit the neighbours on Saturday to PR PR and tell them about the reno noise.