ashes02

The Long Awaited Nest

wow so happening on my blog now hehe!

Wendy/Smallboy

it's been almost 2 weeks since our reno completed, and only 1 rectification was done and it was NOT done properly at all. Hubby was pretty upset and called up Uncle yesterday, hubby spoke in a rather firm n serious tone and i think we sorta 'frightened' Uncle liao, Uncle kept apologising and ask Jason to come down today but in the end Jason flew our aeroplane :rolleyes:

Seriously, if we have the choice again(of cos with higher budget), we would have go for a proper ID w 3D designs. Uncle is really too busy to remember things, too busy to inspect the process, too busy to guide us on wat kind of sink, tiles, taps to buy, afterall this is our very first reno lor. we dunno wat is under or over mount for kitchen sink and table top. Jason didn't even advise us on this, i so regretted doing over mount and can only quietly accept the work now. Some things r really too late and we have to accept those tat are not 'rectif-able' lor. Our MBR feature wall is the case, hubby always shake his head with disappointment whenever he sees it. He told me to bear with his grumbles for now as he 'tries' to accept wat is given to us. I feel sad too :( Although Uncle is really really nice, but seems like he and Jason really cannot handle the overload of projects now.

Hi ashes02,

what is wrong with the MBR feature wall? can share?

sorry if I miss the part about MBR feature wall if you did posted.

Hi ashes02,

what is wrong with the MBR feature wall? can share?

sorry if I miss the part about MBR feature wall if you did posted.

i think it was done the way that is totally not what she wanted... Dear old Mr Jason implemented his own "design"..

Hi ashes02

dun feel sad. Think your final product still looks good. Over the times u will get used to it. For my current home, i made lots of mistakes - positioning of aircon and wall-mounted fan due to poor planning and engagement of the wrong contractor.

However, from what the pix u posts, your house is lots better than mine. Who knows maybe down the road we will see another t-blog set up by u for your 2nd dream home.

i had my fair share of problems too, and at one point of the reno we were so down and hub even complain "how come our house forever got rectifications to do one?" I do agree that we had to coordinator a lot on our end, making sure things that we cannot compromise will be done nicely b4 the handover. Exhausted our annual leaves to make sure we go down as frequently as we can, even if we had to preserve leave for our wedding in a few mths time, i think this is essential on us as house owner. We also have been bugging Ah soon n Jason every single day with phonecalls in order to get our rectifications done.

Then again, with this kinda of pricing, i do already have the mentality that things will not be 100% perfect. If we are willing to pay higher price in the 1st place, then we shd nvr have gone for Ah soon. I can list down 101 things that still 'can be improve' for my reno, but at the end of the day, as long as the end-product is not an eyesore to me, i'm willing to let go and have a better peace of mind. Then again, i do not mean that Ah soon's works r slipshod, its gd enough for me, with all the rectifications done after bugging them for weeks. It all boils down to one thing - our acceptable standard.

Look at lawry, paid for ID services but wat did he get?

ashes02, so paiseh to keep riding on ur t-blog, i hope ur feature wall gets rectify soon! :)

Edited by mrspiglet

Agree, sometimes u pay more may not even get the minimum standard there. Juz hope that the reno will be smooth and acceptable and of course, value for money!

it's been almost 2 weeks since our reno completed, and only 1 rectification was done and it was NOT done properly at all. Hubby was pretty upset and called up Uncle yesterday, hubby spoke in a rather firm n serious tone and i think we sorta 'frightened' Uncle liao, Uncle kept apologising and ask Jason to come down today but in the end Jason flew our aeroplane :rolleyes:

Seriously, if we have the choice again(of cos with higher budget), we would have go for a proper ID w 3D designs. Uncle is really too busy to remember things, too busy to inspect the process, too busy to guide us on wat kind of sink, tiles, taps to buy, afterall this is our very first reno lor. we dunno wat is under or over mount for kitchen sink and table top. Jason didn't even advise us on this, i so regretted doing over mount and can only quietly accept the work now. Some things r really too late and we have to accept those tat are not 'rectif-able' lor. Our MBR feature wall is the case, hubby always shake his head with disappointment whenever he sees it. He told me to bear with his grumbles for now as he 'tries' to accept wat is given to us. I feel sad too :( Although Uncle is really really nice, but seems like he and Jason really cannot handle the overload of projects now.

masking tapes, paper and markers doesnt work for us cos no one bother to look at what we wrote. some paper are even torn and thrown without any rectifications :rolleyes:

I think you better call jason and chase him about the rectifications. When are you moving in?

I hope you can complete everything before you move in.

Is the MBR wall feature the one that you did not get to choose your laminates?

oh man, i do not wish to repeat the drama on my MBR feature wall, it depresses me. anyway we have decided to live with it cos it is beyond rectification and we do not have the luxury of $$$ to do anything now. thanks or all ur concerns anyway :)

Reno really needs a lot of $$.. Hope you can slowly live with it..

I'm still trying to get the quotation from Uncle Soon.. But I'm really worried abt his overloads now...

Ashes, Cheer up! Press on......

With your wedding coming, both of you will build a beautiful home, building the right atmosphere in the home. Dont let the reno affect you so much! :) :) :)

Edited by Smallboy

Ashes, can I ask if the cover of your cushions be washed as it's a combination of cloth and some syn leather?

NewHomie, PM you his number.. But you might need to call him several times and ring longer as Uncle Soon is really HOT and busy..

i dun think the cushions can be washed, its half suade and half leather, u can customise the material to wat u wan actually.

Ashes, Cheer up! Press on......

With your wedding coming, both of you will build a beautiful home, building the right atmosphere in the home. Dont let the reno affect you so much! :) :) :)

no worries! i am good! :D

i am starting to luv my dresser liao, after i start packing all my cosmetics in, look a lot nicer haha!

the thick base is quite useful afterall! managed to stuff all my makeup in wor :P

i am starting to luv my dresser liao, after i start packing all my cosmetics in, look a lot nicer haha!

the thick base is quite useful afterall! managed to stuff all my makeup in wor :P

haha so it is a "beautiful" mistake. glad that you have come to terms with the dresser.

hehe glad you like it in the end. It's nice la... wonder if I can get one too. my mom would love one for all her barang :P