roamca

3 Room Flat @ Amk

How much did you have to pay for the hacking? Budget is a big constraint for us so we will try to leave it if possible. Do I have to hack off the whole wall if I plan to get rid of part of the wall at the sides? Thinking of having a sliding door between the kitchen and living room also. How is your living room layout now? It seems long and narrow... I think we should go down sometime. :D Are you free this sunday? Just happen that she'll be down to AMK this sunday. Yes, 21X :D

This sunday will be at home before 3pm....got to bring my gal back to in law house for dinner! I will pm you my hp no. Do you know where is blk 124? u just let me know what time u coming! Our living is quite long to the kitchen...not really narrow lah..hahah...too BIG do housework oso faint! My hubby told me now he feel so much easier to do housework!

err...but your wife scared of dog mah? I have a old blind dog at home...just incase she scared! heheee....actually to me hacking away the wall and rebuild not so expensive lah...i forgot how much yeak quote me already...i think afew hundreds bah.... Sure less than $1K! For your case u dont need to rebuild wall...just hack one side and make nice can le...i think will be abt $300-$400 bah!! But why you need to put a kitchen sliding door? Do u intend to install aircon in living room? I didnt put any kitchen sliding door...save some money and for safety reason...i scared my gal run and bang into the sliding door...hahaha...

This sunday will be at home before 3pm....got to bring my gal back to in law house for dinner! I will pm you my hp no. Do you know where is blk 124? u just let me know what time u coming! Our living is quite long to the kitchen...not really narrow lah..hahah...too BIG do housework oso faint! My hubby told me now he feel so much easier to do housework!

err...but your wife scared of dog mah? I have a old blind dog at home...just incase she scared! heheee....actually to me hacking away the wall and rebuild not so expensive lah...i forgot how much yeak quote me already...i think afew hundreds bah.... Sure less than $1K! For your case u dont need to rebuild wall...just hack one side and make nice can le...i think will be abt $300-$400 bah!! But why you need to put a kitchen sliding door? Do u intend to install aircon in living room? I didnt put any kitchen sliding door...save some money and for safety reason...i scared my gal run and bang into the sliding door...hahaha...

Roughly, have to check street directory but saw an unit at 128 before, but that MBR had leaking ceiling... we have the same floor plan (HDB just emailed me), i considered it narrow because I don't think I can put sofa and tv on opposite sides of the length of the living... still unsure where to have the tv, sofa and all... Sliding door is partly considering the possibility of aircon, you're right about safety, my parents' place where i'm staying has it and my mum has knocked into the door a few times...

she's afraid but still very interested to see your place, so I'll be the barrier :D... I'll let you know what time, it should be before 3pm... your lunch time will be?!

Edited by merryman

Roughly, have to check street directory but saw an unit at 128 before, but that MBR had leaking ceiling... we have the same floor plan (HDB just emailed me), i considered it narrow because I don't think I can put sofa and tv on opposite sides of the length of the living... still unsure where to have the tv, sofa and all... Sliding door is partly considering the possibility of aircon, you're right about safety, my parents' place where i'm staying has it and my mum has knocked into the door a few times...

she's afraid but still very interested to see your place, so I'll be the barrier :D... I'll let you know what time, it should be before 3pm... your lunch time will be?!

Hmm...no lunch time....sunday i will normally cook at home...dun worry! My block is right beside block 128.

As for tv....I placed my 37 inch TV on the wall facing my 3 seater sofa...still ok leh...not narrow...but might not be able to place a big tv console or coffeetable lah...and oso cannot place L shape sofa...cos will make your living very cramp de!

I still have not get a TV console...so u must be prepared will see alot wires hanging in my living area...hahah....quite a mess actually!

Hmm...no lunch time....sunday i will normally cook at home...dun worry! My block is right beside block 128.

As for tv....I placed my 37 inch TV on the wall facing my 3 seater sofa...still ok leh...not narrow...but might not be able to place a big tv console or coffeetable lah...and oso cannot place L shape sofa...cos will make your living very cramp de!

I still have not get a TV console...so u must be prepared will see alot wires hanging in my living area...hahah....quite a mess actually!

We should be there between 12 to 3. I'll call you about 30mins before we reach your block. Thanks for the invite :D Will you mind if we take pictures?

i dont mind provided you dont mind its messy! hahah...some boxes not unpack yet! 12pm-3pm is okay!

wah...merryman....u very lucky to buy a flat at ave 3 at this price leh! Ave 3 is so near to central, AMK hub and mrt. My mum in law oso staying at ave 3 but her 3 room+utility Valuation at least $310K. So yours consider super super good buy! heehee...But your block got upgrade before? Isit at blk3XX?

