ema82

When To Start Finding Id/contractor

I'm on the way getting ID's quotation now, all gotten from recommended Id/contractor in Renotalk.

But quite hard to compare price though I already sent them the Standard requirement. Their quotation sure will miss some of the items or some ID quote in bulk :(

So you all will meet up with the ID to talk to them more? Or you only choose those u find they are the cheapest amongst all? Any tips to bargain :D?

Hi kthc : tks for yr useful tip :)

Hi Hippo: yup, its sept balloting,my flat is 500+ :(

hehe, if you got time and patience, can meet even the expensive ones, get more ideas, exposure, concepts on how to do up places like your wardrobe...You can also compare prices, like how some ID really mark up prices, or how some ID have very reasonable prices etc.... :notti:

When you know the "market rate" for certain things, its easier for you to spot overcharged items and services. Like electrical work, painting, even carpentry is all marked up to a certain extent.... ....aiyo, I sound a bit negative hor.... pai seh....

Edited by mister_molly

I'm on the way getting ID's quotation now, all gotten from recommended Id/contractor in Renotalk.

But quite hard to compare price though I already sent them the Standard requirement. Their quotation sure will miss some of the items or some ID quote in bulk :(

So you all will meet up with the ID to talk to them more? Or you only choose those u find they are the cheapest amongst all? Any tips to bargain :D?

Hi kthc : tks for yr useful tip :)

Hi Hippo: yup, its sept balloting,my flat is 500+ :(

Wow ... 500+ . :jawdrop:

What I did was to visit several IDs, get quotes and ideas from them, compiled and compared the prices. We also got a quote from a contractor that was recommended to us by a friend and asked him to quote based on our compiled specifications.

Went with him in the end cos of the pricing and after seeing his work at a friend's place.

Like Molly said, getting ideas from IDs will give you possible ideas that you'll never thought of. I'm going to start doing the same all over again since getting a resale flat soon.

Have fun, its tedious at times but end of the day, when you smell the new house smell (abit dusty...) it's worth it:)

Last thing about bargaining, while we always want to get the cheapest or press the contractor, remember to give and take a little, fellow still need to earn some $.

Yes I agree with what kthc said. Sometimes, if you pressed or squeeze too much they will give unsatisfactory work. Just imagine your boss or client squeezing you, you would feel happy right? and the work you would give 100%.

u all gave lots of useful advice...

I'm going to meet some contractor & ID but don't know can make like 10 of them or not :notti: ... feel abit guilty when ask for their quotation, meet up with them blahblah then end up don't sign up :(

Remember:

1. You shouldn't be looking at quantity, you should look at quality.

The time each ID/Contractor spent = 3 hr (avg.)

The time you spend = 3 x 10 = 30 hrs.

As long as you are willing to spend time, don't worry too much about the number of ID/Contractor you engaged.

The one putting in effort is you. :)

3. I hope you haven't put your name/blk/estate here because there are some ID/Contractor watching :P

Oh Remember to post your experiences, findings and quotations here for us to reference. :)

Good luck and Have Fun.

dont worry abt paiseh that u dont sign up.

This is the ID job hazard. Sign up rate is low. But once you sign up, they earn alot.

Same reason as property agent or insurance agent. Property agent bring pple to see flat. Close deal ratio very low. Insurance agent also like that. They meet so many pple, sign up rate also low. Same theory applies to the ID :notti:

When comes to reno, if u dont find more and compare, you will lose big le..

You chose between

- feeling guilty or saving money lor

haha, ok ok, then I will try to meet more. Also will take note abt my flat detail, but I wont bother to talk to those keep calling me for their service :bleah: . Free ~ no business, rite?

One more stupid Q that need yr help. How to check "quality"? Go to their showflat and their on-going project?

The thing I'm worried now is tiles, laminate floor & capentry job :(

For quality hor, check their showroom if they have one. Open drawers, cabinet, look at joint lines, handles, check screws, ABS trimmings.. etc... Or go to almost completed projects, preferably HDB projects so you can compare apple with apple.

If they got no on-going projects..abit scary hor...but they should have projects where owners already moved-in liao.

Tiles, laminates and carpentry are also huge headache, but will come in later lah...hehehe....

haha, ok ok, then I will try to meet more. Also will take note abt my flat detail, but I wont bother to talk to those keep calling me for their service :bleah: . Free ~ no business, rite?

One more stupid Q that need yr help. How to check "quality"? Go to their showflat and their on-going project?

The thing I'm worried now is tiles, laminate floor & capentry job :(

Haha ... number of years their contractor is doing it.