You can start sourcing for quotes liao lor...and compare..then short list...then view workmanship...then decide! hehehe....u wana try ask Yeak for quote? He is really very resposible and i can tell you his tiling work is superb lor...my family members see liao oso praises :good: u wana come over my house see or not? since we are so near...heehee....but my house very messy now lah cos just shifted in last monday! U check with your spouse lah...if want can arange to come over during weekends or weekday nites... :P

Hi Roamca

wow! ave 3, 3room+utilty at 310k!!! wow , here i was complaining mine at ave 10, 3room+utlity at 282k very ex liaoz.. so afraid next time if i upgrade in five years time cant get the value i wan, my reno i hope to keep within 20k lorz, excluding furniture and fittings. did you mention to combine both toilets?? i wanted too, was advised not to pin too high hopes, so small and tiny the toilets, me also on the bigger side, 1.7m tall, and more medium build, go into MBR toilet no space to turn! utility room aslo duno wan to spend money coz i dun like the flooring given by hbd..

heee. :rolleyes:

Hi Roamca

wow! ave 3, 3room+utilty at 310k!!! wow , here i was complaining mine at ave 10, 3room+utlity at 282k very ex liaoz.. so afraid next time if i upgrade in five years time cant get the value i wan, my reno i hope to keep within 20k lorz, excluding furniture and fittings. did you mention to combine both toilets?? i wanted too, was advised not to pin too high hopes, so small and tiny the toilets, me also on the bigger side, 1.7m tall, and more medium build, go into MBR toilet no space to turn! utility room aslo duno wan to spend money coz i dun like the flooring given by hbd..

heee. :rolleyes:

really ahh...that time when i am sourcing for a 3 room unit...purposely look ard my mum in law area...but super shocked to know the valuation is $310K for high floor unit lor...sianz....so my agent told us not to waste so much $$ so he help us look for a unit at ave 6 but still within walking distance to my in law house one...valuation at $258K (no utility rm). My in laws block is at 34X...super near to amk hub...shelter all the way...rain oso no fear! My house oso shelter all the way to amk hub & mrt....but must walk under the shops in amk central lah...heehee....

i didnt combine 2 toilets together...cos budget contraints...and oso not practical....scared next time sell house ppl might hiam cos only 1 toilet! heehee....but hor can tell u the master toilet SUPER small....dun need to install water heater inside...waste $...your reno complete already?

Edited by roamca

My gf is once again concerned with the money since we're going to have chinese dinner and renovation very close to each other. oh well, I have my concerns too but I didn't really share with her. Still don't know what to do or not do for renovation yet. Everything seems to be running so fast.... sorry roamca, don't know where to post this so just post it here.

Oic..u r rite! No space for side table...maybe can put one mini size one...cannot have 2 side tables!

But doing your way oso good! Eventhough no space for sidetable but u have space for TV...my room totally no room for tv lor...and stupid me still do a SCV point in my room....waste $! hahaha....

I dont know mahjong lah....its my hubby and his kakis hobby...heehee...if i play MJ sure lose $! NEVER win de!

yeah i also have the same problem with you leh! just buy a super duper small table lor. TV no problem meh, just buy a 32" and use the wall bracket to mount onto the wall lor, saving space for you too. my master toilet also super duper small de. when that time hsewarming, all relatives say, huh! how to bath? wait the backside knock onto the pipping, or onto the tap leh! haha so funnie

My gf is once again concerned with the money since we're going to have chinese dinner and renovation very close to each other. oh well, I have my concerns too but I didn't really share with her. Still don't know what to do or not do for renovation yet. Everything seems to be running so fast.... sorry roamca, don't know where to post this so just post it here.

*pat pat* Don't worry too much, things will fall in place and everything will be smooth. My hb used to keep stressing about our reno budget. But I told him not to worry, things will be fine in the end. In the end, we not only did not burst our reno budget, we spent lesser than expected. :)

Plan out a budget and try to stick to it. It's actually good to discuss ur concerns with ur gf, so that she'll know wat's going on. As the saying goes, 2 heads are better than one. :)

As for reno, do the things that are a must-do first. If not it'll b a hassle if you wana do them after u shift in. Strike off those that are nice to have or bearable. There's no need for a feature wall, or a huge WIW or to hack away walls. A pretty coat of paint and interesting decor will make the house a home too. :)

*pat pat* Don't worry too much, things will fall in place and everything will be smooth. My hb used to keep stressing about our reno budget. But I told him not to worry, things will be fine in the end. In the end, we not only did not burst our reno budget, we spent lesser than expected. :)

Plan out a budget and try to stick to it. It's actually good to discuss ur concerns with ur gf, so that she'll know wat's going on. As the saying goes, 2 heads are better than one. :)

As for reno, do the things that are a must-do first. If not it'll b a hassle if you wana do them after u shift in. Strike off those that are nice to have or bearable. There's no need for a feature wall, or a huge WIW or to hack away walls. A pretty coat of paint and interesting decor will make the house a home too. :)

My concerns are the same as hers, $. Budget is very tight and we might even have to take loan because of so many big things happening at the same time and we are still repaying our parents study loans. Yea, tmr when I meet her, we will discuss the reno stuff, what to have and what's optional and what not to hurry with, then it will be contacting contractors for quotation already. So fast, I've not even been to my 1st appt yet. :D

Enjoy the reno process, the stress, the budgeting, the anticipation, etc. :) Any possibility of getting loans from ur parents for the reno? At least it'll be interest free. :)

That's one possibility. I've to speak to my dad about it after knowing the quotations. He wanted to see the figure. :D

Hope that ur dad will be able to help! Interest rates are no joke nowadays! ;)